We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with convenient location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites University

Save Saved
You added Comfort Suites University to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Suites University
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   120 W. Third St., Bethlehem, PA 18015   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Bethlehem
central Pa.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with convenient location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

This hotel offers nice rooms and a pleasant and helpful staff at the front desk. We stayed here during the Christmas season last year and we were pleased with the accomodations during that visit as well. Tara took care of our special resquest for a quiet room and answered questions we had about the area. The breakfast is typical and is served in the bar area. The hotel property is clean and well maintained. Plenty of parking spaces available. Perkins restaurant is across the street.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pa209, General Manager at Comfort Suites University, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review our property. We take pride in our hotel and the amenities we offer. We hope your next visit will be even better than the previous two times you stayed.

Sincerely,

David Urban
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    45
    22
    7
    6
See reviews for
33
30
10
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Reading, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Another August stay at Comfort Suites for Musikfest 2013. Been staying here for last few years and would not consider staying anywhere else. Booked a year in advance and stayed in the room I requested. Smells so good, clean, great staff, sufficient breakfast, always have good experience staying here while in Bethlehem. It's right in the middle of South Side entertainment and North Side. Lots of restaurants in the area. Also beautiful Lehigh University Campus within walking distance. Appreciate everything this hotel offers....

Room Tip: Like higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pa209, General Manager at Comfort Suites University, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you so much Margie for writing such a positive review even during one of our busiest times of the yaer. We love seeing repeat guests and hope to see you before next Musikfest.

Sincerely,

David Urban
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
syracuse
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I read other reviews of this property and have to agree that the hotel was very clean and nice. I don't understand the reviews that say the staff was not great or the area was sketchy. The staff, on all three shifts I was there, was attentive and friendly and helpful. We stayed there to go to a concert at ArtsQuest down the street about a mile, and because of the previous reviews, I asked about area security. The desk staff said it was fine, but also offered to send the shuttle for us if needed. As it turned out, the street is a huge tree-lined avenue with boutiques and restaurants, and we were fine walking at 11:30 at night to go back to the hotel. There is a homeless shelter near the hotel, but I think it is a bit narrow minded to judge the area because of that. The only reservation I had was with the AC unit. I like to have the fan on all night as it masks other noises, but you could not have continuous fan with AC. Also, it was not working well, as I had it set on 68, but the room felt like 80. Should have taken the cue when I arrived and it was set on 63!
In all, if I was to visit here again I would stay here, but adjust the thermostat!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pa209, General Manager at Comfort Suites University, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for writing such a positive response about the SouthSide Bethlehem area. The staff and I love the area and are glad you feel the same way. Also please contact the front desk next time you have any issues as we may be able to resolve quickly. Please contact me directly if you would like to discuss anything in further detail.

We appreciate having you stay with us and look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely,

David Urban
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

After reading some reviews I was nervous - it goes to show some can COMPLAIN about anything.

I never once felt concerned for our safety and the area is just fine with a Perkins, CVS and Dunkin' Donuts all in walking distance.

Well worth the price and would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pa209, General Manager at Comfort Suites University, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a comment about our property. The staff and I thank you for sharing you experiences about the area. We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in Bethlehem.

Sincerely,

David Urban
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

Area was scary there was a homeless shelter on the corner with some questionable occupants. although the staff was nice, and hotel was clean. Room was large. AC didn't work too well had it set at 60 and it was still warm. Would not stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I purposely held on the the business card for this hotel so I would not forget to write a review for my stay in Bethlehem the end of February 2013. I live in Arizona but my grandparents (who mean the world to me) live in Sellersville. My grandfather had suddenly become ill and was sent to Bethlehem Hospital in ICU. Within a day I was on the next flight to sit by his side. Since the hospital was about an hour from their home I chose to get a room at the Comfort Suites based on some type of flyer I saw at the hospital that said they provided a shuttle to and from the hospital (free). I literally wanted to be with him all day all night with just somewhere to shower and lay my head for a few hours. If i remember correct they also provided a dinner and a breakfast.
I literally checked in the went to the hospital until about 11pm my first night. My 2nd day I was back at the hospital bright and early. I stayed there until nearly midnight, and the shuttle came to pick me up with no problems. My head hurt so much from crying all day and night. I went to the front desk counter, purchased some waters, and asked about purchasing some tylenol or anything for my intense headache (AND refused me trying to tip him) I dont recall if the hotel was out of supply or just didnt carry it but the young man at the desk offered me some of his advil. SO HELPFUL!
We talked about the shuttle for the next morning (shuttle is suppose to run on a schedule) but he told me when ever I wanted to go they would take me.
The next morning I checked out, the front desk held my bags for me so I could head back the hospital and someone came up front to shuttle me back to the hospital.
I have worked in a Five Star Resort in the past, and the helpfulness, the politeness, the way that everyone went above and beyond was Five Star Class in my book. That weekend was the very last time I would ever see my grandfather alive. But the my stay at Comfort Suites made that weekend a happy memory. Thank you

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

Rude front desk staff. This is what you first encounter when calling the hotel...not a pleasant welcome. When checking in we were treated as if it was a problem we were at the hotel. After realizing there were no linens in the room the pullout couch we contacted the front desk and were told to come get them. When asking for an extra pillow the person at the front desk said, "No. There are four on the bed" When we reminded him that we were down there to get linens for the pullout couch he said he would bring a pillow down to our room. It is nearing midnight and still no pillow. Great customer service is what I would expect from this hotel based on past stays. Not a fun way to spend a birthday trip.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites University

Address: 120 W. Third St., Bethlehem, PA 18015
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Bethlehem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Bethlehem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites University 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Comfort Suites University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites University Hotel Bethlehem
Comfort Suites Bethlehem
Bethlehem Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.