We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good start and end to day” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Toll Road Restaurant

Toll Road Restaurant
Rte. 190, Stovepipe Wells, Death Valley Junction, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328
760 786 2387
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Cinnaminson, New Jersey, United States
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good start and end to day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

The breakfast buffet is great - something for everyone's taste. Great way to start the day. And they have a decent menu for dinner as well. Prices may be a little high but consider where you are. Staff is very friendly.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    31
    22
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Top Contributor
258 reviews 258 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
“Good dinner. Terrible breakfast.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Dinner was good.

I'm not much of a steak eater, but I ordered at stake and was very satisfied. The pan cooked flank stake was amazing.

Service was very good. Server was fast, friendly, and constantly in motion.

Breakfast was terrible.Showed up at 0945, 15 minutes before breakfast ended. Food was stale and flavorless.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Lunch in the Saloon-pleasantly surprised!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Stopped for lunch when headed out to the west side of the park-restaurant was closed but lunch was being served at the saloon. Bartender was handling the crowd by herself so service was a little slow- but she did a bang up job! Salads were great, fresh & crisp! Hamburgers awesome! We opted for dessert - the desert nachos-fabulous!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“A Place to Eat”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

In Stovepipe Wells, there are few choices about where to eat or sleep. We had spent the day in Death Valley but had not brought any food with us other than a few snack items as we had been traveling cross country. We spent the day not finding food in the area; the guide book said sandwiches were sold at Scotty's Castle, but they weren't, so we were very hungry when the Toll Road Restaurant opened at 5:30 PM. First we were shocked at the prices but did realize we were out in the middle of no where. We both picked the Spaghetti Marinara which was OK. We didn't care for the bread which was provided (very spicy cornbread style) and the dinner salad was also just OK.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good food at a fair price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We were staying at Stovepipe Wells and ate at the Toll Road for supper and breakfast. Portions were generous and the quality was good. Our servers were very friendly and attentive. Good value - great, if you consider how far away you are from "civilization"!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toll Road Restaurant also viewed

Death Valley Junction, Death Valley National Park
Death Valley Junction, Death Valley National Park
 
Death Valley Junction, Death Valley National Park
 

Been to Toll Road Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Toll Road Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.