We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good dinner. Terrible breakfast.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Toll Road Restaurant

Toll Road Restaurant
Rte. 190, Stovepipe Wells, Death Valley Junction, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328
760 786 2387
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
San Francisco
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Good dinner. Terrible breakfast.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Dinner was good.

I'm not much of a steak eater, but I ordered at stake and was very satisfied. The pan cooked flank stake was amazing.

Service was very good. Server was fast, friendly, and constantly in motion.

Breakfast was terrible.Showed up at 0945, 15 minutes before breakfast ended. Food was stale and flavorless.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

52% Recommend
    11
    26
    19
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Lunch in the Saloon-pleasantly surprised!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Stopped for lunch when headed out to the west side of the park-restaurant was closed but lunch was being served at the saloon. Bartender was handling the crowd by herself so service was a little slow- but she did a bang up job! Salads were great, fresh & crisp! Hamburgers awesome! We opted for dessert - the desert nachos-fabulous!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“A Place to Eat”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

In Stovepipe Wells, there are few choices about where to eat or sleep. We had spent the day in Death Valley but had not brought any food with us other than a few snack items as we had been traveling cross country. We spent the day not finding food in the area; the guide book said sandwiches were sold at Scotty's Castle, but they weren't, so we were very hungry when the Toll Road Restaurant opened at 5:30 PM. First we were shocked at the prices but did realize we were out in the middle of no where. We both picked the Spaghetti Marinara which was OK. We didn't care for the bread which was provided (very spicy cornbread style) and the dinner salad was also just OK.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good food at a fair price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We were staying at Stovepipe Wells and ate at the Toll Road for supper and breakfast. Portions were generous and the quality was good. Our servers were very friendly and attentive. Good value - great, if you consider how far away you are from "civilization"!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Good food, slightly overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

The food was good, but was a little overpriced for what you get. Still would recommend as very convenient location when staying at Stovepipe Wells. Service good.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toll Road Restaurant also viewed

Death Valley Junction, Death Valley National Park
Death Valley Junction, Death Valley National Park
 
Death Valley Junction, Death Valley National Park
Death Valley Junction, Death Valley National Park
 
Death Valley National Park, CA
Death Valley Junction, Death Valley National Park
 
Death Valley Junction, Death Valley National Park
Death Valley National Park, CA
 
Death Valley National Park, CA

Been to Toll Road Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Toll Road Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.