We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overpriced average food” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Toll Road Restaurant

Toll Road Restaurant
Rte. 190, Stovepipe Wells, Death Valley Junction, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328
760 786 2387
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Leicestershire, UK
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“overpriced average food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

I stayed here with family on a weekday.

The pros:
We were allowed to take food back to our room. This meant the adults could eat together while the infant slept in the room.

The average:
The food was distinctly unexciting.

The cons:
It was VERY overpriced for the quality and quantity of food.

Would I go there again: no, but then you don't have too much choice if you're staying in Stovepipe Wells. Better to bring a cold meal with you if you can.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

52% Recommend
    11
    26
    19
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hemel Hempstead, UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Much better under new ownership”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

I've eaten here a number of times when visiting Death Valley and until this time I can't say I've ever enjoyed the food.

This time around the new owners have brought in a Mexican inspired menu that I thought offered a lot of choice. I was in a party of 5 and we all had good quality meals.

I'm giving a five star rating because this improved menu has dismissed my one criticism of previous visits to Death Valley.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Adjacent bar serves same menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Both bar & restaurant had a local feel. We went there after sunset at the dunes for a lite supper and enjoyed everything we ordered.
Rest rooms were immaculate, always a good indication of the quality of a place,.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Very Odd atmosphere and service.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

Dinner started late (6.30) so there were queues and a wait if you were at the end of the queue. Staff was not happy, gossiping amongst themselves and with other customers even though there were people to serve. We would never recommend this place to anyone despite that fact the food was good.
At the breakfast buffet the system was strange, after helping ourselves to breakfast we had to wait for the server to bring coffee and juice, by which time the meal was cold.
I wonder if there was a new manager who was trying a new way of doing things, ----unsuccessfully.
I would suggest theowners/managers visit the Wrangler buffet at Furnace Creek to see how it should be done.

We had dinner here 18th & 19th March - there was no choice for the second night. We had the buffet breakfast on 19th but as we were leaving the hotel on 20th went before breakfast and ate at the Wrangler Buffet at Furnace Creek.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

We had lunch at the Saloon and dinner at the Restaurant. Almost the same menu and great food both times. I had the steak salad at lunch and my husband had the clubhouse sandwich. They were both wonderful. For dinner I had the tortilla soup and my husband had the chili. Both were excellent, but the chili I thought was the best I have ever had. (Check that you like the ingredients before ordering it's a little different) These were the best meals we had on our trip and we had good servers both times.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toll Road Restaurant also viewed

Death Valley Junction, Death Valley National Park
Death Valley Junction, Death Valley National Park
 
Death Valley Junction, Death Valley National Park
Death Valley Junction, Death Valley National Park
 

Been to Toll Road Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Toll Road Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.