We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back to the roots” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Amargosa Opera House and Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Amargosa Opera House and Hotel to your Saves list
Amargosa Opera House and Hotel
HR-C 608 Death Valley Junction, Death Valley Junction, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328   |  
Hotel amenities
Neustadt an der Weinstrasse, Germany
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Back to the roots”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

The envelope you find with your name at the entrance - the staff goes home well before dusk (to avoid the ghosts?) - contains the key to your room and an exact description of the maze: How to find your room through double doors, the ice machine in the kitchen, and a preprogrammed TV set with a selection of videos. The latter and a noisy air condition are actually the only modern equipment available to the guests. As stated on a sheet of paper on the door, the lack of modern equipment shall preserve the original character of the old Western hotel - which it really does (if it were not for the recommended restaurant (and hotel) 7 miles down the road you would honestly get the feeling of the lone ranger sitting in the desert and grilling a racoon over the open fire - there is nothing to eat and to drink in this place). Since you have to go to the Longstreet Inn next door anyway (if you do not have your own racoon and some matches...), why not stay there ... That place is full of life, music, food, and drinks,

Room Tip: Go another 7 miles down the road ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    103
    49
    54
    85
See reviews for
55
165
34
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sterling Heights, Michigan
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I had stayed at Amargosa in July 2012 as a place to stay before going into Death Valley National Park and because my fiance and I knew about it's rich history. Our room then was relatively clean. We don't expect TVs or other amenities everywhere we go, especially in rural parts like this, and were fine with it. The room, which had doors both interior and exterior, was quaint. However, the seal under the exterior door was broken on one end, which enabled a path for insects to travel back and forth, though we didn't see any then.

Fast forward to July 2013: We decided to return to Amargosa to visit other parts of Death Valley we missed last year and found new management. We bonded with the previous manager and were looking forward to seeing him again. We booked the same room and found a very large spider in the curtain for the exterior door window upon checking in and got it out of the room. And the seal under the door wasn't fixed. We spent the night there, ridding the room of a couple of other insects (my fiance even found one swimming in the toilet bowl), and went to sleep. The next day we woke up and overheard an Asian family working with the desk clerk to get a refund on the night they spent or another night they had booked, then went to Death Valley park and then returned for the second booked night. When we were walking down the hallway, we saw a spider and it hopped away. Also, upon entering the room, my fiance found a huge beetle and then realized that under the desk in the room, there were unvacuumed dead bugs and a wad of dark black hair.
We went to sleep and I was up pretty early to get ready and dressed, eager to return to Las Vegas, where we had better accommodations for the rest of our trip.

There's a hotel and casino seven miles away that we will try to stay at if we go back to Death Valley and, while we hope the Amargosa survives, it will have to change it's cleaning regimen and perform necessary maintenance if it wants to draw and retain guests. There's also a cafe that is almost never open as well as flypaper in the common areas with dead flies all over it. I recommend a drive-by visit but not an overnight stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Masterton, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We were booked to stay here in May, in fact we even paid for the night. Do not do it! It was a disappointment from start to finish. The first thing that hit us as we walked in the door was a horrible smell. My husband and I were offered the choice of two rooms, one of the rooms we couldn't even stand in because of an overwhelming stench. The other room was just disappointing, nothing like the photos on their website. Then we discover that the cafe was not open and when asked if anybody stays onsite overnight were told "Hell no, I wouldn't stay here". Well, neither did we. We paid $96 plus taxes for the night and the only positive thing I can say is he gave us directions to a place 7 miles down the road for food. Well, all I can say is thank goodness, the food was good, then staff were friendly and we booked into a really nice, clean, comfortable room for $65. My suggestion is to stay at the LONGSTREET INN AND CASINO! Yes it's a casino but there were only three older people playing the machines. We sat in comfy leather couches all night, and had yummy dinner, and yummy breakfast in the morning.
The Amargosa Hotel was supposed to be a fun experience for us, but it was so below par that we just could not stay there. As a guest from overseas it was a worry to be expected to stay at a hotel in the middle of nowhere and have nobody on site if something went wrong in the night. It is one thing being surrounded by a horrible smell, but we certainly didnt want to stay somewhere that we didn't feel safe. Just a terribly disappointing experience.

Room Tip: Stay down the road at the Longstreet Inn and Casino!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

i stayed here one night b/c it was close to death valley national park. it sounded quaint and interesting. as one other reviewer pointed out, it is way cheaper than the hotels in the park about 30 mi away. but--- it is just an old 1950s style hotel with small poorly lit rooms with no TV, radio, phone---nothin. rate was 65 per nite plus tax plus a 10% 'service fee'--whatever that is. ended up being $80 per nite. it is in the middle of no where with nothing to do or see. just plopped in the middle of the desert. the restaurant closed at 3 pm so no food on sunday nite. would not stay here again. instead recommend going 40 mi north to beatty nv. its only 30 mi from the park and the motel 6 was brand new with very friendly and helpful staff---for $45 per nite. why pay almost double for a rundown motel room b/c it has some ersatz opera house attached.

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio, United States
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed here in the middle of April because it was a very convenient location for visiting Death Valley and much more reasonably priced ($80/night) than lodging inside the park ($200 to $350/night).

We would not stay here agian. Not that we need everything nice and new, perfectly clean, or to be waited on. We don't. And we know you give something up with price and location. However...

The room was not cleaned once during our 4 night stay. We also had to get our own towels, etc if we needed them.

There is nobody working at the hotel in the evening. They leave the premesis, so you are completely on your own, without cell phone service in case you need help.

The daily random smell of raw sewage in the hallway (it comes and goes) did not make it pleasant to leave or return to the room.

The "cafe" on site was only open once during our stay. We were told it was open from 7AM to 8PM daily. Apparently that does not include times when they decide to close because trhere are not enough people staying there. The nearest source of food is the Longstreet Casino (crappy food & service 7 miles away), or 30 miles to Furnace Creek Ranch inside Death Valley. You could also go to 30 miles in the other direction to Pahrump. This is not what we had in mind when we returned to the hotel in the evening after a long day of hiking in Death Valley.

Keep in mind that everyone who workeed there was very pleasant. It is just that the level of service is below any I have ever seen at any lodging I have stayed at in my life.

To sum it up, if you are only interested in the low price and convenient location, and are completely self sufficient and do not care about the run down condition of the place, this will work. Personally, I would try the Longstreet Casino if I return to Death Valley from this direction. Anything else outside the park is too far away. You might try Beaty, but I would not want to stay there based on my drive through one evening.

Happy Trails

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We were excited to finally stay and the Amargosa Opera House and Hotel! We drove past it before and really wanted to experience it as it is said by some to be haunted....The first night I awoke to hear strange noises of an old woman by the door clearing her throat. Then again by the bathroom, an old man clearing his throat. I know that sounds wierd but if it happened the next night I slept right through it (thank-goodness!) Other than that I enjoyed so much going to the Opera House for a performance by a wonderful man who played the piano and sang. It at first seemed pricy at $15.00 a person, but the show was OUTSTANDING, no kidding! We also want
wanted to see the inside of the Opera House as it is has hand painted (and it is famous).
I gave this entire experience 5*s because it was historical and I love history and I loved this entire experience ghosts and all!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Peacock Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We spent last night at this hotel, me (35) husband (36) and little boy (7) Having arrived at 7.45pm tired after a long day travelling throughout the valley it was lovely to be greeted by a very friendly, warm man who was courteous, helpful and informative. We stayed in room 22 which had a circus theme. We chose to stay at this hotel as it was right in Death Valley Junction and wanted to experience a "ghost town" With a population of 4, this truly was just the adventure we were looking for. Yes the hotel is a little worn, yes occasionally there is a smell of the sewers and yes there is dust! However, you are in the middle of the desert! It is over 100 degrees and there is plenty of sand! The rooms are basic, there are no televisions, there is no mobile signal but again, you are in a desert...if its mod cons you are looking for, get yourself down to Vegas! The beds were comfortable, the sheets were clean and the cafe served the best breakfast we've had on our trip...lovely guy in the cafe too. If its a true experience of a ghost town within Death Valley then you'd do far worse than stay here, these people are earning their living making the very best of the facilities they have. There was a film crew there as we arrived, they'd been filming there all day...again, no movie director/actors are going to go somewhere that doesn't fit the bill. A friendlier place you couldn't wish for, we loved the experience and would stay again should we be heading out that way.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Amargosa Opera House and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amargosa Opera House and Hotel

Address: HR-C 608 Death Valley Junction, Death Valley Junction, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328
Location: United States > California > Death Valley National Park > Death Valley Junction
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Death Valley Junction
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Amargosa Opera House and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amargosa Opera House Hotel Death Valley Junction
Amargosa Opera Hotel
Hotel Amargosa Opera
Amargosa Opera House And Hotel Death Valley Junction, Death Valley National Park, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amargosa Opera House and Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.