We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true adventurer's experience!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amargosa Opera House and Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Amargosa Opera House and Hotel to your Saves list
Amargosa Opera House and Hotel
HR-C 608 Death Valley Junction, Death Valley Junction, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328   |  
Hotel amenities
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A true adventurer's experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

We spent last night at this hotel, me (35) husband (36) and little boy (7) Having arrived at 7.45pm tired after a long day travelling throughout the valley it was lovely to be greeted by a very friendly, warm man who was courteous, helpful and informative. We stayed in room 22 which had a circus theme. We chose to stay at this hotel as it was right in Death Valley Junction and wanted to experience a "ghost town" With a population of 4, this truly was just the adventure we were looking for. Yes the hotel is a little worn, yes occasionally there is a smell of the sewers and yes there is dust! However, you are in the middle of the desert! It is over 100 degrees and there is plenty of sand! The rooms are basic, there are no televisions, there is no mobile signal but again, you are in a desert...if its mod cons you are looking for, get yourself down to Vegas! The beds were comfortable, the sheets were clean and the cafe served the best breakfast we've had on our trip...lovely guy in the cafe too. If its a true experience of a ghost town within Death Valley then you'd do far worse than stay here, these people are earning their living making the very best of the facilities they have. There was a film crew there as we arrived, they'd been filming there all day...again, no movie director/actors are going to go somewhere that doesn't fit the bill. A friendlier place you couldn't wish for, we loved the experience and would stay again should we be heading out that way.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    99
    45
    49
    80
See reviews for
51
151
33
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, OR
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

I met my friend here for a one night stay. I was early and waited in the lobby for several hours so could observe the considerable goings-on at the hotel. The one upside was the staff who built a nice fire as it was unseasonably cold out...very thoughtful. The downside: absolutely everything else. Tragically run down, dirty, dusty, stinky, no food service after advising there would be, no cold water for a shower, the list goes on. We did drive 7 miles to the nearest restaurant which turned out to be in a casino and the food wasn't half bad. You could call the stay an adventure but will find mine elsewhere next visit to DV, thanks.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We booked two months in advance to stay at this hotel for one night, when we arrived we were told by the proprieter that he had gave our rooms to a wedding party and that we could go seven miles further down the valley and stay at a casino in nevada. at first we were pretty cheesed off (and thats putting it mildly ). Before we left we decided to take a look around the place, this place is a slum, Prisoners in awful prisons have better rooms than this dump, it was the dirtiest smelliest hotel I have ever visited. We were very lucky that this guy gave our rooms away and had a lucky escape. Avoid this place like the plague, of course you dont have to take my advice, you could always go there and see it for yourself, but you would be truly dissapointed and wish you had'nt wasted your time and fuel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I'm all for charming and run down but filthy, no sir.

When we arrived I couldn't find anyone but a walk down the hall with all doors open presumably because rooms were being "cleaned" showed ratty stained mattresses, thin old stained pillows, cracked walls, boarded up windows and more of the ancient uneven carpet from the hall. When we were shown to a clean room, there was gravel and sand all over the floor. I was pretty sure we'd get TB or fleas if we stayed so we opted to drive 6 hours home instead.

It's clear the owners don't care at all about the upkeep of the place and are just milking every last cent they can. The room we paid for but did not stay in cost us $90 while the lovely clean posh room from the night before in Vegas was $75. They ought to be ashamed. The place could be a real gem if someone with heart had it.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Despite some negative reviews, my girlfriend and I decided to brave the 'horrors' of the Amargosa. As soon as we pulled into the parking lot of the hotel, we knew that we were in love. The hallway is filled with portraits on its walls and the rooms are charming with painted-on headboards above comfortable beds. It's almost impossible to get cellphone service there with AT&T--which we felt was a blessing. There are no TVs in the rooms for maximum relaxation. You'll find chairs and tables outside of rooms to help you enjoy your complimentary morning coffee from the cafe. We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Get a room facing the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lévis
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I just can't believe people found something good to say about that place. The place is a ruin, the owners have not invested one cent in the last 50 years at renovating the place. I got there after a long day of driving and I could not believe how bad it was smelling, it was just gross. They carpets have not been cleaned for years, the place is ugly, so on so forth. There is nothing that justify the price of $85, this is completely ridiculous.

The only thing I must admit the sheets were not dirty, but next time I will drive an extra 15 miles to Furnace Creek, I will pay twice as much but I will have a descent place to sleep over.

Don't go, stay away from Amargosa Opera House, it is not worth $25 a night!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Our experience was unexpectedly shocking from the moment we walked in. We were greeted with the receptionist saying, "We have a few issues." Walked in to an awful-smelling hallway (imagine an overpowering mold-ridden smell) and were shown the first issue: a room with the door knob and lock smashed out of the door. We were then shown the second issue: our second room had no electricity. Apparently a big wedding a few nights before had blown out the electricity in all of the right-side rooms of this "hotel." We slept shivering by candlelight with a space heater powered by a long extension cord leading from the room to an outside generator....in freezing mid-December!! Our experience included dirty sheets, crumbling walls, and no discount for the terrible inconveniences. In the morning, the first room only had scathing hot water because the December winter air had frozen the cold water pipes on the roof of this "hotel." The only positives of this place are its interesting history/story and surrounding scenery. We later found Stovepipe Wells Village Inn and wished we would've known earlier to stay there instead. This place cannot be considered a hotel or even a motel. We felt like we were basically camping.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amargosa Opera House and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amargosa Opera House and Hotel

Address: HR-C 608 Death Valley Junction, Death Valley Junction, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328
Location: United States > California > Death Valley National Park > Death Valley Junction
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Death Valley Junction
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Amargosa Opera House and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amargosa Opera House Hotel Death Valley Junction
Amargosa Opera Hotel
Hotel Amargosa Opera
Amargosa Opera House And Hotel Death Valley Junction, Death Valley National Park, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amargosa Opera House and Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.