We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grittiness outweighs charm” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Amargosa Opera House and Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Amargosa Opera House and Hotel to your Saves list
Amargosa Opera House and Hotel
HR-C 608 Death Valley Junction, Death Valley Junction, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328   |  
Hotel amenities
Venice Beach
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Grittiness outweighs charm”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We wanted to like this hotel a lot - and it has a lot going for it: easy access to Death Valley National Park, great architecture, wonderful murals in public spaces and in the rooms, interesting history, a friendly staff, pretty good bed, adequate space heater, reasonable towels and sheets. But the smell of sewer gas in the corridors and rooms, the mat of long hair curled around the shower drain, the used washcloths on the shower curtain rod, and the dusty un-vacuumed carpet were enough to unbalance the charm and tip us in the direction of not wanting to stay there again - and to recommend it only cautiously to others. That said, it has to be hard to run a place like this in this location - and we slept well. The cafe, on the other hand, was not good, and it's the only choice other than bringing your own food...or eating in the Park.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    103
    49
    54
    85
See reviews for
55
165
34
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

The Amargosa provides simple, clean accommodations, and long-lasting memories. The staff is friendly. Our room was spare, but it was clean had everything we needed. There is a dining room where you can eat, but you have to bring your own food, and 24 hr coffee, tea and hot chocolate they provide, along with morning toast. The cafe on premises has limited hours. The Amargosa stands out because of its uniqueness. We met several European tourists, and the atmosphere was friendly and sociable among the guests. It is about 13 miles from the entrance to Death Valley National Park. I would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Room 7 is nice, but it takes several minutes for the shower water to get hot. The area is remote, s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We visited this hotel some days ago. We were very impressed about its history and in special about Opera House which had a honor to present the faimous ballerina Marta Becket. We are very sorry that we didn't meet her, in special that she is the owner, to say her how good job she did in the idea to paint each room and Opera. We enjoyed in Death Valley and in the hotel where
the staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

The reviews here are sharply polarized, and that's what you'd expect. The Amargosa Hotel is no resort, but it's a piece of history.

DVJ was a booming railway town in the 1930s, and the hotel was in its glory days then. If you look around, you can still see the old garage, and the railway depot. It's a photographer's paradise, but then, so is Death Valley, 20 miles to the west. If you're lucky, the local band of wild horses will be around. I've stayed at the Amargosa several times, and I've only seen them once.

And of course, Red Skelton used to stay here, for those who are old enough to remember him. Mr Skelton was, incidentally, a good amateur photographer. He was a pal of the extraordinary proprietor, Ms Marta Becket, who is now in her late 80s.

If you want the whole Death Valley trip, this place is your chance to step back into a Depression-era desert town, for maybe $75 and taxes. It's like a museum, and the experience is a bargain. This place is soaked in history, but the furniture is old and the carpets are threadbare and I might bring a couple of bottles of water for drinking.

It ain't the Best Western, so moaners, quit moaning! If you want the Best Western, stay in Pahrump.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

If you get there and film crew is working, don't bother staying overnight. We were banished to our room for most of the first day and night of our trip. We could not wander around and check things out or sit by the cozy fire without getting kicked out or shooed away by the crew. Once we were in our room, the lights kept going out making the rest of the evening even more annoying. The staff was so busy with the crew, the paying guests were not getting the service they paid for. What a waste of my money.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I am glad there are still places to stay like this. Built in the 1920's with lots of character. The owners and staff were very friendly and helpful. The purpose of my visit was to explore Death Valley. I did not require a TV, microwave, or fridge. Just a place to sleep after hiking and photographing. I could have stayed at a couple of other places but I'm very glad I stayed here. The shower had a high alcove with a skylight which was great. Diner open on weekend with a good vegetarian omelette. I believe the owners are there through a labor of love. It takes a lot of work to keep up a 90 yr. old structure in the desert. Again, I am happy it exists. Perfect, no. I feel the mattress should have been firmer. Also on the plus side, I left my phone charger in the room and they paid the postage to immediately mail it to me. If you require a sanitized, standardized hotel this is not for you. If you like history and character which cannot be recreated, you will most likely really enjoy this place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling Heights, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Most of the reviews on here are telling it like it is. There is no TV or radios but I found the staff to be very friendly and the place old but clean. The rooms are small and the bathroom is old but it has everything you need. It really is like a blast back in time and if you do stay be sure to get a tour of the opera house. Very beautiful inside. I stayed here when I went on a trip into Death Valley in the middle of July. Even though it was around 125 degrees in the valley, the AC in the room was able to keep it nice and comfortable. Being in the middle of nowhere, be sure to walk around a little at night and star gaze or just take in the quiet of the desert at night.
For those that always need to be connected, they do have free WiFi but you might have to be close to the office to receive a signal. For those wishing to really experience the desert and the west, this is your place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amargosa Opera House and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amargosa Opera House and Hotel

Address: HR-C 608 Death Valley Junction, Death Valley Junction, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328
Location: United States > California > Death Valley National Park > Death Valley Junction
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Death Valley Junction
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Amargosa Opera House and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amargosa Opera House Hotel Death Valley Junction
Amargosa Opera Hotel
Hotel Amargosa Opera
Amargosa Opera House And Hotel Death Valley Junction, Death Valley National Park, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amargosa Opera House and Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.