We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“STAY OF A LIFETIME!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amargosa Opera House and Hotel

Save Saved
You added Amargosa Opera House and Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Amargosa Opera House and Hotel
HR-C 608 Death Valley Junction, Death Valley Junction, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328   |  
Hotel amenities
Mojave Desert
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“STAY OF A LIFETIME!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Well, if it's a different experience you're seeking - this is it folks! We had never stayed in such a quirky bare bones room and that includes the cheapest motels in Mexico. We saw Ghost Adventurers and wanted to experience what they did. While we didn't have any personal experiences, we did capture some very interesting photos with lots of orbs and one with a weird mist thing.

Tips: Bring some heavy duty air freshener because this place smells of sewage masked by industrial cleaner. Our windows didn't open so we couldn't let fresh air in. The motel was full and, in the morning, the smell was practically gone. This indicates that the sewage pipes could have been emptied by gray water and the smell washed away. We bought the last can of air freshener at the casino down the road about 6 miles and it really helped.

You must go to that casino to check out possibly the world's largest steer, housed in a pen right next to it. His name is Herman. This cow stands over 6 feet tall and weighs at least 3000 lbs. We couldn't believe our eyes!!

We paid 5 dollars a piece to go into the Opera House which was accessible at 9:00 am. Well worth it as the Opera House was awesome. The artwork in there is one of a kind by Marta. What an artist she is! If you don't know who Marta is, do your homework before you go and check out the history of this unique place.

This place isn't for the feint of heart. You need to man and woman up to stay here. It is old, spooky, in disrepair, and smells. Our king bed and even the roll away were really soft and comfortable - more so than just about any other place we have ever stayed.

The food at the cafe which was on grounds was pretty good and had really good prices. Services was a little slow but that was OK.

This was truly the stay of a lifetime. No place on earth is like it or ever will be. It is a non profit by the way. They can always use donations.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    66
    95
    40
    47
    77
See reviews for
49
145
30
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
LONDON
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

WE were a party of four. We decided to stay her having seen the pictures of the rooms on the internet. In other words, we were going for an experience, not luxury.
This hotel is clearly past its prime and has fallen into a state of disrepair. It is in the middle of nowhere. Barring a casino 7 miles away, the nearest restaurant is at Furnace Creek, a 60 mile round trip. There are no phones in the rooms, no TVs, and your mobile probably won't work either. The bathrooms are basic and while we were there, the rooms were cold and the beds need replacing. But - and it's a big but - if you are wanting a place with character, close to the astonishing Death Valley (you must go to Dante's Peak and Zabrinskie Point), and want quirky no-frills rooms, then this place cannot be beaten. It is an experience and all 4 of us loved it, loved it, loved it. However, none of us would have wanted to stay more than a couple of nights. Breakfast - coffee and toast - is included in the price and is served at the cafe.
Do not stay here if you want contact with the outside world, luxury or amenities. But do stay if you want an experience and want to be close to Death Valley - I have never seen a hotel like it, and doubt I ever will. Think Scooby Doo's house - it'll be a great adventure, but would you want to stay a week?!!

Room Tip: Look at the photos on the internet - we got a room that used to be used by Red Skelton.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Pros - Friendly, helpful staff when they're present. Unique property with interesting history. An effort is clearly made to keep rooms clean.

Cons - Quaint has given way to a state of disrepair. Bathroom tiles were missing or broken, the toilet bubbled merrily when the shower was running, the combination window heating/air conditioning unit worked but was noisy and had obviously broken louvers, the electrical fixture in the bathroom was broken, exposing the wiring.

At about half the price charged it would be an acceptable (but not great) value. If your tastes run toward unique places with an interesting history and you aren't concerned with current state of repair you might be happy here. It will all depend on where your personal dividing line is between "quaint" and "rundown".

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Death Valley Junction hotels

Caliente, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The feeling we had at the hotel was as if we belonged there. Being an artist myself, I can sense the labor of love Marta, the owner, has for the place. If you have an eye and a heart for art, this is your place. My suggestion would be to research the history before you go so you will appreciate this truely unique place. This surely is a destination spot on a trip to Death Valley, Ca.

Room Tip: Check it out on their web site and learn about the history of the place and it's owner. Very int...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maldon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We booked this hotel for an overnight stay en route to Las Vegas after leaving Death Valley,there is little choice in this area and I think the management realise this.Despite its overall charm and authenticity for its obvious listed status this should not defer from the obvious lack of amenities/facilities.
Whilst the staff were very friendly and helpful their presence was severly lacking in the morning for information etc.
The one saving grace was the nearby cafe which was reasonable,friendly and excellent food despite the lack of alcohol served,which was also apparent in the Hotel.
This Hotel trades on its past too much and facilities do not compare to others in price/amenities we used for similar overnight stops in various places-Lake Tahoe,Lone Pine,San Fran etc.

Room Tip: Dont stay if you want facilities/amenities/alcohol and a warm room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Hi we were travelling around America and booked for two nights at this hotel, we are from Australia, and a family of nine.
We were so excited to stay in the spooky hotel as it was the greatest experience, we had so much fun seeing if we could detect any paranormal activity. ( we had watched ghost hunters ) and were hoping to encounter any thing odd. we thoroughly loved our stay, I recommend anyone to come here as it was amazing. We did have a ghost tour from Rich, who is a lovely bloke, he was so friendly and happy to give us a personal tour of the opera house and spooky hollow and nothing was too much trouble for him.
The rest of the staff were just as lovely and happy to give us their ghost stories.
The chef and his brother were lovely too and made a brilliant roast pork which was very welcoming after driving for hours.
The rooms were just as you would expect from an old building which added to the excitement.
I thought that it was really great to be able to wander around the building and pop your head into any of the supposed haunted rooms ( which were not occupied at the time) it was like we had free range to wander aimlessly and try and get spooked.
Highly recommend .

Room Tip: If you want paranormal activity ask for one of the scary rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branson, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I have read about the Amargosa Opera House for years and never had the pleasure of seeing Marta Becket's show prior to her retirement. Finally my trip to DVJ was reality and did not disappoint! The yesteryear charm of the hotel and super helpful friendly staff made each day of my 3 days there totally amazing. If you need serenity, peace & quiet while enjoying the beauty of the desert, make Amargosa Hotel & Opera House your next adventure. You'll be glad you did.
Accept the fact that this hotel has 100 yrs of charm in addition to some wear within its walls and expect a step back in time. No cell service, no TVs, no outside everyday interference to deal with. Just a relaxing stay in a historic place that will live on hopefully for my grandchildren to bring their kids to someday.

Room Tip: The theme rooms are painted by Ms Becket and add to the warmth & charm you experience while stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Amargosa Opera House and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amargosa Opera House and Hotel

Also Known As:
Amargosa Opera House Hotel
Amargosa Opera House Hotel Death Valley Junction
Amargosa Opera Hotel
Hotel Amargosa Opera
Amargosa Opera House And Hotel Death Valley Junction, Death Valley National Park, CA
Address: HR-C 608 Death Valley Junction, Death Valley Junction, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328
Location: United States > California > Death Valley National Park > Death Valley Junction
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Death Valley Junction
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Amargosa Opera House and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amargosa Opera House and Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.