We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A down home welcome.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amargosa Opera House and Hotel

Save Saved
You added Amargosa Opera House and Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Amargosa Opera House and Hotel
HR-C 608 Death Valley Junction, Death Valley Junction, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328   |  
Hotel amenities
Caliente, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A down home welcome.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The feeling we had at the hotel was as if we belonged there. Being an artist myself, I can sense the labor of love Marta, the owner, has for the place. If you have an eye and a heart for art, this is your place. My suggestion would be to research the history before you go so you will appreciate this truely unique place. This surely is a destination spot on a trip to Death Valley, Ca.

Room Tip: Check it out on their web site and learn about the history of the place and it's owner. Very int...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    68
    95
    42
    48
    79
See reviews for
49
147
31
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maldon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We booked this hotel for an overnight stay en route to Las Vegas after leaving Death Valley,there is little choice in this area and I think the management realise this.Despite its overall charm and authenticity for its obvious listed status this should not defer from the obvious lack of amenities/facilities.
Whilst the staff were very friendly and helpful their presence was severly lacking in the morning for information etc.
The one saving grace was the nearby cafe which was reasonable,friendly and excellent food despite the lack of alcohol served,which was also apparent in the Hotel.
This Hotel trades on its past too much and facilities do not compare to others in price/amenities we used for similar overnight stops in various places-Lake Tahoe,Lone Pine,San Fran etc.

Room Tip: Dont stay if you want facilities/amenities/alcohol and a warm room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Hi we were travelling around America and booked for two nights at this hotel, we are from Australia, and a family of nine.
We were so excited to stay in the spooky hotel as it was the greatest experience, we had so much fun seeing if we could detect any paranormal activity. ( we had watched ghost hunters ) and were hoping to encounter any thing odd. we thoroughly loved our stay, I recommend anyone to come here as it was amazing. We did have a ghost tour from Rich, who is a lovely bloke, he was so friendly and happy to give us a personal tour of the opera house and spooky hollow and nothing was too much trouble for him.
The rest of the staff were just as lovely and happy to give us their ghost stories.
The chef and his brother were lovely too and made a brilliant roast pork which was very welcoming after driving for hours.
The rooms were just as you would expect from an old building which added to the excitement.
I thought that it was really great to be able to wander around the building and pop your head into any of the supposed haunted rooms ( which were not occupied at the time) it was like we had free range to wander aimlessly and try and get spooked.
Highly recommend .

Room Tip: If you want paranormal activity ask for one of the scary rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branson, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I have read about the Amargosa Opera House for years and never had the pleasure of seeing Marta Becket's show prior to her retirement. Finally my trip to DVJ was reality and did not disappoint! The yesteryear charm of the hotel and super helpful friendly staff made each day of my 3 days there totally amazing. If you need serenity, peace & quiet while enjoying the beauty of the desert, make Amargosa Hotel & Opera House your next adventure. You'll be glad you did.
Accept the fact that this hotel has 100 yrs of charm in addition to some wear within its walls and expect a step back in time. No cell service, no TVs, no outside everyday interference to deal with. Just a relaxing stay in a historic place that will live on hopefully for my grandchildren to bring their kids to someday.

Room Tip: The theme rooms are painted by Ms Becket and add to the warmth & charm you experience while stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

We have been on a long road trip and this is the least cared for facility that we have used The room was shabby and there was a very heavy smell of insect spray. There were no chairs in the room and no place to sit. The host did not seem available and a fellow guest had to make the coffee for our breakfast. There was coffee and a loaf of bread for toast. It was so unpleasant that I did no shower.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Great experience in time-warp environment.

Stopped for lunch on way to Death Valley. Yes it is open!

Good honest lunch food. Sandwiches and sides well done. Super friendly and helpful waitress, including running out with the map we had left behind.

Opera house and hotel history an interesting story.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We arrived in Death Valley late after a long drive and this hotel was recommended to us by staff from another full hotel. We arrived and were lucky to get the last room. The room was simple, cool and very clean. It opened utside where we sat and had a few cold beers.
Tea/coffee and toast for breakfast was included, anything on top of that you had to pay.
We just stayed for one night as we were moving on but we enjoyed it and its quirkiness, as I said its not for everyone but a great stop-over at a great price.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Amargosa Opera House and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amargosa Opera House and Hotel

Address: HR-C 608 Death Valley Junction, Death Valley Junction, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328
Location: United States > California > Death Valley National Park > Death Valley Junction
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Death Valley Junction
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Amargosa Opera House and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amargosa Opera House Hotel Death Valley Junction
Amargosa Opera Hotel
Hotel Amargosa Opera
Amargosa Opera House And Hotel Death Valley Junction, Death Valley National Park, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amargosa Opera House and Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.