We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit run down.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Amargosa Opera House and Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Amargosa Opera House and Hotel to your Saves list
Amargosa Opera House and Hotel
HR-C 608 Death Valley Junction, Death Valley Junction, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328   |  
Hotel amenities
manassas virginia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A bit run down.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

The web page makes this place look a lot better than it does in real life. No amenities, which was ok (as they didn't claim to have any). Bed was a bit outdated (lumpy matress) but we were exhausted from Death Valley's heat, so we slept well.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    97
    43
    48
    78
See reviews for
50
147
32
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Yes, the property is in need of thorough restoration, but the rooms are clean and the place is brimming with character from a bygone era. I'm sure the investment in a sympathetic restoration would pay dividends and compete for the Death Valley high end market with the Furnace Creek Inn. For now, we were glad of the opportunity to save a few dollars and place us at the Dante's View (South East) end of Death Valley at night, meaning we could tour the park from the morning in one direction, eventually exiting West having spent our second night at Furnace Creek Ranch, rather than travelling to Furnace Creek for both nights and then having to double back to see Dante's View and the other stops on the South East entrance road.

The hosts, an ex-serviceman and his wife, were thoroughly hospitable and a delight to meet.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shrewsbury
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

we visited amargosa opera house for one night on our way from yossemite to vegas what a fantastic place yes it is old andrun down and the air conditioning was ver y noisey but we just loved the place . it was quiet and peaceful you felt as if you were the only people in the world . the staff from the hotel and the cafe were very friendly and the food was lovely . if you like luxury dont stay her ( there was cockroaches in the shower ) but if you want to experience something a bit magical visit here .

Room Tip: the rooms are cosy and clean but in disrepair and the air con was noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmargosaOperaHouse, Owner at Amargosa Opera House and Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Just wanted to make a note that we do not have roaches that they are Crickets from outside and when guests sit outside and leave the doors open they are attracted to the light from inside and head indoors this time of year..
A/C is not forced air like Major Hotels and tends to make sounds some guests are not used to. I do try to pick units that are not very loud when a replacement is needed.
We go to extremes to make sure the rooms are clean. Yes the property is very basic accommodations and shows some wear from the ages.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

To save repetition, see the reviews from Waggonmaker and CoCoD below - we agree entirely with both. We had reserved one of the bedrooms decorated by Martha Becket and it fully lived up to expectations. You have to do your research on this place and avoid it if you feel it isn't for you. If you think you'll find it interesting, you won't be disappointed. A visit to the Opera House is a must (we were handed the keys for a "self-guided tour", which suited us just fine). We were lucky as although the connected Amargosa Cafe 's official hours suggested it should be closed, it was in fact open the evening we arrived, and we had a good meal. Luckily we were travelling in a stocked-up RV so had our own beer/wine, as the Hotel & Cafe have no licence to sell alcohol. Overall a really interesting and friendly place to stay - just have realistic expectations.

Room Tip: Book via the hotel's web-site as you can select your room from photos, and get one of the decora...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffs, England
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

I'm so pleased we stayed here! Ok the rooms are basic and a bit tatty, but the air con and the shower works, and it's one of the most intriguing places we've stayed at. Built in the 1920s it became a famous opera house - do ask for a tour - it's amazing. The paintings and news cuttings about the place and the owner/performer, Marta Becket, make for fascinating reading. This is a really out of the way place that takes your imagined ideas about ghost towns into reality. The cafe next door is not often open but does a great breakfast! The next nearest places for dinner are mostly 30 miles away, apart from a casino 7 miles north, which does a basic menu. Wish we'd picked up some snacks en route and got an early night instead really. I did get up to see sunrise - well worth it. The eerie silence of the desert changes through pinks and yellows as the sun rises - a moving experience. We also saw sunset at Dante's View, an amazing view indeed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geelong
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

I am all up for quirky, unique and historic but unfortunately my review differs greatly from those before me. The location is useful for entry to death valley but from our experience that's where it ended. You are at the mercy of the cafe next door for all meals which had limited operating times (closed at three pm on the day we arrived). The staff were easy going and we were able to help ourselves to ice so as long as you have the other supplies you can at least have a cool drink.The room in which we stayed could be described as close to derelict. The bed was well worn with a dip in the middle the sheets were thread bare and mismatched and the mattress was coming apart underneath. The bathroom was in no better state with broken tiles within the shower recess. The saving grace was a mural of a bed head above the mattress. For the same price if you travel 7miles up the road toward the state line you will find a bright casino/hotel/general store that has a great homely feel about it with a small pool, great dinner menu, bar and casino. I would have preferred this option with the opportunity to visit the opera house. On a good note thumbs up to Michael and the chef from the cafe attached to Armagosa who managed under very trying circumstances to be attentive helpful and courteous. Once we were able to order something from the menu that was available it was very enjoyable.

Room Tip: Go up the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We are a french couple and we loved staying the night in this place.
The team is really kind and they make good efforts to make this place still alive.
The old style of the rooms is a good experience and the spirit of the hotel is very original and terrific. Great place to stay before a good trip in Death Valley !

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amargosa Opera House and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amargosa Opera House and Hotel

Address: HR-C 608 Death Valley Junction, Death Valley Junction, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328
Location: United States > California > Death Valley National Park > Death Valley Junction
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Death Valley Junction
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Amargosa Opera House and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amargosa Opera House Hotel Death Valley Junction
Amargosa Opera Hotel
Hotel Amargosa Opera
Amargosa Opera House And Hotel Death Valley Junction, Death Valley National Park, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amargosa Opera House and Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.