We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A different and intriguing stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Amargosa Opera House and Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Amargosa Opera House and Hotel to your Saves list
Amargosa Opera House and Hotel
HR-C 608 Death Valley Junction, Death Valley Junction, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328   |  
Hotel amenities
Staffs, England
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“A different and intriguing stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

I'm so pleased we stayed here! Ok the rooms are basic and a bit tatty, but the air con and the shower works, and it's one of the most intriguing places we've stayed at. Built in the 1920s it became a famous opera house - do ask for a tour - it's amazing. The paintings and news cuttings about the place and the owner/performer, Marta Becket, make for fascinating reading. This is a really out of the way place that takes your imagined ideas about ghost towns into reality. The cafe next door is not often open but does a great breakfast! The next nearest places for dinner are mostly 30 miles away, apart from a casino 7 miles north, which does a basic menu. Wish we'd picked up some snacks en route and got an early night instead really. I did get up to see sunrise - well worth it. The eerie silence of the desert changes through pinks and yellows as the sun rises - a moving experience. We also saw sunset at Dante's View, an amazing view indeed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    99
    45
    49
    80
See reviews for
51
151
33
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
geelong
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

I am all up for quirky, unique and historic but unfortunately my review differs greatly from those before me. The location is useful for entry to death valley but from our experience that's where it ended. You are at the mercy of the cafe next door for all meals which had limited operating times (closed at three pm on the day we arrived). The staff were easy going and we were able to help ourselves to ice so as long as you have the other supplies you can at least have a cool drink.The room in which we stayed could be described as close to derelict. The bed was well worn with a dip in the middle the sheets were thread bare and mismatched and the mattress was coming apart underneath. The bathroom was in no better state with broken tiles within the shower recess. The saving grace was a mural of a bed head above the mattress. For the same price if you travel 7miles up the road toward the state line you will find a bright casino/hotel/general store that has a great homely feel about it with a small pool, great dinner menu, bar and casino. I would have preferred this option with the opportunity to visit the opera house. On a good note thumbs up to Michael and the chef from the cafe attached to Armagosa who managed under very trying circumstances to be attentive helpful and courteous. Once we were able to order something from the menu that was available it was very enjoyable.

Room Tip: Go up the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We are a french couple and we loved staying the night in this place.
The team is really kind and they make good efforts to make this place still alive.
The old style of the rooms is a good experience and the spirit of the hotel is very original and terrific. Great place to stay before a good trip in Death Valley !

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hesperia, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

First, I hope Rich (the manager) and Suzy (the care taker) read this because I wanted to say "Thank You" to both of them for the amazing friendliness and hospitality I received on both my stays. Okay folks, this is a place you don't just visit. This is a place you experience. It is out in the middle of the desert, some 40-50 miles from ANYTING. It's old, it's spooky, it's seen better days. But my friends, the Amargosa Hotel and Opera House is the real McCoy if you would like adventure in communicating with spirits. Make no mistake. The hotel is haunted. The frist time I stayed I actually wimped out and had to leave at about 2:00 am. I had been investigating haunted hotels for a week and experienced much, but nothing compared to the activity at the Amargosa. I came back a week later with reinforcements and had an amazing time. It is an the true historic hotel, with warm, friendly staff, and is a place that should not be missed on your travels.

Room Tip: I like the rooms with outside doors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thame , near Oxford
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

CocoD has reviewed this property extensively and I agree with her entirely. This is not a hotel or a motel, it's an experience. The people running the place are lovingly committed to preserving the historic and eccentric building and atmosphere, and it is run as a not-for-profit trust. Refreshments are available round-the-clock in the hotel and you can get ice from the ancient kitchen. Breakfast in the cafe was brilliant, but you should eat dinner at Furnace Creek before leaving the park (49ers was fantastic food). If you time your trip across the Death Valley park so that you leave as it goes dark - so you see the colours better in the late sunlight - then this is a fabulous location (we managed to leave as the full moon was rising, but you probably can't plan your trip around that). But if you can't cope with a historic bathroom and a bit of peeling paintwork, stay in the park! We looked at the Opera House in the morning and that was tremendous fun. It's rare to stay somewhere that you'll actually remember on a long trip, and even rarer to meet people who have their heart and soul in their jobs like these people do.

As you travel onwards - If you drive from Amargosa (resident population zero) to Vegas, where one hotel can hold the entire population of your home town, be prepared to be slightly overwhelmed! There was a petrol station, shop, and a park to have lunch in not too far down the road towards Vegas. The trip out to the Date farm was not worth the journey.

Room Tip: Just don't expect the room to be of a modern standard - it's a 'working antique' as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We chose this hotel because of its proximity to the entrance of the Death Valley National Park - and it was an an excellent choice in that regards. Members of my family wanted to ride their bikes into the park before daybreak and it proved to be wonderful for that endeavor. I must say that we were taken aback when we first arrived - the hotel was deserted when we arrived in the late afternoon. The manager had gone to take supper to Marta Becket herself! As another traveler commented, the cafe was not available (closed on Mondays and Tuesdays) so we had to drive to a small casino/restaurant/hotel in Nevada for food and other supplies. When we returned, there were a few other guests for the night, which made us feel a little more comfortable with staying in such a desolate place with no tv and very limited cell phone or internet service. However, my husband and son greatly enjoyed conversing in the hotel lobby that evening with travelers from Hungary. Our room was basic, but fine - clean, freshly painted, relatively cool, considering the 100+ degree temperature outside.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

If you're a keen photographer, this place is great for taking photos. A Historic Hotel, it's worth staying just to peek in the rooms at the great artwork painted directly on the walls. Dinner was problematic ... as we were the only two guests at the time, the cafe staff "got bored" and went home, leaving us to drive across the state line to Nevada for a meal. We also had the issue of a faulty fire alarm set in the 18 foot high ceiling bleeping every 10 minutes the entire night. Nevertheless, there is now a keen preservation team putting new life into the place, and it is well worth having a night's rest here before heading on to Vegas.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Amargosa Opera House and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amargosa Opera House and Hotel

Address: HR-C 608 Death Valley Junction, Death Valley Junction, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328
Location: United States > California > Death Valley National Park > Death Valley Junction
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Death Valley Junction
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Amargosa Opera House and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amargosa Opera House Hotel Death Valley Junction
Amargosa Opera Hotel
Hotel Amargosa Opera
Amargosa Opera House And Hotel Death Valley Junction, Death Valley National Park, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amargosa Opera House and Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.