We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once in a lifetime you must do this” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Death Valley National Park

Death Valley National Park
Route 190, Death Valley Junction, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328
(760) 786-3200
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Type: National Parks
Attraction Details
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Once in a lifetime you must do this”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014 NEW

We visited as a couple in September. We spent a few hours visiting Badwater the visitor centre to name but 2 . It was hot but we were fortunate enough whist there to witness a couple of thunder storms. Happens very infrequently so we consider ourselves honoured. It made relatively no difference to the temperature. Don't drive the canyons we were told by Rangers. As we left we saw the reason flash floods impressive.
Awesome a must simple
Enough said

Visited September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    387
    94
    10
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014 NEW

My husband and I did a road trip from Las Vegas to California through Death valley last month. We hired a convertible Mustang for our trip. The drive was longer than we thought but well worth the effort! The landscape is unbelievable!

We went through to Furnace Creek which is a great place to stop. Glad we didn't stay though as it was so hot you couldn't have sat by the pool or been outside for more than 10 minutes. The temperature reached 51 degrees centigrade!

We also stopped off at Badwater which is an incredible place and a definite must see. There is a sign warning of extreme heat. I have never experience heat like it before.

I'd recommend taking a lot of water with you in the car as you will need it in the hottest seasons and just in case you break down. We drove for miles without seeing another car and there was one part of the road leading out of the park towards California without tarmac on it which was really scary!

If you're ever in Vegas then take a day out and go and visit Death Valley, you won't be disappointed!

Visited September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Not much there”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014 NEW

I think this is not a destination, jut a pass through if it is on your way going somewhere. When we descended the temperature rose 10 degrees in minutes, from 31C to 41C! Not many cars were there, so if anything happens to the car you are in trouble, and it is HOT there, hence the name i guess. I expected to see those beautiful landscapes with the sliding rocks, but it was only some sand and mostly not even that, not much to look at. Just get out of there while you can. I think there should be an entrance fee, but there was nobody there to collect it.

Visited September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
62 attraction reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Very special place...and HOT!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014 NEW

What makes Death Valley special is the absolutely desolate landscape, and no wonder...the heat is unbelievable.

We drove to Badwater, the lowest place in the USA. The heat wraps around you like a blanket, and a blanket is the last thing you need when it is 115F. Badwater does smell bad. Don't touch it (we don't know why you would it smells bad, but we saw someone do it), it is actually the very fragile ecosystem of the Badwater snail.

We also drove to the Devil's golf course. This place is truly photogenic. The salt crystals on the cracked floor are very special. We were there alone and could hear the salt cracking.

We also drove the artist drive. Very scenic but very similar to the rest of the mountains around death valley. Until you suddenly see the artist's pallet, like someone came to paint the rocks in pastel colors.

Death valley is great. We'll be back for Scotty's castle!

They are not kidding in the visitor's center about the amount of water you need per person. Usually we think it is an overestimation. Here we drank more than what they recommended.

Visited September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kings Lynn
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“The Damn Heat!!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014 NEW

If you are somewhere near then you must visit. Even if its just to say you have been! What can I say ... Sand, dunes, more sand, more dunes. It is an amazing place with not much there. 113 deg in September in shade .. gees!! Take a look at aptly named Furnace Creek, Just remember, Hat, Sunglasses, cover up, sun lotion and above all water ,,,,,

Visited September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Death Valley National Park also viewed

Death Valley National Park, CA
Death Valley National Park, CA
 
Death Valley National Park, CA
Death Valley Junction, Death Valley National Park
 

Been to Death Valley National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Death Valley National Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.