We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Damn Heat!!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Death Valley National Park

Death Valley National Park
Route 190, Death Valley Junction, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328
(760) 786-3200
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Type: National Parks
Attraction Details
Kings Lynn
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“The Damn Heat!!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014 NEW

If you are somewhere near then you must visit. Even if its just to say you have been! What can I say ... Sand, dunes, more sand, more dunes. It is an amazing place with not much there. 113 deg in September in shade .. gees!! Take a look at aptly named Furnace Creek, Just remember, Hat, Sunglasses, cover up, sun lotion and above all water ,,,,,

Visited September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    383
    94
    9
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mililani, Hawaii
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A Must See”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2014 NEW

If you do just one thing in Death Valley, you must go on the tours at Scotty's Castle. The underground tour is given usually from October to April only but we were lucky that it was given on the day we visited. Its really hard to comprehend how it could have been built in the middle of nowhere. It has it's own generator and water supply. It even had solar panels. All this in the 1920s.

Visited September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley Forge, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Incredible beauty and diversity”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2014 NEW

If you have a vehicle with good clearance try the Titus canyon entrance--it is mind blowing. Maybe visit the dunes, Artist's pallet, Zabrowski's point, and bad water basin (the lowest place in the America's and hottest location on Earth). All are all worthwhile and can be done in 90 minutes or less. We did not do Dante's Peak due to time restrictions. It is an unusual NP in that you will probably spend 80% of your time in the car. Not sure that I would want to spent more than a day, or maybe two, there--but wow, a lot of real unique things to see.

Visited September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, Illinois
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Not much to see, difficult to get to”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2014 NEW

Death Valley is well known for heat. We were in DV in September and at Badwater, it was 113. Since this was shade temperature and we were in the brigth sun, it was hot. Very hot. We were out of the car for 5 maybe 10 minutes. This was the highlight.

This NP is huge... lots and lots of driving through the same features... for miles. For example, after arriving at the park, we spent some time at the visitor center. From there, it is 17 miles to Badwater. After that, it must be 40 miles to the exit. I kept wondering... if my car has an issue, what will we do? Even though we brought a lot of water, I figured we would not last long. Few cars, no cell service, no one around and heat.

I thin if we had to do it over, we would have passed this park by. We made a special trip from as Vegas (2 hours one way at least) to drive through.... sand and rock. Yes, it is impressive but, we had just come from Moab (Arches and Canyonlands) an so Death Valley pales in comparison.

My opinion is, do not make a special trip. Make Death Valley a stopping point along your route... if you feel you must go.

Visited September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Another Planet ????”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2014 NEW

With the differing rock formations and blistering heat you would be forgiven for thinking you were on a different planet.
The colours and formations you see are so varied and beyond comprehension.
Our drive through Death Valley, with an overnight stop at Furnace Creek, took us through so many different experiences from the flat of the desert to the heights of the mountains. Some of the roads had very steep and unprotected drops to the side, and to some drivers/passengers could be described as scary.It doesn't help when driving up to the top of the mountain with a steep drop to the side, and you suddenly get a USAF fighter jet buzz straight over the top of the car within what seems like touching distance. A free and private air show added to the awsome drive.
The experiences of this park were far greater than our expectations and I would fully recommend visiting Death Valley.

Visited September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Death Valley National Park also viewed

Death Valley National Park, CA
Death Valley National Park, CA
 
Death Valley National Park, CA
Death Valley Junction, Death Valley National Park
 

Been to Death Valley National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Death Valley National Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.