We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just can't go wrong with a National Park” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Death Valley National Park

Death Valley National Park
Route 190, Death Valley Junction, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328
(760) 786-3200
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Type: National Parks
Attraction Details
Bardstown, Kentucky
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Just can't go wrong with a National Park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014 NEW

Had been to Death Valley a couple times but not from this entrance and as expected not at all disappointed. The beauty and amazement of all of our national parks is just great. Always well worth the time, money , and energy.

Visited September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    366
    90
    9
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
75 attraction reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
473 helpful votes 473 helpful votes
“Another planet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014 NEW

This is just one of those rare places on Earth where for a minute you can imagine being on anther planet. In the summer season though just remember this place is really hot. Like step out the car with AC for 2 minutes and feel the sweat drip from you head hot. You will therefore need plenty of water, sun screen and appropriate gear if you plan on parking up somewhere and trekking out on foot. There are not many shady spots so ensure your vehicle would be able to cope with the terrain and heat otherwise you could find yourself stranded if your car overheats and dies on you. Being honest because of the sheer heat, we really could only enjoy it through the Air Conditioned car so perhaps it may be better to time your visit when it is cooler so you can get out on foot and explore more.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfair, Washington, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“More than one would expect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014 NEW

My wife and I first went to Death Valley on a coastal road trip back in 2007. We passed through in June and just about melted. Not the time to go but we were so impressed we made plans to return the following winter along with our trip to Vegas. Trust me, winter is the only time to go to be able to enjoy yourself. We thoroughly enjoyed it and I highly recommend anyone planning to go there to spend a minimum of two days. It's a big place and it takes that long to drive the park and stop a bit along the way. Like most national parks, the only way to truly appreciate them is to use your feet and spend some time. I'd go back in a heartbeat if not for all the other things my wife and I want to see before we can no longer travel. It really is a great place to visit and I highly recommend it. We last visited in February 2008. Oh, make sure your camera battery is fully charged.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“One of the wonders of the world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014 NEW

As a geography teacher I have been fascinated by our planet, here we had the chance to go from 4000 feet above sea level to 200 feet below.
Picture do not do it justice and the heat is extreme, it all adds to the experience. Plan time to stop and take in the sights.
We were travelling from Las Vegas to Bishop on the way to Tahoe.

Visited September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

Had a day to drive through & experience this Park. First of all, it is hot so be prepared with enough water & a car that can handle heat & mountains (we saw a couple of breakdowns when it was midday and over 110 degrees out). Then be prepared to be amazed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Death Valley National Park also viewed

Death Valley National Park, CA
Death Valley National Park, CA
 
Death Valley National Park, CA
Death Valley Junction, Death Valley National Park
 

Been to Death Valley National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Death Valley National Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.