We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Death Valley National Park

Death Valley National Park
Route 190, Death Valley Junction, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328
(760) 786-3200
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Type: National Parks
Attraction Details
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014 NEW

This is a brilliant National Park to visit, lots of beautiful places. We visited Badwater basin (lowest point in North America), Artists Drive, Zabriskie Point and Twenty Mule Team Canyon and wasn't disappointed with any of them.

It gets hot here, was 115 degrees which in August is quite mild, when I came 20 odd years ago it was over 120 degrees. Make sure you have plenty of water and if you want to do a hike do it in the cooler parts of the day.

Be careful: at the visitor centre at Furnace Creek there is a notice board saying two people have died in the park since April 2014 (visited in August).

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    483
    110
    11
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Youngstown, Ohio
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Stark Beauty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014 NEW

The desert was lovely. We enjoyed seeing all the beautiful colors. Devils Golf Course and Artist's Palette were our favorites. We went in the summer to experience the hot/dry desert. It was 118 F when we were there. It is ESSENTIAL to drink plenty of water while you are there. If you do not bring your own, the visitor center has bottles for sale. Great place to take star pictures.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“What a view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014 NEW

We went 2 times in the death valley and we loved it. The sightseeing were marvelous. You have to see the Artist Palet, salted lake, Dante's view....

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“National Park visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014 NEW

This is an amazing place to visit. If you can manage the drive I highly recommend a visit. Note that there is a multi-park pass available (called an inter-agency pass) that covers all National Parks and many other parks. If you are visiting four parks or more it is likely to pay off: $80 for an annual pass.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very colorful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

After 23 years, I revisited with the family. It was very hot 124 degrees. We did few hikes less than 10 minutes each. We will re-visit in spring or fall.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Death Valley National Park also viewed

Death Valley National Park, CA
Death Valley National Park, CA
 
Death Valley National Park, CA
Death Valley Junction, Death Valley National Park
 

Been to Death Valley National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Death Valley National Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.