We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Death Valley National Park

Death Valley National Park
Route 190, Death Valley Junction, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328
(760) 786-3200
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Type: National Parks
Attraction Details
Preston, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Incredible place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014 NEW

I would love to go back. What an experience. It was hot like you wouldn't believe. I think to go back in the winter and explore more would be magical because it was 48* when we were there. It's a really beautiful place. And the scale of it is bigger than you would imagine.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    469
    105
    11
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Versailles, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“unique place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014 NEW

i's clearly unique and arriving from West (Lone Pine) is clearly the best choice for a preparation to this marvelous place.
Hopefully was not to hot (103°F)

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“This is not your typical "weekend getaway."”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014 NEW

I went on a trip to death valley over memorial day weekend with my boyfriend. This is definitely not the trip to take if you are into night life, shopping, fine dining, or cultural experiences. There is no nightlife, 2 or 3 restaurants in a 100 mile radius, and every attraction here is purely nature. It is "roughing it" to the extreme. We came in a 4x4 truck, and spent most of the time offroading and exploring (ghost towns, un paved passes, rock formations). It is breath-taking, and HOT. I would highly recommend having a 4WD vehicle, as many of the amazing things we saw were on treacherous dirt roads, with no one else in sight. A wonderful place to see if you are adventurous and love nature.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
127 attraction reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“Summer Heat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014 NEW

Clearly one cannot do as much in the summer heat in the park as in the fall--when we have been there, too. It was 117 deg F when we were just there in July. The Visitor Center, which displays the temperature, is quite good, as are the Jr. Ranger program and orientation movie.
That said, there are still places to go, including Badwater (lowest point in North America), Artists Drive loop, and amazingly, stunningly beautiful Zabriskie Point. As an aside, if you go when the temperatures are cooler, it is fun to take the horse ride there.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Extreme landscape”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014 NEW

Do not underestimate the temperatures in Death Valley - it is very very hot, particularly in summer. It was 45 Celsius when we were there. It gets a little cooler at higher altitude, but on the valley floor it is like a furnace. Saying that, the experience is amazing. Although barren, the rock structures and colours are fascinating, so too are the sand dunes. I would say a day and a night is enough to see the valley particularly in high summer as the heat is relentless, even late at night/ early morning. Take plenty of bottled water as you drink loads, even if it is warm!!!!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Death Valley National Park also viewed

Death Valley National Park, CA
Death Valley National Park, CA
 
Death Valley National Park, CA
Death Valley Junction, Death Valley National Park
 

Been to Death Valley National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Death Valley National Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.