We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An astonishing place of desolate beauty but be prepared” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Death Valley National Park

Death Valley National Park
Route 190, Death Valley Junction, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328
(760) 786-3200
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Type: National Parks
Attraction Details
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“An astonishing place of desolate beauty but be prepared”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014 NEW

Death Valley is apparently the largest national park in the U.S. outside Alaska, and it feels like it!
There is a rare, special but very desolate beauty here which makes it unmissable. It is also however - and unsurprisingly - a particularly harsh, unforgiving and seriously hot environment which has to be respected. We found Zabriskie Point to be our own particular highlight but didn't care for the almost surreal and incongruous Las Vegas style hotel at Furnace Creek which seems to interrupt the otherwise limitless desert landscape. To try and put things in perspective we drove around 250 miles and barely scratched the surface during a trip which proved utterly worthwhile but was hard work on both us and our vehicle. On any visit to Death Valley you will drive to heights of around 6000ft and reach depths approaching 300 ft below sea level. On the steeper ascents you will be advised to turn off the air conditioning and under such circumstances, with temperatures well in excess of 100 degrees, it is easy to see how problems may occur. Of course, in all probability, everything will be fine but this isn't Yosemite and there were times when we didn't see another vehicle for twenty minutes or so, when you just begin to wonder...'what if?' So a place not to be missed? Certainly, but do yourself a favour, take plenty of water and don't even think about it in an unreliable vehicle!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    431
    96
    10
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Quebec City, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“surprisingly hot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014 NEW

The views are really nice but is it ever hot!! It was 127F the day I was there, make sure you bring a lot of water! I still think that it was worth seeing! the rock formation are nice and unique!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely beautiful....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014 NEW

We were so shocked at the beauty of this park. It was very hot but that just created conversation. Our teen children seemed to enjoyed the views. We were so pleasantly surprised. I would highly recommend a visit.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Connecticut
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The Most Beautiful Spot In The USA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014 NEW

For over 30 years I told my wife that this is the most beautiful spot in the USA (I camped out there during a geology field camp long time ago - in January when it was below freezing every night). I finally got her out there last Labor Day when the temps were around 120. And now she agrees with me. Every time you turn around you see something different and beautiful. Lava flows, colored sedimentary layers, you name it. You can go from -282 feet to +6,000 feet in minutes with spectacular views. You must drink a LOT of water - buy a case before you get there, as well as a full tank of gas as the gas prices in the park are high. Surprisingly, the food at the restaurant at Furnace Creek was reasonably priced as well as being delicious. Don't just drive through it. You'll want to spend a few nights at the Ranch (or the resort if you are made of money) so you can see what unpolluted skies look like at night, and the sunrises are spectacular. There is a fee to enter the park, but if you are 62+ a one-time purchase of the USPS Senior Pass gets you into every national park and monument free. Warning - the Park is very crowded in August/September. Apparently some European visitors get bragging rights for riding motorcycles in the park during the hottest month, although the quieter and more beautiful spots are still quiet and beautiful.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Hot Hot Hot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014 NEW

It has to be seen to be believed and ambient temperature in July has to be felt to be believed!
You will see one of the most "Alien" looking scenery in the world here. Thank God for the oasis of Furnace Creek Ranch to come back to at the end of a day's tour! Definitely worth one visit in a lifetime though my husband would like to go back at some point to play golf there!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Death Valley National Park also viewed

Death Valley National Park, CA
Death Valley National Park, CA
 
Death Valley National Park, CA
Death Valley Junction, Death Valley National Park
 

Been to Death Valley National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Death Valley National Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Death Valley National Park to your Saves list