We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth stopping to see!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harmony Borax Works

Harmony Borax Works
Harmony Borax Works Rd., west of Rte. 190, Death Valley Junction, Death Valley National Park, CA
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Where Borax was produced in Death Valley until 1889.
Fort Mohave, Arizona
Level Contributor
164 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Worth stopping to see!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Interesting to see first hand the history of the 20 mule team wagons and the Borax. They have signs explaining all the wagons and how the Borax was lifted out of the salt flats and transported to Mohave, Ca.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    73
    37
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
109 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Loved the history”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

The history of the borax works was enticing to us - we remember the borax 20 mule team cleaner when we were kids. The site is very accessible to walk around, but we felt there could have been more descriptive information boards explaining what was what. Our curiosity outweighed the information available.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A history lesson”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We swung by the place on our way to other attraction in Death Valley, and so pleased we made the stop. It is a short drive from Death Valley Visitor Center, and very informative. There are signs on the history of the borax mining of the day, with some interesting photos for a compare and contract to what you see present day.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohave Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
102 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“History Review”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Nice short trail with many kiosks providing information and history of the borax mining. The hike was easy and the parking area is large.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Twenty Mule Team Borax!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

This deserted mine provides evidence of a busy operation destined for failure ... and probably more than you ever wanted to know about Borax! The museum at the National Park Entrance is just down the road ... both sites are informative and well worth a visit.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harmony Borax Works also viewed

Death Valley National Park, CA
Death Valley Junction, Death Valley National Park
 
Death Valley Junction, Death Valley National Park
Death Valley National Park, CA
 

Been to Harmony Borax Works? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harmony Borax Works, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.