We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth stopping to see!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harmony Borax Works

Harmony Borax Works
Harmony Borax Works Rd., west of Rte. 190, Death Valley Junction, Death Valley National Park, CA
Improve this listing
Type: Historic Sites
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Where Borax was produced in Death Valley until 1889.
Fort Mohave, Arizona
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Worth stopping to see!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Interesting to see first hand the history of the 20 mule team wagons and the Borax. They have signs explaining all the wagons and how the Borax was lifted out of the salt flats and transported to Mohave, Ca.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    42
    19
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Loved the history”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

The history of the borax works was enticing to us - we remember the borax 20 mule team cleaner when we were kids. The site is very accessible to walk around, but we felt there could have been more descriptive information boards explaining what was what. Our curiosity outweighed the information available.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A history lesson”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We swung by the place on our way to other attraction in Death Valley, and so pleased we made the stop. It is a short drive from Death Valley Visitor Center, and very informative. There are signs on the history of the borax mining of the day, with some interesting photos for a compare and contract to what you see present day.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohave Valley, Arizona
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“History Review”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Nice short trail with many kiosks providing information and history of the borax mining. The hike was easy and the parking area is large.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Twenty Mule Team Borax!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

This deserted mine provides evidence of a busy operation destined for failure ... and probably more than you ever wanted to know about Borax! The museum at the National Park Entrance is just down the road ... both sites are informative and well worth a visit.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harmony Borax Works also viewed

Death Valley Junction, Death Valley National Park
Death Valley Junction, Death Valley National Park
 
Death Valley Junction, Death Valley National Park
Death Valley National Park, CA
 

Been to Harmony Borax Works? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harmony Borax Works, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Harmony Borax Works to your Saves list