We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gigantic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ubehebe Crater

Ubehebe Crater
Death Valley National Park, Death Valley Junction, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328
760-786-2331
Improve this listing
Type: Geologic Formations
Activities: Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Ubehebe and its little brother (a smaller crater) winningly tempt hikers down their steep and colorful slopes.
Irvine, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Gigantic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We really like this site, the crater as very gigantic. The wind blowing was too strong and we were on such a height that we can actually see the bottom of the crater and the effect of the volcanic eruption. We liked it.
Fee included in your park entrance fee ($20 is park entrance fee per vehicle).

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    47
    9
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Whittier, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Wow, That's huge!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This crater is enormous. Standing at the top you're almost blown over the edge the wind is so fierce. Walking to the bottom is strenuous, but exciting.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Interesting site”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We would have liked to hike to the bottom of the crater, but it wasn't possible this trip. However, it was impressive.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Worth the detour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This site is definitely worth the detour after Scotty's Castle. Unfortunately, freezing stiff winds kept us near the car, but I would have loved to do the rim hike.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Amazing vista”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We swung by this vista on our way to the Racetrack. It is a must-see if in Death Valley and the view is spectacular. The parking lot is sizable and good thing given the crowds are too. It is quite windy here so bring a jacket if you plan to trek around. Tip: would recommend only hiking down if you are dead certain you can make it back up. The hike up is not for the faint of heart.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ubehebe Crater also viewed

Death Valley Junction, Death Valley National Park
Death Valley Junction, Death Valley National Park
 
Death Valley National Park, CA
Death Valley Junction, Death Valley National Park
 

Been to Ubehebe Crater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ubehebe Crater, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Ubehebe Crater to your Saves list