We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Twenty Mule Team Canyon

Twenty Mule Team Canyon
Death Valley, 4 mi south of Furnace Creek, Death Valley Junction, Death Valley National Park, CA
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$209*
and up
Small-Group Death Valley National Park Day Trip from Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A tortuous 2.8 mile road riddled with tunnels - a legacy from years of Borax prospecting.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Awesome.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

This scenic side trip is simply beautiful. If you are careful you can drive this trail in almost any vehicle. So everyone can enjoy the natural beauty. Winter is the time to visit so you will enjoy the benefit of cool weather instead of the 100 plus degrees of summer.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    50
    20
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ronneby, Sweden
Level Contributor
405 reviews
256 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 286 helpful votes
“Not a must”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

It's a nice drive through rocks and sand in strange shapes. I suspect it might be fun to walk around and explore the area, but driving through it didn't make a big impression on me. You get tha same views only from above at the close by Zabrinsky Point - go there instead!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
102 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Cool to See”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We didn't know what the road would be like but it was fascinating. It's dusty and winding, at one point we had to get out and scout the road down, but it was really cool to see. It gave you the feeling of really being out in the outback.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgecrest, California
Level Contributor
86 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“20 Mule Team canyon, Death Valley NP”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

A one-way dirt road through colorful Colemanite (borax ore) deposits, just up from Zabriske Point. Lots of fun to explore. The mule teams never went through this canyon, but its nice to honor them with the name.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Be sure to stop and see the sights”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I didn't really realize I was on this the road until I came out the other end. If I could do it over again I would have stopped and hiked up a few of the vistas for some scenic beauty.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Twenty Mule Team Canyon also viewed

Death Valley National Park, CA
Death Valley Junction, Death Valley National Park
 
Death Valley National Park, CA
Death Valley Junction, Death Valley National Park
 

Been to Twenty Mule Team Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Twenty Mule Team Canyon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.