We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Twenty Mule Team Canyon

Twenty Mule Team Canyon
Death Valley, 4 mi south of Furnace Creek, Death Valley Junction, Death Valley National Park, CA
Improve this listing
Type: Canyons, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A tortuous 2.8 mile road riddled with tunnels - a legacy from years of Borax prospecting.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Awesome.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

This scenic side trip is simply beautiful. If you are careful you can drive this trail in almost any vehicle. So everyone can enjoy the natural beauty. Winter is the time to visit so you will enjoy the benefit of cool weather instead of the 100 plus degrees of summer.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    39
    17
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ronneby, Sweden
Top Contributor
369 reviews 369 reviews
233 attraction reviews
Reviews in 129 cities Reviews in 129 cities
259 helpful votes 259 helpful votes
“Not a must”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

It's a nice drive through rocks and sand in strange shapes. I suspect it might be fun to walk around and explore the area, but driving through it didn't make a big impression on me. You get tha same views only from above at the close by Zabrinsky Point - go there instead!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Cool to See”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We didn't know what the road would be like but it was fascinating. It's dusty and winding, at one point we had to get out and scout the road down, but it was really cool to see. It gave you the feeling of really being out in the outback.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgecrest, California
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
60 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“20 Mule Team canyon, Death Valley NP”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

A one-way dirt road through colorful Colemanite (borax ore) deposits, just up from Zabriske Point. Lots of fun to explore. The mule teams never went through this canyon, but its nice to honor them with the name.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Be sure to stop and see the sights”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I didn't really realize I was on this the road until I came out the other end. If I could do it over again I would have stopped and hiked up a few of the vistas for some scenic beauty.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Twenty Mule Team Canyon also viewed

Death Valley Junction, Death Valley National Park
Death Valley National Park, CA
 
Death Valley National Park, CA
Death Valley Junction, Death Valley National Park
 

Been to Twenty Mule Team Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Twenty Mule Team Canyon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.