We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casual, Fun Course” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Furnace Creek Golf Course

Furnace Creek Golf Course
Hwy190, Death Valley Junction, Death Valley National Park, CA
760-786-2345
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Golf Courses
Activities: Golfing
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Part of the Furnace Creek Resort, this 18-hole course is 214 feet below sea level.
Bishop, CA
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Casual, Fun Course”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Set among the date palms of Furnace Creek this is the world's lowest golf course. There is a pleasant pro shop, casual, often drop in tee times, and a pleasant 18 hole course. Don't be surprised to see a coyote or two ambling along the course as you wind around lakes with ducks and the gorgeous scenery of the mountains on both sides of the valley.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    16
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Weed, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Winter Paradise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

A trip to Furnace Creek via Hwy 395 from Carson City Nevada is so amazing. The scenery and topography along this trip is so worth it. My husband and I love the desert and the experience at the Furnace Creek oasis. The motel rooms have been up graded, the golf course is, as usual, in great shape and we were treated to the best weather ever in November. We will be back.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Fun Place to Stay and Play”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Just returned from a weekend at Furnace Creek Ranch and playing Furnace Creek Golf Course. The ranch was remodelled a few years ago and even though the outside looks dated, the rooms were well appointed, clean, and comfortable.

Had dinner twice at the Steakhouse. Great steaks and service. A little pricy, but they do have a captive audience. Had breaksfast and lunch at the 49er Cafe. Large portions and tasted great. Don't waste your money on the breakfast or lunch buffets at the steakhouse. Go to the cafe.

Golf course was in great shape. Staff was phenominal. We had a large group with saturday and sunday shotgun starts. They did a great job getting everyone out in time, caring for clubs overnight, etc. Our saturday round was started by arriving on the #6 tee wher two coyotes were sitting watching the ducks in the nearby lake. We say countless coyotes and roadrunners (make your own old cartoon comments now) all over the course.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaconsfield, Bucks
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Spectacular”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Boyfriend said the only disappointment was that it wasn't hotter - temperature reaching 106degC was more than hot enough for me! Very interesting scenery, and we enjoyed the short film at Furnace Creek visitor center.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“simply stunning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

loved the journey from Yosemite Country Park to Furnace Creek in Death through the nevada sierra desert - the rock formations in the mountains, the desert sand, the dried salt lakes are simply stunning.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Furnace Creek Golf Course also viewed

Death Valley Junction, Death Valley National Park
Death Valley National Park, CA
 
Death Valley National Park, CA
Death Valley Junction, Death Valley National Park
 

Been to Furnace Creek Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Furnace Creek Golf Course, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Furnace Creek Golf Course to your Saves list