We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wrangler Steakhouse at the Furnace Creek Ranch

Wrangler Steakhouse at the Furnace Creek Ranch
Highway 190, Death Valley Junction, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328
760.786.2345
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Better than expected!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Normally, we don't do buffets as the ingredients tend to be on the cheap side. However, the night we dined, the salad bar ingredients were fresh (although not a lot of variety) but still very adequate. The buffet was prime rib (husband said was good) and the half chicken was moist and tasty. The buffet was $29.95 and includes the salad bar, dinner, sodas and a choice of dessert. If I had gone here the first night, I might not have gone anywhere else the other two nights.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    57
    39
    16
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cary, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Go to the Cafe!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

In the first place, it is no longer a steakhouse - that is very misleading. We had dinner there, so I cannot speak to breakfast and lunch. At dinner there is a buffet with a salad bar (very limited), prime rib (ok), and a hot table with chicken and some veggies (not very good). Dessert was the best part of the meal - but that did not make it worth the $30/person price. Go to the Cafe - for less money you can have much better food, atmosphere, and service!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paulib32
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Nice but compared to what?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Very nice food and the service was very good, however it's either here or a pizza next door (all part of the same kitchen anyway) to me it was an over priced and I mean over priced steak house. For what it cost I would have eaten in the bar next door. Sorry, really nice food but far too expensive

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yerington, Nevada, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not a steakhouse!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The lack of a line should have been my first clue that something had changed. The once awesome steakhouse in the middle of Death Valley has been turned into a less than mediocre buffet. We were so disappointed that this gem now serves uninspired side dishes to accompany my 3/8 inch slice of prime rib. The seasoned staff was apologetic and was as attentive as a self-service buffet requires. I will say the dessert is not to be missed. It was prepared by our server and was reminiscent of quality the steakhouse once represented. We have been visiting the resort for 15 years and will continue to but are hoping this is a temporary experiment.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Stay Away!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

My Father and I were staying at the Ranch @ Furnace Creek visiting Death Valley for a few days. On the evening of the last day we decided to visit here for a nice steak dinner. As the host brought us to the table, he informed us that they had just switched from a steakhouse to a buffet. We walked past the buffet to see what they had to offer before sitting down. Steamship round, a couple potato selections, a vegetable, chicken, fish and a salad bar were offered. The food looked fine and we decided to dine there. The servers were attentive and the food was fine; certainly not anything extraordinary. When the bill came, we were shocked to see that the total was over $70 (including 2 beers)! Having spent 15+ years managing restaurants/bars; I can say that this was without doubt the WORST value I have ever seen. I feel for the service staff that deliver the checks to diners at this place because they will undoubtedly get the brunt of the dissatisfied patrons leaving this place. Do not go there unless you like eating while bent over the table. I can only hope that management will correct this egregious error in judgement turning this place into a buffet before it is to late. Stay away!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wrangler Steakhouse at the Furnace Creek Ranch also viewed

Death Valley Junction, Death Valley National Park
Death Valley Junction, Death Valley National Park
 
Death Valley Junction, Death Valley National Park
Death Valley National Park, CA
 

Been to Wrangler Steakhouse at the Furnace Creek Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wrangler Steakhouse at the Furnace Creek Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.