We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not very good.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Wrangler Steakhouse at the Furnace Creek Ranch

Wrangler Steakhouse at the Furnace Creek Ranch
Highway 190, Death Valley Junction, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328
760.786.2345
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner
Godfrey, Illinois
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Not very good.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

The food was mediocre at best and it had a bad atmosphere. It was a buffet and the selection was small. Most of the food was overcooked. The rice and broccoli were mushy and the chicken was very dry.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

55% Recommend
    32
    54
    35
    15
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cypress, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“bad pizza...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We just ordered pizza here....very expensive around 22$. The taste was not so good and some of us did not even take more than a slice. It is better to eat some microwaveable food from the general store than to spend 22$ here.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thrapston, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Gorgeous steak”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Really very good steak and a pleasant atmosphere. Cost was up there; but for the location and quality the price was more than fair. A very pleasant evening.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgecrest, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lunch Buffet Worth Passing Up”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

During a recent trip to Death Valley, my husband and I decided to try the lunch buffet at the Wrangler Steakhouse. The price was a bit high for what was being served, but I guess that is probably because of the location. I personally was disappointed in the selection and quality of food. The best part about the hot side of the buffet was the pulled pork and the vegetable mix. The rest of the hot side was rather disappointing. The food was just bland and not worth eating. My husband however thought that the fish was delightful. I also should mention that there were some delicious rolls so if you like bread you might want to try it. The salad (cold side) was your basic salad offerings nothing really special. The buffet also included deserts. I tried the apple strudel with a spritz of the canned whip cream and that was good. As for the rest of the offerings, again nothing particularly special such as packaged cookies and jello. Personally I would not try the buffet again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Haven, Michigan, United States
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Create your own omelette”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

For early birds, breakfast at 6 a.m. in Death Valley is great. Fairly busy at that hour due to tour groups, but not a problem. Really good variety of fruits, yogurt, potatoes, etc.....Best part was you could place an order for an omelette - lots of variety of veggies. That and fresh toast made this meal.....Buffet eggs are often so so - but to get a fresh made omelette was great.

Good coffee, juices, etc... we had enough food to do a very light lunch.

The early hour allows you to get a start before it really heats up.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wrangler Steakhouse at the Furnace Creek Ranch also viewed

Death Valley Junction, Death Valley National Park
Death Valley Junction, Death Valley National Park
 
Death Valley Junction, Death Valley National Park
Death Valley Junction, Death Valley National Park
 

Been to Wrangler Steakhouse at the Furnace Creek Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wrangler Steakhouse at the Furnace Creek Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.