We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch Buffet Worth Passing Up” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wrangler Steakhouse at the Furnace Creek Ranch

Wrangler Steakhouse at the Furnace Creek Ranch
Highway 190, Death Valley Junction, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328
760.786.2345
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner
Ridgecrest, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lunch Buffet Worth Passing Up”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

During a recent trip to Death Valley, my husband and I decided to try the lunch buffet at the Wrangler Steakhouse. The price was a bit high for what was being served, but I guess that is probably because of the location. I personally was disappointed in the selection and quality of food. The best part about the hot side of the buffet was the pulled pork and the vegetable mix. The rest of the hot side was rather disappointing. The food was just bland and not worth eating. My husband however thought that the fish was delightful. I also should mention that there were some delicious rolls so if you like bread you might want to try it. The salad (cold side) was your basic salad offerings nothing really special. The buffet also included deserts. I tried the apple strudel with a spritz of the canned whip cream and that was good. As for the rest of the offerings, again nothing particularly special such as packaged cookies and jello. Personally I would not try the buffet again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    59
    44
    19
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Haven, Michigan, United States
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Create your own omelette”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

For early birds, breakfast at 6 a.m. in Death Valley is great. Fairly busy at that hour due to tour groups, but not a problem. Really good variety of fruits, yogurt, potatoes, etc.....Best part was you could place an order for an omelette - lots of variety of veggies. That and fresh toast made this meal.....Buffet eggs are often so so - but to get a fresh made omelette was great.

Good coffee, juices, etc... we had enough food to do a very light lunch.

The early hour allows you to get a start before it really heats up.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, OR
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Wonderful dinner!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Be there, standing in line, before the restaurant opens for dinner to get a seat right away. It's a tad more expensive than the 49er Restaurant, and fancier (no real dress code in the park), but has a varied menu, suitable for all degrees of hunger. Our waiter was on the ball and astouded us all with his electric pepper shaker, complete with light. The dinner was much better than average.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sonoma county
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“the Perfectly prepared steak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

i just returned from a meal i did not expect to find in death valley: perfection. i was very specific with the excellent server, Paul, about what i desired in my meal. he delivered my request the chef, Archie, perfectly, who then came thru with PRECISELY what i requested. I grew up eating meal after meal at chez panisse, and have enjoyed many a september dining in michelin star spots in france (i am more than abit uncomfortable relating this info, but i want you to understand my level of experience/appreciation surrrounding food) and Archie came through with a terrific execution of my meal. i am sincerely grateful for their attention to my requests, and plan to return again and again (meaning tomorrow AND the next night.) everything else at the restaurant is fine: all the folks working there are authentic and helpful, and the environment is very comfortable.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Eat dinner - no thank you to breakfast buffet!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

The first morning we did the breakfast buffet-it was not good. Oatmeal runny, eggs rubbery and cold, potatoes burnt. Second evening we decided to give it a shot for dinner and were pleasantly surprised. Steaks well cooked and tasty. Salads crisp & fresh! Wait staff attentive & helpful. This restaurant opens later at 6pm. So there is usually a line-but seating is prompt & wait staff efficient.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wrangler Steakhouse at the Furnace Creek Ranch also viewed

Death Valley Junction, Death Valley National Park
 
Death Valley Junction, Death Valley National Park
Death Valley Junction, Death Valley National Park
 

Been to Wrangler Steakhouse at the Furnace Creek Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wrangler Steakhouse at the Furnace Creek Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.