We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful dinner!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wrangler Steakhouse at the Furnace Creek Ranch

Wrangler Steakhouse at the Furnace Creek Ranch
Highway 190, Death Valley Junction, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328
760.786.2345
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner
Albany, OR
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Wonderful dinner!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Be there, standing in line, before the restaurant opens for dinner to get a seat right away. It's a tad more expensive than the 49er Restaurant, and fancier (no real dress code in the park), but has a varied menu, suitable for all degrees of hunger. Our waiter was on the ball and astouded us all with his electric pepper shaker, complete with light. The dinner was much better than average.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    57
    42
    18
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sonoma county
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“the Perfectly prepared steak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

i just returned from a meal i did not expect to find in death valley: perfection. i was very specific with the excellent server, Paul, about what i desired in my meal. he delivered my request the chef, Archie, perfectly, who then came thru with PRECISELY what i requested. I grew up eating meal after meal at chez panisse, and have enjoyed many a september dining in michelin star spots in france (i am more than abit uncomfortable relating this info, but i want you to understand my level of experience/appreciation surrrounding food) and Archie came through with a terrific execution of my meal. i am sincerely grateful for their attention to my requests, and plan to return again and again (meaning tomorrow AND the next night.) everything else at the restaurant is fine: all the folks working there are authentic and helpful, and the environment is very comfortable.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Eat dinner - no thank you to breakfast buffet!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

The first morning we did the breakfast buffet-it was not good. Oatmeal runny, eggs rubbery and cold, potatoes burnt. Second evening we decided to give it a shot for dinner and were pleasantly surprised. Steaks well cooked and tasty. Salads crisp & fresh! Wait staff attentive & helpful. This restaurant opens later at 6pm. So there is usually a line-but seating is prompt & wait staff efficient.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“A Waste of our Time and Money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

If you stay in Death Valley there are not many choices of places to eat. Because the main places to get food are far apart if you stay in a hotel or resort you're going to eat your meals in the same place. Furnace Creek Ranch offers three place to eat, 4 if you count the grill at the golf course.

We wanted a light dinner and hadn't yet tried the Steakhouse. We ordered the Oasis salads and two appetisers, grilled shrimp and steak satay. The salad is a nice selection of fresh greens, tomatoes, cucumbers and onions. This part was great however the dressing was nasty. It tasted like it came out of huge industrial jar. We had salad at Stovepipe Wells and they managed to have a dressing that tasted freshly made, so I dont know why these guys couldn't do it. The satay was super salty. The meat was pretty good but overwhelmed but the salty sauce. My grilled shrimp was greasy and the pico de gallo that came with it had an off taste of moldy food.

Now maybe these people do a wonderful steak, but after the food I had at this meal I won't take the chance and the high price to find out.

The staff was very friendly but the food is a real down note. It's a shame. Maybe they need to bring in one of those restaurant intervention shows to make it better.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Breakfast and dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

The buffet breakfast was simple, yet good. It was not over priced. Steaks were cooked to order and very juicy and yummy. The sides were very complimentary. The service was outstanding during dinner.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wrangler Steakhouse at the Furnace Creek Ranch also viewed

Death Valley Junction, Death Valley National Park
 
Death Valley Junction, Death Valley National Park
Death Valley National Park, CA
 

Been to Wrangler Steakhouse at the Furnace Creek Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wrangler Steakhouse at the Furnace Creek Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.