We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best steak of entire holiday!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wrangler Steakhouse at the Furnace Creek Ranch

Wrangler Steakhouse at the Furnace Creek Ranch
Highway 190, Death Valley Junction, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328
760.786.2345
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner
Berkshire
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Best steak of entire holiday!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Great restaurant, very attentive friendly staff. They bought a plate with 3 different steaks on to show you which one was which, something that our boys found very useful.
After our holiday the boys voted Death Valley steak the best! The chocolate pudding was also delicious.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

56% Recommend
    32
    54
    35
    15
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Excellent service coupled with tasty but expensive food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

Only stayed at the ranch for the one night and chose to eat at the steakhouse. Decor is pretty basic and possibly as we were eating early the restaurant was very quiet so no atmosphere. Service was very good and we were looked after by a polite and efficient guy. I ordered pasta and sea scallops, partner had chicken. Both were well cooked and good sized portions. Only real negative comment is once again cold plates...... Does no one warm plates in the USA anymore? I'm guessing some guest got slight burnt once 10yrs ago and sued! Slightly over priced but given the location this is pretty understandable.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Good food but quite expensive so be prepared. They also add the gratuity fee on automatically which I dont like because I want to be able to add what I feel the service deserves - it does tell you this on the menu so it wasnt a surprise and didnt put us off.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Loved this restaurant. The food was well presented and there was a good choice considering the restaurant is in death valley.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“TERRIBLE FOOD...AVOID”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Stayed at the Furnace Creek for one night during my 2 week trip around the U.S.A.
Dined at the Wrangler Steakhouse...God Damn Awful Food....AVOID...overpriced and terrible...steak was tough as a pair of boots and not much food to go with the little bit of steak i had...went to shop afterwards to buy some goodys as we were still hungry when we left the steakhouse..Not worth the money.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Wrangler Steakhouse at the Furnace Creek Ranch, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Please accept our apologies for delivering a dining experience that did not meet your expectation. We can assure you that operating in a remote location such as Death Valley causes us to incur much higher operating expenses. Regardless of the cost and pricing relationship, we routinely deliver exceptional quality to our patrons in the Steak House. I hope you conveyed your displeasure to one of our restaurant managers. They always strive to make every effort to correct any issues that are brought to their attention. Overall satisfaction in that operation is quite high, and if you would reconsider and return to the Steak House, we are confident that you would leave with a more favorable opinion. Should you decide to return, we hope that you will notify the manager of your previous experience. And, by doing so we will assure that you receive an excellent product and value. Thank you for sharing your experience.

Gary Costello
Director of Operations
Furnace Creek Inn & Ranch Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wrangler Steakhouse at the Furnace Creek Ranch also viewed

Death Valley Junction, Death Valley National Park
Death Valley Junction, Death Valley National Park
 
Death Valley Junction, Death Valley National Park
Death Valley Junction, Death Valley National Park
 
Death Valley National Park, CA
Death Valley National Park, CA
 
Death Valley Junction, Death Valley National Park
Death Valley Junction, Death Valley National Park
 
Death Valley National Park, CA

Been to Wrangler Steakhouse at the Furnace Creek Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wrangler Steakhouse at the Furnace Creek Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.