We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing and unbelievable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Racetrack

The Racetrack
Death Valley National Park, Death Valley Junction, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328
760-786-2331
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Hiking, Mountain biking, Four-wheeling
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Unusual desert area where rocks move from place to place, but the actual movements have never been observed by humans.
Irvine, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Amazing and unbelievable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

First of all, the drive (27 miles one way) itself was overwhelming. We had our sedan but we rented 4x4 SUV (Ford Escape) for this adventure and we were very happy that we rented the SUV. The entrance says 4x4 high clearance vehicle recommend which a 100% correct (we believe). The unpaved road is very rough with rocks and we were driving with an average speed of 18-19 miles an hour. We saw just one Prius there others were all SUVs. But after all the rough drive when we arrived to the racetrack, it was awesome. First we thought that there were some tire tracks but after doing some study of the ground we found that those were actual tracks made by moving stones. We were surprised. We found many tracks. It was worth going there. Please drive slowly and stay on the previously made tire tracks on the way to the attraction. You can go to the racetrack and then make a U turn from the attraction and come back if you don’t want to go further on more experienced driving (and also very rough) road.
Fee is included in the park entrance fee.
No services in the attraction (no restroom, water, cell phone signal, gas), you are at your own. Go in a day light when others are also going to that way.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    26
    8
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Amazing... If you know where to look”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

First off, DO NOT drive out to the racetrack with an inadequate vehicle. Do not use a sedan or a low clearance vehicle or anything like that, or you'll probably get a flat tire or have other trouble. If you come in from Ubehete Crater on Racetrack Valley Road, you will see teakettle junction, which is worth a stop. If you have an old teakettle, bring it and tie it to the sign (I did). There will be three "parking lots" along The Racetrack. If you want to see the moving rocks, go all the way to the last one on the south end of the dry lake. The boulders are right up at the mountain in the southeast corner. But, also check out the Grandstand, which was pretty cool. Please don't move or take the rocks or drive on The Racetrack, which some people have and have ruined parts of it. And make sure to bring plenty of water and fill up on gas, too. Even if it's six dollars a gallon, its worth not walking twenty miles for a cell signal and waiting a week for AAA to show up. Definitely go out there, as long as you're prepared. Flat tires and even head-on collisions are common on this road.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Awful Drive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

That Drive was painful. Over an hour each way on a road so bumpy and narrow....literally painful. We took plenty of Advil! The Race Track was really cool though! I'm glad I went but if I had known the condition of the road before going, I may have skipped it.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, OR
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Stay the night if you can!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We'd heard so many stories about the road that my husband was getting cold feet about going at all. But we had gone to trouble to bring our camping gear and I really wanted to see this place! We couldn't believe how good the dirt road was--and then we caught up with the road grader! No problems in a ford Escape at 20 mph! But beware, Scotty's castle had no gas.
The playa is fantastic, surreal, silent, an optical illusion where distances are weird and sounds disappear. We stayed for sundown and camped in the very quiet rustic campground a few miles south.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, CA
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Another great feature of Death Valley”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My message to you is don;t give up! The moving rocks are there if you know where to look. It's a long and somewhat tricky ride to the Racetrack (punctured tires are apparently common (though we've never had a problem), but the vast majority of tourists leave without ever seeing the moving rocks. That's because they stop at the closest point once they get there, get out and maybe walk toward or to the island, and then leave disappointed. If you want to see the rocks, you must drive all the way to the far end of the racetrack, then get out of your car and walk out until you start seeing rocks on the surface, maybe a bit far from the edge. Walk towards these, and there they are, complete with long and sometimes curving track marks. I will never miss them again, and they are difinitely interesting and make great pictures!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Racetrack also viewed

Death Valley Junction, Death Valley National Park
Death Valley Junction, Death Valley National Park
 
Death Valley National Park, CA
Death Valley Junction, Death Valley National Park
 

Been to The Racetrack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Racetrack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.