We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uneven experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Racetrack

The Racetrack
Death Valley National Park, Death Valley Junction, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328
760-786-2331
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Deserts, Geologic Formations, National Parks, Outdoors
Activities: Hiking, Mountain biking, Four-wheeling
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Unusual desert area where rocks move from place to place, but the actual movements have never been observed by humans.
Washington DC
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Uneven experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

1.) The valley, playa, and surrounding peaks are beautiful.
2.) This place's growing popularity has taken its toll. Some of the famous moving rocks appear to be missing, there are tracks from illegal driving on the playa bed, as well.
3.) The campground was quiet. There were about 8 or 9 other people there on a Monday night, but most seemed to respect that folks were there for solitude, not a party.
4.) The road out to Racetrack is definitely rough. Along the 27 miles of dirt road, plenty of washboard and sharp rocks. The rangers recommend renting a Jeep at Furnace Creek.

If you visit, please respect the landscape. Do not drive off road, and do not move the rocks on the playa bed.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    21
    8
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hurricane, Utah
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“It is worth the drive to see the moving rocks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

My wife and i visited the Race Track on 2/22/13. The trip is worth it. The playa was amazing to see and the rock trails were wonderous. We spent several hours wandering the lake bed taking pictures.
It was 55 miles (paved) from Furnance Creek to the junction and then 28 miles of dirt road to the Race Track. The road out is scenic but very rough, bouncey, lots of loose rock and a slow (15 to 30 mph) drive. DO NOT DO THIS DRIVE IN A PASSANGER CAR. You'll need a high clearance (at least 8 in.) car, good tires and possibly 4WD. We rented an off road jeep from Faradees but did see regular SUV's (Hyundi Santa Fe, Chevy Equiniox) make the drive. It took us about 2 hours to make the drive out and an hour and a half to drive back. Overall, the trip (driving and 2 hours on the playa) was 7 to 8 hours.
Finally, don't count on the "bathroom" at the campground. it is a portapotty that hasn't been pumped in years. There is some cell service near Teapot junction but that was all we found, so make sure your car is in good shape.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“The pictures don't lie - the rocks leave tracks!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

If you've seen the pictures of rocks that appear to have been pushed across a valley floor, yet no one claims to have touched them - this is the place. I was expecting to see some really, really big rocks based on some articles, but the biggest I saw was only about 18" - 24" around. Still, there are dozens of rocks of various shapes and sizes that leave tracks of where they have been and it really raises the question of how. It takes 2.5 hours one way to get there and be sure to rent a Jeep or have a Jeep. There are 28 miles of washboard road. If you've spent any time on forest roads, you know there are always some rough spots but usually there are longer, smoother sections as well. This road was rough the whole way with 20-25 mph the norm. Lastly, some folks drive like they are the only ones on the road. Watch out for those folks who are coming around corners where you can't see them and there isn't any place to pull over.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Worth the trek”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Be warned, the Racetrack is a 25 mile trek (one way) on an unpaved, gravel, rock road. Make sure your fuel tank is full before making the trip. You do not want to run out. Also, I would recommend a high clearance vehicle (I had no issues with a Ford Escape).

The Racetrack had several moving rocks when I was there - the trail was easy to see at the right angle.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Silence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Fascinating place. We weren't that impressed by the rocks (and barely found a few with the traces behind), but the vastness of it and the complete quietness that I think I'd never experienced before were worth the long trip. What was also amusing for us, city people, we actually can't see that far. My husband crossed the playa (the shorter length), and we were in the middle and we could not see him!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Racetrack also viewed

Death Valley National Park, CA
Death Valley Junction, Death Valley National Park
 
Death Valley National Park, CA
Death Valley Junction, Death Valley National Park
 

Been to The Racetrack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Racetrack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.