We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Manatee Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Manatee Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Manatee Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2215 Cortez Road W, Cortez & Highway 41, Bradenton, FL 34207   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Bradenton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Frankfurt, Germany
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We staid at this hotel for 2 nights while traveling down the Gulf coast. Originally we had planned to drive to the nearby beaches, but our plans were cut short by a brief sickness. Then again, it might just be such unplanned events, when you leave the standard guest pattern, that you learn things about a hotel. The hotel lies off a big street but situated behind a Cracker Barrel restaurant and you hear absolutely no road noise. The location is highly convenient with the restaurant in front of it, a miniature golf course across the street, and shops and some more restaurants within a short driving distance. Beaches/gulf coast is about a 10min drive.
When we arrived Sunday night the hotel was just holding a Miss America party in the lobby, they had organized some beauty tips, food, and were collectively watching the broadcast. We skipped the event, but thought it was a fun idea.
Checkin was quick and smooth. The hotel has a very nice lobby, the front desk is on one side, the breakfast area on the other. It's not overly big, but nicely arranged with a small bar in the corner, very appealing and obviously suitable for evening events as well. We took the elevator to the top floor and walked down the corridor. It is nicely lit, has a thick clean-looking carpet, high quality appearance. We went into our room and immediately felt comfortable. It was tidy, clean, the furniture looked new and not worn. The bathroom was nicely arranged with some additional towel racks and shelves along the back wall. We've been to a number of hotels during this trip, always pretty much within the same price range, but this one stood out in terms of flair and quality, its just a little bit better than the others. In other words: great value, you get more for your money!
Unfortunately our night went down hill and by 3AM we found ourselves in an unknown town needing to see a doctor. I went down to the lobby which was fully lit and rang the bell on the counter. Within seconds the nightmanager appeared and was very helpful. He provided me with an address and directions to a nearby medical center and offered any assistance we needed when we left a few minutes later. When we returned a couple of hours later he immediately recognized us and asked how things were going. And that wasn't the end of our staff encounters - or better put: it was. We tend to put out the do-not-disturb sign at all hotels we stay because we typically check out late. This time we were tired from the night and spent the entire day in our room. Usually there comes a time when housekeeping begins to wonder if you forgot that sign and starts knocking - but not here, they left us alone the entire day, thank you for that!
Later that day we wanted to grab some fresh air and went out in front of the lobby to use the next great feature of this place: some benches and tables inbetween some bushes and palm trees, just a nice place to sit down and relax. And if you're really lucky you get to meet an egret that frequently drops by (we didn't, but we chatted with other guests who had seen it).
When we checked out the next day we were a little sad we had to leave. We really like this hotel and would stay again without hesitation. I highly recommend it, it's a great value, quiet, clean, comfortable, great staff. Simply excellent!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    67
    21
    6
    5
See reviews for
87
84
12
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tromso, Norway
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

This is my 3rd stay at this hotel, and most probably not the last.

The hotel has a convenient location if you are visiting in the Bradenton/Sarasota area, and the beaches are just minutes away. Actually, you can just stay on Cortez Road - same as the hotel - and drive east to Anna Maria Island. Lots of shopping and restaurants near by the hotel, both local and franchise.

The rooms are clean. People who has a different experience in this hotel, must have had a stroke of bad luck. Besides: The staff is friendly and helpful, and I'm convinced that they would help out, or even change the room if you were not happy.

The hotel has a swimmingpool, but we didn't use it.

If I should point out the negative aspects, it would be that the rooms have a separate AC-unit (Compared to a vent, where you control the airflow from a central AC-system). It makes noise. I always bring earplugs when I travel, and this time I needed them. The curtains in the rooms don't block the light completely, so there is some light coming thru.

The breakfast is...well...not worth getting up for. Luckily you can og to Cracker Barrel, about 200ft from the hotel. They serve breakfast all day.

Room Tip: All rooms I've had so far are pretty much the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waynesburg, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

this hotel was horriable they didnt clean our room restock anything or get our bill right..... people were fighting next door. our room smelled like smoke and we were chasrged for it. DO NOT stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW_Chris, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Manatee Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
This Guest would not have had these problems had they informed the front desk at the time when they walked into the room all they had to do was pick up the phone and dial "0" for the front desk, we would have corrected the problem right away. How can we read minds? Instead they waited until they checked out of the hotel and then used social media to try and trash a very nice hotel.
It is sad that some people have turn to social media and threaten us with putting a comment on Trip advisor etc to get something for free. I myself am just not that kind of person. I will say that she was not charged for smoking in the room, the charged was removed an this review should be to. I guess some people feel like they have got the upper hand when it comes to social media, I hope she sleeps well knowing Karma has a funny way of playing it self out...

Yours truly,
Chris Sears
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, WV
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed at the Best Western Plus Manatee the night before our rental was open in Holmes Beach, so the location was perfect. We did not expect much but were pleasantly surprised. Our room was very clean and updated with new granite counter and shower. It also had a nice flat screen tv and a refrigerator. The bed was very comfortable. Best of all, the room was quiet and allowed for a good night's sleep, which is what a good hotel does. Add the free breakfast and you have a wonderful stopover on the way to the beach!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevator for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Florida, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Stayed here for just one night. Room was updated, new linens, granite counter, tub/shower and nice flat screen tv. Room had a sitting chair, desk with office chair, armoire with fridge and micro with tv on top and 2 Qn beds, a little crowded but heck, sometimes you don't have enough extra seats when you need it. We did not use the pool nor the small workout room, but they were available. The room was on the 1st floor with the window facing parking lot, not sure how it was going to be, but it was fine no noise problems at all. The breakfast was not up to BW usual standards, I have stayed at plenty. The food that was offered was not very appealing nor was there much, it was not late either 8:00am not the end of the morning. Usually there are individual yogurt cups, but they had to large tubs of it sitting in ice where you scooped out what you wanted no lids. Donuts from a bag not much varitety at all. Needless to say it was better we checked out and ate somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Great location for access to everything.......beaches, shopping, major roads, local sites. Terrific manager Chris Sears who takes care of his guests. Clean rooms,,,,good breakfast every day! Good rate. Only reason I did not give it an excellent is the pool is located in front of the Hotel adjacent to a parking lot in back of the Cracker Barrel Restaurant.......but you get over that very quickly because everyone is so nice. Stayed for 2 weeks while trying to buy a condo & vacation at the same time! Will use this hotel again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Best kept hotel we've stayed in. Staff is friendly and accomodating. Beds are extremely comfortable / non-smoking hotel. Buffet breakfast is varied and bountiful. General Manager, Chris Sears is outstanding. It is due to Chris that this hotel is on top of our list.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Manatee Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Manatee Hotel

Address: 2215 Cortez Road W, Cortez & Highway 41, Bradenton, FL 34207
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Bradenton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Bradenton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Manatee Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our modern and upscale hotel is offering a major step up in style and one of the best hotels that Bradenton and Sarasota have to offer. We are located less than three miles from the beautiful Gulf beaches, and just minutes from Long Boat Key and Anna Maria Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Manatee Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Manatee Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.