We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great overnight stay, friendly staff, liked the little balcony.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hawthorn Suites Dayton North

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hawthorn Suites Dayton North to your Saves list
Hawthorn Suites Dayton North
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7070 Poe Avenue, Dayton, OH 45414   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead, Save 15%
Ranked #18 of 46 Hotels in Dayton
Toronto
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“Great overnight stay, friendly staff, liked the little balcony.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Our family booked two rooms on our way back to Ontario.

We were apprehensive at first, since previous reviews had mentioned bed bugs. So we thoroughly checked for bedbugs as soon as we checked in. In both rooms, the mattresses showed no signs of infestation, or previous blots. Hence we were relieved we didn't have to evacuate.

The property is a bit dated, but despite this, the extra amenities were great. Our studio was spacious, clean, had its own full kitchen, and its own balcony. Not bad considering we were only staying overnight.

There isn't much around this hotel, it located just off the I-75, in what seems to be an industrial part of North Dayton, there are lots of restaurants and hotels just on the other side of I-75.

We loved Terrance at reception and all of the staff we ran into. Overall, great overnight, not sure if the location is good for multiple nights.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    115
    61
    54
    39
See reviews for
133
82
37
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alburtis, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This hotel comes in not as the flashiest, or most amenity packed offering of any hotel I have ever stayed at, but it does offer a wonderful value. It is conveniently located, has an interesting floorplan and the staff is amazing. For those that have not stayed at a Hawthorne it is set up like a small apartment complex. Rooms are exterior entrance (your room opens to outside,) and they are studio, multi bed, and multi room apartments. While the furniture is dated, the rooms are cleaner than most at this price range, and for a business traveler or contractor staying in one area for a week it is a great deal. There are some downsides, overall the furniture is old, the bed wasn't as comfortable as my own, etc, etc, however this hotel is selling value, not a 800 thread count sheet set and decadent free cookies, If you want that you will be paying another $100 a night. If you are looking for a value in a safe area, with great service, this is the hotel for you.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic Highlands, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

My flight was canceled and I needed a place to stay. I booked on Priceline and decided against the cheaper economy hotels and spend the extra money for a bit of comfort. Boy was I wrong.

While the front desk clerk was VERY helpful and wonderful, that's where the kind words will stop. My room was in the back of the hotel, through a walkway. I did not feel safe walking that way by myself at night. That was just my perception, but my room on the second floor in the back of the hotel and it was dark out. Not a very safe feeling.

When I got to the room, I was immediately disappointed. The light was burnt out when I flipped the switch by the door. When I found the switch, I saw a very dated room. The paint was peeling on almost every surface. The tub had a leaky faucet, the counter top was cracked and chipped and toilet was stained. The carpet was stained and when I walked on it with bare feet, it felt sticky.

If it hadn't been late and I was leaving in less than 8 hours I would have marched back out and demanded a refund.

I slept in my clothes and set my alarm 7 hours. Unfortunately I was woken up in 6.5 hours by the alarm clock on the bedside table.

I would never stay there again, and would tell everyone and anyone to stay away.

Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Ny
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have stayed at Hawthorne Suites in North Dayton, OH twice. The rooms I was given were penthouse suites. Had kitchen area with everything you could need including refrigerator with ice maker and dishwasher. Would be ideal for someone with children as there was even 2 bathrooms and 2 sleep areas and living room area. Breakfast was great and on Wednesday night dinner was also provided. The price was great.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy L, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites Dayton North, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you again for sharing your experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hawthorn Suites Dayton North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites Dayton North

Address: 7070 Poe Avenue, Dayton, OH 45414
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Dayton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Dayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawthorn Suites Dayton North 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Corporate hotel conveniently located at I-75 and Benchwood Lane offering free high speed internet, complimentary daily hot breakfast, Wednesday evening social hour. We are surrounded by restaurants, shopping and entertainment choices. All suites have a full kitchen and living room area with pull out sofa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Wyndham, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hawthorn Suites Dayton North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Suites Dayton North Hotel Dayton
Hawthorn Suites Dayton North Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hawthorn Suites Dayton North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.