We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible!!! Room 224 should be closed by the health Department.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hawthorn Suites Dayton North

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hawthorn Suites Dayton North to your Saves list
Hawthorn Suites Dayton North
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7070 Poe Avenue, Dayton, OH 45414   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead, Save 15%
Ranked #18 of 46 Hotels in Dayton
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Terrible!!! Room 224 should be closed by the health Department.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

Room 224 and possibly others was terrible. Upon entering the room, I was met with 50 degree temperature. The thermostat was set at 50 with the air conditioning going full blast. Initially, I thought the houskeepers just wanted to cool down in 90+ degree heat and forgot to turn it down. I was wrong! As the room warmed up, the odor of mold became very strong. There appears to have been water damage to this room because under the carpet, the floor was badly damaged and created an uneven surface to walk on. In the morning when I had the aid of daylight, I could also see water stains running down the walls.

If this wasn't enough, the living room couch and chair were so old, worn and stained that they belong in the trash.

Surprisingly in this era of customer service and customer satisfaction, I made all of these details known in a nice way but never received so much as a phone call from the location manager. That speaks volumes to me!

Check your room BEFORE giving your credit card and confirming your stay!!!

Room Tip: Stay at another Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlethaDillinger, Director of Sales at Hawthorn Suites Dayton North, responded to this review, July 12, 2011
I would like to apologize for the inconveniences you encountered during your recent stay at the Hawthorn Suites Dayton North. Obviously we failed to provide you with the level of service that you should expect from a Hawthorn Suites. I would also like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and giving me the opportunity to respond to them.

As we have not had complaints about this room in the past we asked the health department to come and check the room and clear it for rental and they have. What may have looked like water stains is actually wall paper glue residue.

Again, thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your stay with us.
Aletha Dillinger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    117
    61
    55
    41
See reviews for
137
82
38
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

The 2 bedroom/2bath gave my husband and I and the four boys traveling with us plenty space, and I'm grateful for that. The cost was excellent . The room felt dated and not fresh, stale. One of the toilet seats was dirty and my husband found a condom wrapper behind the head of the bed in the loft. There were areas in the floor where it felt like there may have been holes that the carpet covered up. Also tiles on the upstairs bathroom floor were loose. Breakfast was excellent, as was the pool. The website noted a basketball court, and my boys were excited about that, but there was none when we got there. Great location, close to highway and many restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlethaDillinger, Director of Sales at Hawthorn Suites Dayton North, responded to this review, July 12, 2011
Dear Rabbi 0403,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of Hawthorn Suites Dayton North. We have taken your issues to use as a training tool. Also, we will have the basketball court removed from the website as it has been damaged and was removed due to safety concerns. We hope to see you on your next trip to Dayton.
Thank you,
Aletha Dillinger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, ohio
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

I will return to this hotel, soon. Around July 6, 2011. I have a good time each day I spend at your Hawthorn Suits Dayton, North Ohio.

Ed

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlethaDillinger, Director of Sales at Hawthorn Suites Dayton North, responded to this review, June 21, 2011
Dear Tryin2,
Thank you for your kind review and taking the time to post. Our staff at Hawthorn Suites Dayton North always tries to accommodate all early check ins. I am glad we had a room available for you. We hope to be your hotel when coming to Dayton!
Sincerely,

Aletha Dillinger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
québec
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Hotel about 10min from airport. Newest section of all hotels and restaurants. Close to the 3 major highways. Friendly staff, lacked on nothing. Complete kitchen, 4 of evertything. Microwave, stove, full size fridge, toaster, coffee maker, iron and board. They furnished coffee, tea and popcorn !! Pool was appreciated. Saw police cars drive around every night, help feeling of security. Check in was easy and my room was even ready at 1pm when I arrived, thank you !!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlethaDillinger, Director of Sales at Hawthorn Suites Dayton North, responded to this review, June 14, 2011
Thank you for your kind words and taking the time to review Hawthorn Suites Dayton! I am glad you were able to enjoy the suite and all the amenities offered. On your next trip come while it is warm outside and you can enjoy the gas grill provided for our guests and take a dip in the pool.
Please be sure to stop by the front desk and say hello on your next trip.
Aletha Dillinger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

The outside appearance might need some updating but the quality of rooms, staff, breakfast, and pool is outstanding. We stayed here for three days while visiting family in Ohio and this was a great hotel. Sits right off the highway in a safe locations. Our room was clean and nicely updated. The bed was very comfortable and we even used the little kitchen area one night to make spaghetti. It has a two burner stove, microwave, large refrig and dishwasher plus all your kitchen ware equipment. The staff was always very friendly and greeted you warmly each time you entered and tried to assist you. This has to be one of the nicest free hot breakfast. Each day there was scrambled eggs, hashbrowns, along with french toast, pancakes, biscust and gravy. It was all very good. We enjoyed the use of the pool although the pool towes are very small and then so you need about 2-3 per person to really dry off but the area is kept clean. I would recommend this hotel and will probably use it again next year. This was our second year to stay here.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlethaDillinger, Director of Sales at Hawthorn Suites Dayton North, responded to this review, June 8, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review of our hotel. So glad you were able to enjoy the pool and the Hot Breakfast Buffet. We look forward to having you as a guest again.
Aletha Dillinger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2011

As the Regional Director of Group Sales was confirming our reservation for 18 Families, she was selling out the hotel to another group. Our first family tried to reserve a room and were told the hotel was sold out. Contacted group reservations immediately, and were told our block of rooms had expired, even though she had just sent an email to confirm our reservation for the next 24 hours. She sent the original confirmation to the wrong email address and she supposedly transposed our telephone number to get a hold of us?? Offered remedy was to send the word "sorry" on our original email confirmation. Filed a complaint with the national office, but as of yet, have not heard back from them. At least our favorite hotel, the Drury, took us in at the promised rate at the last minute. You would think a chain as large as Wyndham, could have at least found our group, alternative reservations at one of their many hotels in the Dayton area. Although the hotel looked nice, we never had the chance to enjoy it. An honest mistake can be forgiven, but outright lies have no business in a chain such as this.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2011

We had the 2 bdrm, 2 bthrm suite w/ kitchen. It was a great set up and quiet, but the bathroom was very dirty. There were long black hairs covering the bathroom floor. (My hair is red) Brian at the front desk was very nice and helpful and gave us a broom so I could sweep the hair. (there was that much)

Breakfast was ok. It was a hot breakfast and it was free.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlethaDillinger, Director of Sales at Hawthorn Suites Dayton North, responded to this review, April 21, 2011
Dear Lenajean,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We value all opinions and use them to improve our hotel. I do apologize for the housekeeper over looking the bathroom floor. You comments have been addressed and are being used as a training tool. Cleanliness is a top priority to our staff.
Also, Brian thanks you for your kind words.
We hope to see you on your next trip to Dayton and look forward to your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hawthorn Suites Dayton North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites Dayton North

Address: 7070 Poe Avenue, Dayton, OH 45414
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Dayton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Dayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawthorn Suites Dayton North 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Corporate hotel conveniently located at I-75 and Benchwood Lane offering free high speed internet, complimentary daily hot breakfast, Wednesday evening social hour. We are surrounded by restaurants, shopping and entertainment choices. All suites have a full kitchen and living room area with pull out sofa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Wyndham, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hawthorn Suites Dayton North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Suites Dayton North Hotel Dayton
Hawthorn Suites Dayton North Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hawthorn Suites Dayton North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.