We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ask if hotel is full & don't stay there if they are” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Dayton South

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Dayton South to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dayton South
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8099 Old Yankee Street, Dayton, OH 45458   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn a $50 Gift Card
Ranked #19 of 45 hotels in Dayton
Lancaster, United States
1 review
“Ask if hotel is full & don't stay there if they are”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was a nightmare of a stay esp since this was a business trip where I had to take an 8hr professional exam the next day. A bunch of teenagers were staying there & I was put on the same floor as them even tho I asked for a quiet room. These teenagers were not properly supervised, were yelling, slamming doors & running in the hallways. They ignored my request for quiet. The front desk did get them to quiet down some but then the fire alarm was pulled at 2AM. Can I prove it was one of them? No, but seems hily likely. Also, I had to leave the hotel by 7 & was upset they don't serve breakfast until 7 on weekends--stupid (& only start at 6:30 dur the wk). So had to do McDonald's instead--had wanted convenience of being to eat at hotel then go to exam. When I complained at checkout, no refund or rate adjustment was offered. Room was nice, bed comfortable but a night of no rest, no breakfast & no offer of compensation ticked me off.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    6
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
11
2
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marblehead, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Awesome, short stay in a very clean bright room which offered all the amenities advertised. I loved the fact that we had ample amount of towels and wash cloths. *Didn't have a robe.* That is okay. My 10 year old loved having access to Nickelodeon channels and ability to access the internet while in the room. I would definitely stay here again...(*awesome breakfast too but sneaked out for McD's coffee which was around the corner.) I have spent more on lesser accommodations *Peter is tops (*front desk)!!.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager36159, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Dayton South, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 9372910284.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Veronica Snell
Assistant Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dayton South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Okay people, first of all remember this is not the Ritz. Don't go there expecting fancy stuff like champagne breakfast all right?

This is a very good hotel--it actually is as good as (or even better than some) Marriott and Hilton hotels. Super Clean (I am a neat freak and I could NOT find anything that is not up to par). It is new--updated and good looking furnishing both in lobby and guest room and honestly everything looks great! Beddings are CLEAN! The bathroom was stocked with nice clean fluffy towels, has granite countertops and tiled floor and was spotless (like no dust, no rust, no chipped paint, not a whiff of funky smell.)

All the employees were nice , accommodating and professional. They went above and beyond to make sure I had a nice stay. The night manager (Susan) offered to loan me her phone charger just because I mentioned I could not find mine (I did not even have to ask!) and asked if I wanted a wake up call (something that some 200-bucks-a-night-hotel staff never bothered to ask.)

The neighborhood is super quiet. No drunk people, shouting, yelling ,no drug dealers etc. I read some reviews about hotels in Dayton and I was wary. I am glad I stayed at Best Western Plus. I have to make another trip to Dayton in June and will definitely stay there.

If you book directly from Best Western website you will find that they offer better rates (about 20 percent off) if you book in advance, pay at the time of booking or enroll in their loyalty program. I would recommend signing up for that reward program--cost $0 and saved me 10 bucks!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager36159, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Dayton South, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 9372910284.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Veronica Snell
Assistant Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dayton South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Very poor hotel. Showers were cold. No milk or waffle mix or fruit at the breakfast. Not was any tea or hot coco provided. My nephews bed fell apart the first night of our stay. Not enough towels even though the night manager said they had to be in the room. No vending machines for snacks. No book provided in our room of local attractions or etc. and when my wife asked for one the night manager once again asked why we would want to look at one. The fitness center was so poor and the only machine in it was broken.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager36159, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Dayton South, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at 9372910284.


Sincerely,

Veronica Snell
Assistant Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dayton South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Ohio, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I was honestly quite nervous when someone else I was traveling with made reservations at Best Western. I was expecting dated, dingy, and run down. It was exactly the opposite. Having been on a recent vacation in much more expensive hotel rooms I was VERY impressed with how new everything was...and clean! The carpet even appeared to be clean--which never happens at a hotel. The lobby had a little seating area, the bathrooms were spotless and had granite countertops. They had flat screen TVs and updated furnishings. The breakfast wasn't impressive, but it was free and there was a waffle maker--so that helps! Overall it still wasn't a luxury hotel, but I was very impressed and would stay there anytime.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 4th floor which was nice, but I'm guessing they were all updated at the same ti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager36159, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Dayton South, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Partha Sinha,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 9372910284.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Veronica Snell
Assistant Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dayton South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Had an enjoyable stay here. The hotel had recently been updated and it showed. Very new looking accommodations. The desk clerks we encountered at check in were very polite and professional . We will definitely stay here again when visiting the Dayton area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager36159, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Dayton South, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 9372910284.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Veronica Snell
Assistant Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dayton South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Beautiful and well located Rooms were tastefully updated. Bathroom a big plus. Reading the reviews left me a little concerned. They neglected to clean our room the last night but handled the complaint very well. Everything worked very well. Difficult to find from the main street.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager36159, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Dayton South, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 9372910284.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Veronica Snell
Assistant Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dayton South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Dayton South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Dayton South

Also Known As:
Dayton Inn South Hotel
Dayton Inn South Hotel Dayton
Hampton Inn Dayton
Dayton Hampton Inn
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dayton South Ohio
Address: 8099 Old Yankee Street, Dayton, OH 45458
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Dayton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Dayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Dayton South 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated 126 room hotel - all non-smoking, 37" LCD tv's, microwave and fridges in all rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Best Western, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Dayton South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Dayton South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.