We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A decent hotel, desperately due for an upgrade.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn Dayton North

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn Dayton North to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn Dayton North
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6960 Miller Lane, Fully Renovated in 2014, Dayton, OH 45414   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #11 of 45 Hotels in Dayton
1 review
“A decent hotel, desperately due for an upgrade.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for two nights for the Air Force marathon. For a decent price, I was given a room on the third floor, with an enclosed entryway, away from the noise of the highway and pool.

If you stay on the first two floors of the hotel, your door will open to the outside, a feature you'd expect at a Motel 6 or Super 8. The staff is courteous and the breakfast area is well stocked and has impressive hours of operation between 4 and 10 am.

As a Marriott loyalist, I was surprised at the condition of this property. I am accustomed to Marriott hotels being in relevant condition. I hope the renovations will try to eliminate the divisive entries between the third and lower floors, and work to give more space in the "executive" rooms. I look forward to frequenting this property post-renovation, but until then I'll stay at another Fairfield Inn or Marriott property.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfieldInnDayton, Guest Relations Manager at Fairfield Inn Dayton North, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
Dear Jacob,
Thank you so much for staying with us last year for the Air Force Marathon, and we hope you are coming back to stay with us next week! While we were updated in terms of decor, furniture, carpet, and paint, we did not expand on the size of the property. We are an original Fairfield Inn, and will remain to stay that way. Hoping to see you for this years' marathon!

Sincerely,
Nikki Jackson
Guest Service Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    47
    34
    15
    6
See reviews for
27
28
18
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Top Contributor
759 reviews 759 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 164 cities Reviews in 164 cities
212 helpful votes 212 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

This was a good stop for us since we had a flight out of Dayton Airport. The room was clean and comfortable. I was pleasantly surprised to see that they served breakfast (which was very good) starting at 4am - this is a big plus for people with early flights. I was also pleased to see that they have their own shuttle to the airport. Nice to know for future flights - saves you a lot of time and money. Good price too.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Where to begin. Early check in was rejected quite quickly. Upon request of a holding room for luggage, again, I was told no. Once in the room, I was disappointed to see a dated, dreary room. We paid for two nights and did not bother to stay the second night. I could hardly wait to leave. Even the shape of the hotel was a bit obscure. The hotel was in the shape of a square, and all the rooms face the outside. You must leave your room to get to the lobby, ice machine, breakfast...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Stayed in August 2013. Good room with mini-frige and micro-wave. Free internet and free breakfast buffet. Our room was on 3rd floor.

Stayed mid-week, but in researching rates, weekend rates are lower.

Some recent reviews mention renovations and noise. Call hotel for more info before making reservations.

Fairfield is Marriott chain's middle tier property so don't expect a lot. Better than Marriott Courtyard and is above low end motels (e.g. Days Inn, Ramada).

Larger rooms on 3rd floor. I reserved using Marriott site. Reservations through Orbitz, Expedia, etc. may not qualify for points. Call hotel.

Click on [MORE] below to format the following information in review for easier reading.

Airport pickup...................yes. Also offers PARK SLEEP FLY for those in Dayton area. .
Greeting.......................... Was fast and courteous.
Lobby ............................ Nice.
Room was as reserved ....Yes.
Room cleanliness..............Yes. No problems.
Bedding............................Comfortable.
Bathroom..........................Clean.

Pool..................................outdoor. did not use.
Fitness center..................yes. Did use and equipment was in working order.
Breakfast .........................yes. hot food buffet included with rate.
Room service .................. no
Pet friendly.......................not sure. Call hotel to see if extra fees.

Noise Level.......................See above.
Prices for value.................Moderate. Midweek rate $89 + taxes August 2013.
Brand / chain ....................Marriott.

Customers:........................Mix of mostly middle class clientele.
Location: ......................... Near interstate highway and airport.
Internet.............................Wireless in rooms and public areas. Was working fine.
Parking.............................Free self-parking. Ample spaces.

Room Tip: Tip: Near interstate highway. Noise all night. Might bother light sleepers. Rooms facing pool mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We just needed someplace convenient when we were flying out of Dayton airport in the morning. This fit the bill for the right price. We checked in to a lovely entry area, with friendly staff. A few odd nighttime questions were handled with enormous grace. While it didn't apply to our trip, our recent experiences with wheelchairbound family has honed our handicap-accessiblility radars. We were pleased to see space to move throughout the breakfast bar, with real grab bars, shower seats, etc in the room, none of it being in the way. We skipped delicious smelling breakfast. The downsides: Freeway noise could be heard all night - nothing better windows wouldn't fix. Also, the fresh paint didn't completely cover the holes that were poorly mud/spackled/taped. Tape was peeling in the corners of our newly painted walls, and the ?water damaged ceiling hole >6 inches had been plastered, but was still quite visible even under the paint. These could be fixed, but looks like the mgmt is opting for quick/cosmetic rather than thorough repairs. We would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebbieWills, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Dayton North, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property. We strive to ensure all our guest are welcomed home and sincerely appreciate your patronage. I apologize for the lack of care given to a previous repair. We are currently in the planning stages of a complete renovation which will address the issues you found with your walls. With expected completion at the end of this year, we hope to have the opportunity to serve you once again should your travels bring you to Dayton once again.

Yours in Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Was so happy to find a nice place with a reasonable price , centrally located so I could walk to dinner....with all the amenities..$76.00 for room - with ref.micro. and cof.pot..etc etc..and allow doggie....Went to morning b'fast...found note/bill on my doorknob..with THIRTY dollar fee for DOG? went in to front desk and they said I was "told upon checkin" NO,,,I would have NEVER agreed to pay half of room cost for DOG fee? Very, very upsetting. Will not stay here again.

Room Tip: Great place IF you don't have a pet.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Never have stayed @ this Fairfield before but it was an oasis last week when we'd been on a 3 week road trip during the heatwave that settled over the Northeast US, and us. Dayton was our last night on the road before coming home. The front desk staff was remarkably attentive to us upon our arrival, despite a large number of people attending a family reunion crowding the lobby and breakfast room. The desk clerk offered us road-weary travelers a nice perk: discount coupons for dinner @ restaurants within walking distance. (I don't recall that offer at another Fairfield where I've stayed several times in TX). Every staff person, registration, housekeeping, and breakfast room, greeted us professionally & cheerfully. My only (constructive) criticisms were that the mattress was a little squeaky on one side; an elevator to the 3rd floor is accessible only from the outside/balcony which makes entering the the interior hallway to our room awkward (and hot & steamy last week); the whole building could use some fresh paint and new carpeting. According to the manager's reply to my comments, those concerns will be addressed soon: "We [are] currently in the process of planning for renovation later this year and know it will have an overall improvement in the guest rooms, breakfast and exterior areas of the hotel."

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn Dayton North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn Dayton North

Address: 6960 Miller Lane, Fully Renovated in 2014, Dayton, OH 45414
Location: United States > Ohio > Dayton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 45 Hotels in Dayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn Dayton North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fairfield Inn Dayton North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Dayton North Hotel Dayton
Fairfield Dayton
Dayton Fairfield Inn
Fairfield Inn Dayton North Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn Dayton North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.