We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Dayton-University of Dayton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Dayton-University of Dayton to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Dayton-University of Dayton
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2006 Edwin C Moses Boulevard, Dayton, OH 45408   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #14 of 45 Hotels in Dayton
NYC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

We stayed at this Marriott on Edwin C. Moses Blvd. for four nights. The service was excellent. The room was spotless, the halls and public areas were clean and comfortable. There is an excellent buffet breakfast which provided a good variety of hot and cold dishes which you pay for. They also serve dinner. All staff were very friendly and accomodating. We would highly recommend it for families with kids as there is an indoor swimming pool and a small gym. Also, don't miss the Air Force museum with displays of planes and rockets from the beginning of air travel to the present - no admission charge.

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dheinlein, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Dayton-University of Dayton, responded to this review, August 3, 2010
Dear flomale – thanks for your review and for recommending our hotel! We’re so glad you had an enjoyable experience while you were here and that you had a chance to visit the museum at Wright Patterson Air Force Base, it’s a very nice facility. You recommended us for families with kids; there’s also a children’s museum and planetarium with a petting zoo nearby that’s a big hit with families. Hope to see you again next time you’re in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    37
    17
    10
    4
See reviews for
37
13
12
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edwardsville, Illinois
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2010

What a nice place to stay at. Friendly staff, comfortable beds, free internet...
I will stay here again..

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dheinlein, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Dayton-University of Dayton, responded to this review, July 12, 2010
Thanks for your review; we look forward to seeing you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2010

This is the cleanest, friendliest staffed hotel I have stayed at in a long time. Been there almost weekly for past 30 months

Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2009

If you require internet access do not stay here. Their advertisement of free wireless couldn't be more misleading as it DOES NOT WORK. This is the second time I've stayed here w/ several colleagues and the wireless NEVER works. The front desk is of no help as they tell you to call the IT helpdesk. The IT helpdesk say the system is up to spec and that there's nothing they can do. I travel a lot and this is the first place I've come across that outright lies about having internet access.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dheinlein, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Dayton-University of Dayton, responded to this review, October 29, 2009
We had some challenges with our internet, but believe they are now corrected. We do offer free high speed internet access throughout our hotel and apologize for any inconveniences our guests may have experienced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo Ohio
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2009

This Courtyard is about two years old and located just across the river from the old - very old -- standby Dayton marriott. This Courtyard is one of the newer footprints and also is one that offers a limited dinner menu (approx 3-4 salads, 4 sandwiches, and 4-5 entrees) at a reasonable price. The standard Courtyard breakfast is available. Many of the staff are younger and very bright UD students and it is apparent that the better ones were hired. They are attentive, helpful, and friendly. Parking is easy, safe and the location is just off I-75 although you would not know it - it is close enough to be easy to find and far enough you will not get the expressway noise. This is one of the top-notch Marriott Courtyards. I hate to let everyone know because I use it a lot now and I worry about it being sold out.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2008

Excellent new facility. Near UD and much nicer than the Marriott just up the street from this hotel. Across the street from UD Arena but not near any dining options. If you are visiting the University of Dayton, this should be your destination.

Rooms are spacious and beds are comfortable. Flat screen TV's and good desk space to work from.

Right on the edge of a seedier part of Dayton. Request room on back side of the hotel facing the river. Quieter and better view than front facing I-75 and restaurant construction.

Employees are outstanding. They will go out of their way to make sure your stay is the best it can be. Friendly and very accommodating.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summit, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2008

Booked a double room online through Marriott's website to go to a friend's wedding nearby. Paid $119 per night + tax without breakfast. The property is located near the highway and across the street from the U of Dayton's arena a few minute drive from downtown. Nothing nearby to walk but Dayton is more of driving city anyway.

Check-in was smooth and professional. Our second floor standard double room was facing the river/canal and had no detectable outside noise. Rooms seemed new or recently updated. Flat panel TV, new linens, freshly updated furnishings, bathroom was slightly dated but had a granite vanity top. Since we in town for only a short time and consumed with wedding related activities, we did not visit the pool, hot tub, or other facilities and did not have an occasion to eat in the restaurant or lounge.

For this price range, this hotel was perfectly satisfactory, had good service, and had nicer rooms than I expected. I'd stay here again!

When in Dayton be sure to visit the US Air Force Museum, it is a blockbuster!

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Dayton-University of Dayton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Dayton-University of Dayton

Address: 2006 Edwin C Moses Boulevard, Dayton, OH 45408
Location: United States > Ohio > Dayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Dayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Dayton-University of Dayton 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Dayton-University of Dayton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Dayton-University Of Dayton Hotel Dayton
Dayton Courtyard
Dayton Marriott
Courtyard By Marriott Dayton-University Of Dayton Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Dayton-University of Dayton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.