We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Dayton-University of Dayton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Dayton-University of Dayton to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Dayton-University of Dayton
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2006 Edwin C Moses Boulevard, Dayton, OH 45408   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #15 of 46 Hotels in Dayton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Recently stayed at this hotel for business and no real complaints. Rooms and halls were clean, staff was friendly. The hotel is right across the road from the Dayton Arena so if you're coming to Dayton for something related to the arena, this would be an excellent place to stay. Hotel is conveniently located right off I-75. Indoor pool and sauna, small exercise room with 2 treadmills, elliptical, bike, and some barbells. There aren't any restaurants or bars within walking distance, but they do have a restaurant on site, although I didn't try it. I needed a late checkout on a Friday and they were able to accommodate me leaving an hour later (1:00PM).

Only possible complaint was noise from the next door room. I'm not sure if the walls are thin or they were just especially loud.

Room Tip: Even numbered rooms face behind the hotel and look out over a river. It doesn't add much in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Dayton-University of Dayton, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
msk2122,
Thank you for choosing Courtyard Dayton-University of Dayton on your recent business trip. We appreciate your compliments regarding our property and service, and we hope you'll visit us again in the future. Thank you for your review.

Sincerely,
Garry Kirkland, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    36
    19
    12
    4
See reviews for
40
14
12
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

On a snowy winter night, the hotel couldn't have been more helpful. I was traveling with a team of 14 college students on an almost-shoestring budget. Normally, we just go out for pizza (one of the cheapest meals for a large group like this), but the snow made this impossible. Instead, the hotel staff let us take over their lobby/bar area, have pizza delivered, and even supplied us with plates, napkins and utensils - all despite having a (more expensive) restaurant in the hotel. I am not recommending you take advantage of this hotel staff and do whatever you want, but I am saying that the folks there that night were understanding of the weather restrictions on our group and accommodated our needs in the most welcoming way. On top of this, the hotel bar/restaurant was understaffed on a particularly busy night - as most no one was leaving the hotel for dinner. Everyone worked hard with a smile on their face. I couldn't have imagined a more friendly staff. Although the rates are a bit pricier for our budget, the location was great (super close to the university), and the staff was amazing. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Dayton-University of Dayton, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Nicole J,
We appreciate you choosing to stay with us at Courtyard Dayton-University of Dayton, and we thank you for writing a review. I'm pleased to hear you and your group felt well taken care of by our staff during your stay and found their excellence in service to exceed your expectations. We look forward to extending our hospitality to you and your group again in the future. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Garry Kirkland, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Very conveniently located to University of Dayton, quick efficient check in/check out, staff very accomodating and friendly. Room very spacious, beds very comfortable. Property is spotless. Will definitely be staying here when visiting daughter at the University of Dayton for the next four years.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Dayton-University of Dayton, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Beth S,
Thank you for writing a review from your experience at Courtyard Dayton. We’re glad you enjoyed a comfortable stay and found our close proximity to University of Dayton to add convenience to your visit. We appreciate your patronage and look forward to having you as our guest on your next trip to see your daughter. Thank you once again for writing.

Sincerely,
Garry Kirkland, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Park, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Used this hotel while in town for the AF Marathon. It was clean and safe etc but what irked me was requesting to check out a little late as I had some work to do on my laptop and they would not facilitate. Happen to talk to the cleaner by chance who told me that the hotel was pretty much empty on Sundays. Also note, breakfast is not included I spent like $10 on a bowl of fruit and a Yogurt. Best experience here was standing outside and a racoom popped his head out of the trash can :-)

The hotel was in the middle of nowhere, unless you have a specific reason for this location, i'd go elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Dayton-University of Dayton, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
BARREDIE,
Thank you for writing. I'm sorry we were unable to accommodate your late check out request, and I sincerely apologize for any inconveniences you experienced as a result. We value you as our guest and will take your comments into consideration for improving our guest experience. We do hope you'll consider visiting us again in the future. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, FL
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

This is a nice Courtyard. The Lobby area is spacious and inviting. Very friendly staff. I had a room right next to the elevator and was instantly depressed but it actually was very nice. The room was nice inside and I never heard the elevator once all night. The elevator might be slow but it is nice and quiet.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Dayton-University of Dayton, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
MikeM_FL,
Thank you for taking a moment to share feedback from your stay at Courtyard Dayton - University of Dayton. We're glad you enjoyed a quiet stay and found our staff's sincere hospitality to meet your satisfaction. Please plan to visit us the next time you travel to the area. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Janie Loughran, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allen, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

The staff here are very pleasant and helpful. It is close to Dayton University. Close to Freeways. I stay here for business. Clean and comfortable. The rooms with even numbers look out over a river and a pond on the property.

Room Tip: Rooms with even numbers have at great view in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Dayton-University of Dayton, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
LindaRN,
Thank you for sharing feedback on your experience at Courtyard Dayton - University of Dayton. We appreciate your continued patronage while traveling for business, and we're glad our friendly service and clean accommodations make for a pleasant stay. Please continue to make Courtyard Dayton your number one choice hotel in the area. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Janie Loughran, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed 3 nights for a class reunion in the area. We had a wonderful experience with check-in staff, housekeeping, and servers in the restaurant. Clean and inviting. Convenient for everyplace we needed to go, which included Kettering, downtown, and the Dayton airport. Near I-75 but not close enough for noise to be a bother. Be sure to check rates more than once before you arrive; you can always cancel your expensive reservation if you find a cheaper one. We paid $315, including tax, for 3 nights in a very nice room we booked on the hotel's website; a classmate paid $450 for a room he reserved directly with the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Dayton-University of Dayton, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
DancingDuo,
Thank you for choosing Courtyard Dayton - University of Dayton while attending a class reunion. It's wonderful to hear that our hotel was conveniently located for your travel needs and you found our staff to provide excellent service during your stay. We're happy to have had you as our guest, and we hope you'll visit us again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Janie Loughran, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Dayton-University of Dayton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Dayton-University of Dayton

Address: 2006 Edwin C Moses Boulevard, Dayton, OH 45408
Location: United States > Ohio > Dayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 46 Hotels in Dayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Dayton-University of Dayton 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Marriott and Hotels.com so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Dayton-University of Dayton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Dayton-University Of Dayton Hotel Dayton
Dayton Courtyard
Dayton Marriott
Courtyard By Marriott Dayton-University Of Dayton Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Dayton-University of Dayton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.