We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Staff!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Dayton-University of Dayton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Dayton-University of Dayton to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Dayton-University of Dayton
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2006 Edwin C Moses Boulevard, Dayton, OH 45408   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #14 of 45 Hotels in Dayton
Allen, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Nice Staff!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

The staff here are very pleasant and helpful. It is close to Dayton University. Close to Freeways. I stay here for business. Clean and comfortable. The rooms with even numbers look out over a river and a pond on the property.

Room Tip: Rooms with even numbers have at great view in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Dayton-University of Dayton, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
LindaRN,
Thank you for sharing feedback on your experience at Courtyard Dayton - University of Dayton. We appreciate your continued patronage while traveling for business, and we're glad our friendly service and clean accommodations make for a pleasant stay. Please continue to make Courtyard Dayton your number one choice hotel in the area. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Janie Loughran, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    37
    17
    10
    4
See reviews for
37
13
12
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed 3 nights for a class reunion in the area. We had a wonderful experience with check-in staff, housekeeping, and servers in the restaurant. Clean and inviting. Convenient for everyplace we needed to go, which included Kettering, downtown, and the Dayton airport. Near I-75 but not close enough for noise to be a bother. Be sure to check rates more than once before you arrive; you can always cancel your expensive reservation if you find a cheaper one. We paid $315, including tax, for 3 nights in a very nice room we booked on the hotel's website; a classmate paid $450 for a room he reserved directly with the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Dayton-University of Dayton, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
DancingDuo,
Thank you for choosing Courtyard Dayton - University of Dayton while attending a class reunion. It's wonderful to hear that our hotel was conveniently located for your travel needs and you found our staff to provide excellent service during your stay. We're happy to have had you as our guest, and we hope you'll visit us again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Janie Loughran, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Stayed at this Courtyard because it's right across the street from the U. of Dayton Arena, the venue for a major Cystic Fibrosis fundraiser held each year. We do a lot of traveling and stay at dozens of hotels each year, and I honestly can't think of many that offer better, more cheerful and efficient service. Check-in took all of about 30 seconds, and our room was spacious and immaculate. Every staff member we ran across greeted us warmly, asked if we needed anything, and told us to have a wonderful day. At our request, the hotel kept the cocktail lounge open later than usual following the fundraiser to accommodate the many people staying there who wanted to relax afterwards and visit. The beds are quite comfortable and the pillows like clouds (my wife's description), and after a good night's sleep we all congregated in the restaurant for breakfast. Like all Courtyards, this one didn't offer free breakfast, but we knew that going in. There were plenty of self-serve options, plus someone making eggs and omelets to order. Again, the staff was superb. One employee asked what we were all doing there, and when told it was for a CF fundraiser she remarked on "all the love" she could feel in the room. What a neat lady! All in all, I'd commend Marriott for this facility -- it's in great condition and in a very convenient location, right off I-75 -- but more than that, I'd congratulate them for the wonderful staff they've assembled. They should be proud of every one of them. We'll definitely stay here again! (Oh, and if it sounds like I'm a shill for Courtyard, believe me, I'm not. Some of their hotels don't quite measure up -- but this one certainly does!)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland,ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Very clean, very friendly with a very good location. We stayed the weekend of Sept 20-22nd. We came to visit our daughter who attends Dayton. Hotel is about 3 or 4 minutes away. Easy to find, very easy check in. Room was a queen double and was very clean. Beds were very comfortable. We used the workout room and pool and found both areas very clean and fun. Had breakfast the first day at the hotel and found it a very good value for the money. The only complaint was that the walls are pretty thin and the people next door were up pretty late and we could hear every word. They were a little loud but not enough to complain. Next night was very quiet.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Dayton-University of Dayton, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
number2109,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and found our location to be convenient. I hope you had a great visit with your daughter!
Thank you again,
Janie Loughran, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Ohio
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Attended a wedding at Carillon Park which is just a few minutes away from this hotel. Morning breakfast buffett ($) could be improved. The personnel at this hotel made up for any shortcomings with the room or food. We had an extra person in our room and more towels etc. were brought in a matter of minutes.

Room Tip: all rooms are good, the room darkening drapes were the best I have ever had!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Dayton-University of Dayton, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
rmh_11,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is through your feedback that we are able to improve our service. It will be my pleasure to share your kind comments about our amazing staff - they will be so pleased! I hope to see you again in the future!
Sincerely,
Janie Loughran, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

If you're looking for a hotel close to the University of Dayton, look no further. This hotel is one minute from campus which makes it super convenient for campus visits or in our case moving into the dorm. Hotel is super clean and overlooks the Miami River. Will be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Dayton-University of Dayton, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Beth S,
Thank you for sharing your feedback and high recommendations of Courtyard Dayton – University of Dayton. We’re glad you enjoyed your stay and found our convenient location well suited for moving your student into the dorm. We’re happy to have had you as our guest, and we look forward to seeing you again on your future visits to campus. Thank you once again for writing.

Sincerely,
Janie Loughran, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KY
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed here for a weekend. We were pleasantly surprised. The hotel staff was very friendly. Our room was very clean, had a lake view, small refrigerator, and two comfy queen beds. Its not a 5-star hotel, but it is nice. We would definitely stay here again when in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Dayton-University of Dayton, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
KCatFan,
Thank you for sharing a review about your stay with us at Courtyard Dayton – University of Dayton. I’m delighted to hear we exceeded your expectations with clean and comfortable accommodations, as well as our friendly service. We’re happy to have had you as our guest, and we look forward to your next visit. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Janie Loughran, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Dayton-University of Dayton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Dayton-University of Dayton

Address: 2006 Edwin C Moses Boulevard, Dayton, OH 45408
Location: United States > Ohio > Dayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Dayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Dayton-University of Dayton 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Dayton-University of Dayton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Dayton-University Of Dayton Hotel Dayton
Dayton Courtyard
Dayton Marriott
Courtyard By Marriott Dayton-University Of Dayton Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Dayton-University of Dayton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.