We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stones throw from UD” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Dayton-University of Dayton

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Dayton-University of Dayton to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orbitz.com Travelocity
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Dayton-University of Dayton
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2006 Edwin C Moses Boulevard, Dayton, OH 45408   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #10 of 46 hotels in Dayton
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Stones throw from UD”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Hotel is literally across the street from the UD Arena. Rooms are very clean, really comfortable beds, Paul Mitchell toiletries and great shower. nice indoor pool. very quiet. basic buffet breakfast-nothing special. Good value for the price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Dayton-University of Dayton, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
lsfcmh,
We appreciate you taking a moment to write a review about your stay with us at Courtyard Dayton. It’s great to know you enjoyed a comfortable stay in our clean rooms and found our value added amenities well suited for your travels. Please plan to visit us again the next time you travel to Dayton. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Janie Loughran, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    32
    10
    6
    1
See reviews for
27
12
9
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We came in town for a convention and enjoyed our stay here. Comfy beds (although we reserved a king, but were given 2 queens), nice shower heads as well. The room was very clean, but I wouldve preferred the cleaning staff to replace our used cups. For the price, it was a very good value. Suited the purpose of our visit just fine

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Dayton-University of Dayton, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
BHar4555,
Thank you for writing a review about your stay with us at Courtyard Dayton-University of Dayton. We appreciate you selecting our hotel while attending a convention. We’re glad you had a comfortable stay with us and we appreciate your feedback on areas we can improve our guest experience. I sincerely apologize that we were unable to accommodate your initial room request, as well as the oversight of restocking your cups. I have addressed these issues with our staff and we will make improvements. I’m glad you had a nice stay otherwise, and we hope to see you again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Janie Loughran, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Overall, very nice room. The breakfast buffet lacked service and selection. Check out and Check in were easy and the staff was friendly. We liked the area and the room was great. I loved the hot tub in our room! We ended up because it was crowded having a handicapped accessible room but, it was lovely.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Dayton-University of Dayton, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Kristin V,
Thank you for taking a moment to write a review about your stay with us at Courtyard Dayton-University of Dayton. It’s great to receive your kind comments about our friendly staff, comfortable room, and relaxing hot tub. I appreciate you recognizing our strengths while providing us some areas of opportunity for improvement. Please plan to visit us again the next time you travel to Dayton. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Janie Loughran, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

My family and I stayed at this Courtyard by Marriott, which is located right next to the University of Dayton, in Dayton, Ohio. The hotel looks new, and the lobby and restaurant are very stylishly decorated. Check in was quick and easy, and when we arrived in our room with 2 Queen beds, we were pleasantly surprised. The room was quite a bit bigger than we expected, very clean, and was also very modern in decorating. The beds are very, very comfortable, and each bed had 6 pillows on it, which was great. The bathroom was large, granite on the counters, and an adjustable shower head with good water pressure. There was fresh coffee available in the lobby in the morning. I had no complaints at all about this hotel - I would definitely stay again, and it was reasonable priced too ! What more could you ask for ....?

Room Tip: The rooms at the back of the hotel overlook a river and a green area - very quiet - no road noise at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Dayton-University of Dayton, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
mykidsmomCleveland,
Were’ happy to hear from you, and we’re glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Courtyard Dayton-University of Dayton. I’m pleased to hear that our spacious rooms and comfortable beds exceeded your expectations. We look forward to seeing you again. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Janie Loughran, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saugerties, New York
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

The hotel was up to the Marriott standards, the rooms clean and well laid out. The hotel is in a fairly convenient location, with a short drive to downtown Dayton. The restaurant was fine for both breakfast and dinner. My only complaint was that the staff, especially at breakfast, was only slightly more than civil. Not the usual customer service I get at other Marriott properties. They weren't unpleasant, just not, well, very friendly or outgoing. The staff at dinner was just the opposite - friendly, efficient and nice to talk to. I would also like to compliment Tanisha, who went out of her way to email me a copy of the folio on Saturday.

Room Tip: The river side rooms have a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Dayton-University of Dayton, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
mrwardell,
Thank you for writing a review. I’m glad you found our clean rooms and convenient location to meet your expectations. We appreciate your feedback and sincerely apologize that we were unable to consistently provide you with the exceptional service you've come to expect from us. I have discussed your comments with our team and we will work to improve our customer service and guest experience. I’ll be certain to recognize Tanisha with special commendation for her excellence in service. We value you as our guest and hope you will return and see our improvements. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Janie Loughran, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, SC
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

The hotel is sort of nicer than average; very clean, nice public areas, cool outdoor koi pond with waterfall, but I can't say much for the staff. I'm not sure Univ of Dayton really wants their name associated with this property - I know I wouldn't. They are slow and somewhat rude at the front desk, there is no help with your bags, the elevator is slow as molasses, and the whole place is noisy. You can hear every word anyone says out in the hall. Breakfast is a complete rip-off and almost not eatable. Watch out: they will get your bill wrong and then fight about it. I would not choose to stay here again but there isn't much else unfortunately.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Dayton-University of Dayton, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
EBPandDSP,
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback and sincerely apologize that you did not receive the exceptional service you’ve come to expect from us. I have addressed these issues with our staff inorder to improve our customer service and guest experience. We value your feedback on these areas and hope you’ll have an opportunity to visit us again to see our improvements. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Janie Loughran, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, MI
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

This was my second year staying at the University of Dayton Courtward for Hamvention, and the experience was basically the same as last year. The decor was nice, the rooms were comfy, and the pool and hot tub were fantastic (especially after a long day of standing). The beds were still a bit uncomfortable with misfitted mattress pads, but nothing terrible. Everything was clean and well-maintained.

Just a couple of minor complaints:

* As noted in another review, the front desk staff were rarely at the front desk. Instead, they were typically chatting in the back room. Each time a customer would go to the desk, he/she would have to wait a few minutes until noticed (on camera?) and someone would come out. Even at peak times, the front desk was consistently vacant, creating a poor customer experience.

* The breakfast staff, though outwardly polite, provided somewhat poor service. My silverware was set out on a dirty table (twice, by two different people), my omelet order was forgotten, and my empty juice glass was not refilled without chasing down a server. The food was decent, but a few small service improvements could go a long way.

Overall, the staff were polite despite the minor issues listed above, and I'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Dayton-University of Dayton, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
TheInternationalLine,
Thank you for writing a review about your stay with us at the Courtyard. We’re glad to hear you took advantage of the pool and hot tub after your long days, and found the cleanliness of our accommodations to meet your expectations. We greatly appreciate your feedback on the opportunities for improving our guest experience. We hope you’ll visit us again soon to see our improvements. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Janie Loughran, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Dayton-University of Dayton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Dayton-University of Dayton

Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Dayton-University Of Dayton Hotel
Courtyard By Marriott Dayton-University Of Dayton Hotel Dayton
Courtyard Dayton
Dayton Courtyard
Dayton Marriott
Courtyard By Marriott Dayton-University Of Dayton Ohio
Address: 2006 Edwin C Moses Boulevard, Dayton, OH 45408
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Dayton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Dayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Dayton-University of Dayton 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Marriott, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Dayton-University of Dayton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Dayton-University of Dayton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.