We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, comfortable and friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Dayton-University of Dayton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Dayton-University of Dayton to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Dayton-University of Dayton
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2006 Edwin C Moses Boulevard, Dayton, OH 45408   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15% This Summer!
Ranked #15 of 47 Hotels in Dayton
Oakwood Village, Ohio
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Quiet, comfortable and friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Got a first floor room at end of hallway and was a bit concerned but the sounds of the athletic teams staying there the same night were never heard. Bed was comfy and new linens were a fine change from previous style. Buffet breakfast is not included but worth the price. Delicious fresh fruit and attentive service. A great stay for Valentine's Day weekend.

Room Tip: I usually stay on 4 but floor #1 was equally quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Dayton-University of Dayton, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
JenB581,
Thank you for taking a moment and writing a review about your stay with us at Courtyard. We're glad to have had you as our guests during Valentine's Day weekend. I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed our clean, comfortable rooms as well as our delicious breakfast. We hope you will come and visit us again for another special occasion.
Sincerely,
Janie Loughran, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    36
    19
    12
    4
See reviews for
40
14
13
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I've stayed at this Courtyard a few times in the past. Overall it is a typical courtyard. It is relatively new and clean. The beds are comfortable. The restaurant for breakfast this morning was very crowded because of the UD game. Overall, a good courtyard. I recommend it if you will be in the area. Particularly great place to stay for any games at UD Arena. Right across the street from the arena.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Dayton-University of Dayton, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
AndrewBVA,
Thank you for your review. We appreciate you staying with us at Courtyard UD. I'm glad you liked our hotel, staff, and great location. Please plan to visit us again. We look forward to it.
Sincerely,
Janie Loughran, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

It's a Marriott. They were training the front desk people and I have stayed in so many Marriott Courtyards I knew more than they did. Recently stayed in a Holiday Inn and their property upgrade was so nice I'm thinking about switching loyalty programs. The same decor over these many years feels tired. Generally the place felt a bit gritty and not sharp and kept up. My room on the second floor had one of those long entry halls to the bed but I could hear clearly what was going on in the hallway. Loud people late at night woke me up a couple of times.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Dayton-University of Dayton, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
LinGal2001,
Thank you for writing a review. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us at Courtyard, and we're always glad to hear from our loyal Marriott guests. I apologize for your stay not being a satisfying one for you. Your feedback is important and I'm glad to hear from you. We will work on making improvements and hope you'll return to see them. Thanks again.
Sincerely,
Janie Loughran, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Canton, Ohio
Top Contributor
295 reviews 295 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
206 helpful votes 206 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed here to visit UD and see a basketball game. The hotel is right across and a short walk from the arena, although on this very cold day we could have used the shuttle that the other bigger Marriott has. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The room was Marriott comfortable and the mini fridge was a nice extra. Although the room was nice size, the web site led us to believe the room was more of a suite with some division between the bed and couch. The lobby, pool and exercise room were very nice. We would definitely recommend if you are going to a game.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Dayton-University of Dayton, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
lilirishstar,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us at Courtyard. We're glad you chose to stay with us while visiting UD, and we're pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit. I'm glad you liked our staff and comfortable rooms. Please plan to visit us again. We enjoyed your company.
Sincerely,
Janie Loughran, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

I stayed one night, checked in around 10 pm. Opened door to my room and there was some other gentleman sitting at the desk in his underwear working on his computer. I've stayed in 100+ hotels per year for the past six our seven years and this had never happened before. Sloppy and alarming. Doesn't make me feel safe.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Dayton-University of Dayton, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear CanadianJDK:
Thank you for staying with us and writing a review. Due to the importance of privacy, we will be reaching out to you in a personal manner. Thank you.
Sincerely,
Janie Loughran, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We are from the area and needed a place to stay during the week in early December. We have never been too impressed by the "big" Marriott on the East side of the Great Miami, but this one has been built in the last few years as a joint project between the University of Dayton and Marriott to for the basketball fans. This Marriott courtyard has a small but nicely appointed lobby. We were given a room which was very comfortable and quiet. Staff said they were busier than usual, and the parking lot was full, but it was not evident to me with much noise, foot traffic, etc.

The food is okay -- your basic bar food at night. Breakfast was generous, but I recall it was not free. The bedroom, bathroom and halls were clean; staff was friendly; I would recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Dayton-University of Dayton, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
CarrlandsReview,
Thank you for your review. We're pleased to have had you as our guests, and we're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit. Your recommendation is greatly appreciated and we hope your comments will encourage others to come and stay with us at Courtyard UD. I'm glad you liked our hotel and friendly staff. Please visit us again.
Sincerely,
Janie Loughran, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus OH
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

My wife is a alumni of the university and big UD basketball fan. We stayed at this hotel when taking out 2 girls to their first UD basketball game, and we couldn't have picked a better hotel/location. The hotel is right across from UD arena. We were able to park at the hotel, check in, and then walk across the street to the game, avoiding the parking headache. If you are in from out of town to check out a game, I would recommend this as well. It made it very easy and convenient.

The room was very nice as well. We had a small balcony that overlooked the river which was nice. The beds were very comfortable and the hotel lobby was very nice as well. Nice to have a fridge in the room also. TV was new and nice also.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the area to visit UD, and we would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Dayton-University of Dayton, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Jamaican_Rudy,
Thank you for your kind review. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us at Courtyard while visiting the university and taking in a basketball game. I hope you all had a great time! We're glad to hear that you enjoyed our hotel and staff, and we hope you will return for another exceptional visit.
Sincerely,
Janie Loughran, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Dayton-University of Dayton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Dayton-University of Dayton

Address: 2006 Edwin C Moses Boulevard, Dayton, OH 45408
Location: United States > Ohio > Dayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 47 Hotels in Dayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Dayton-University of Dayton 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Marriott and Hotels.com so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Dayton-University of Dayton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Dayton-University Of Dayton Hotel Dayton
Dayton Marriott
Dayton Courtyard
Courtyard By Marriott Dayton-University Of Dayton Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Dayton-University of Dayton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.