We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Big Birds" Galore!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of National Museum of the U.S. Air Force

National Museum of the U.S. Air Force
1100 Spaatz St, Wright-Patterson Air Force Base, Dayton, OH 45433
937 255 3286
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 81 things to do in Dayton
Activities: Picnicking, Shopping
Attraction details
Maspalomas, Spain
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“"Big Birds" Galore!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

The museum is FREE, that’s right, there’s no admission fee, which is, nowadays, certainly a good thing. The exhibition floor is divided into three gigantic hangars, subdivided into 6 different areas each of them with a specific theme. The cold war section is very interesting, because of all the most recognizable planes (at least for me), and for all the precious information on espionage, etc., very interesting indeed. Among the aircrafts I enjoyed looking at the most are the one the dropped the bomb on Nagasaki (because of what it symbolizes), the F-22 Raptor, the evergreen F-177 Stealth Nighthawk, and the massive B-2. It took us about 4 hours to go through the whole exhibition, so I figured we had our share of walking and exercising for the day! We alsotried some of that Astronauts’ food that they sell at the gift shop. It is sold to be authentic, and I missed the chance to try it three years ago when I went to Houston, TX to the NASA Space Center, so now I did, and it was good!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,629 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,495
    119
    11
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great day at the museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

We had a great time at the Museum, and there's something for everyone. It has been several years since we've been to the museum and it has changed a lot. The Museum is well staffed and very clean and is very easy to navigate. There's a decent gift shop and Café. They have updated their IMAX to a 3-D digital theater. We paid for a movie and were not disappointed. This is an excellent free activity for any group or individual. We also visited the presidential and research and development wing, which is going to be closed starting May 1 due to budget cuts. Everyone's favorite part was seeing and walking through the Kennedy presidential Air Force One plane. There is so much variety and things to see here. Make sure to allow an entire morning or afternoon as it will take several hours to see all they have to offer. This is a Must do activity in Dayton, OH!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Price, Utah
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Planes, Planes and Planes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

What an awesome history lesson! We were in a hurry and it took us 3 hours but it is well worth it! Best WWI planes I ever saw. For war history better than the Smithsonian.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Could spend days here. Something for everyone of all ages.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

Free admission, picnic area or inexpensive cafeteria, lots to see - something for everyone. A lot of nearby attractions - worlds oldest airport, wright brothers memorial and museum, Adena Indian burial mounds, Catillion park and museum, Dayton art museum.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guelph
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

The primary objective of this trip was to visit this museum .I was not disappointed. It is not just aircraft,it is also history. If you take the time to read many of the displays you will run out of time.We spent the whole day there,bought the museum's own book only to return the next day for three hours to see what we missed.There are pieces here you just will not see anywhere else because quite simply, they have the only one left in the world The staff is made up of volunteers most of them seniors. There are without exception welcoming and warm.As a history and a plane buff this a museum well put together. Buy something from the gift shop on the way out because they shared all this with you for free.Treat yourself.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to National Museum of the U.S. Air Force? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National Museum of the U.S. Air Force, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.