We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Independent, old-style steakhouse” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pine Club

Pine Club
1926 Brown St, Dayton, OH 45409-2411
(937) 228-7463
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 685 Restaurants in Dayton
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night
Dayton, Ohio
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Independent, old-style steakhouse”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This is an old-fashioned, independent steakhouse, that appeals to steak lovers who can't stand the noise of many of the currently popular steak chain restaurants. Located in an old building, with off-street parking available, this restaurant is like no other, and has taken on an individual character based on years of being open. I was warned that the wait staff appear to be "gruff" and expect you to know what you want. This indeed was the case, but the staff also have a great sense of humor and the service itself is excellent. As for the meals, the steaks are beyond approach (I had a filet). Great place when you want to converse with your tablemates. Bottom line: a unique steak experience.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    44
    32
    28
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio, United States
1 review
“POOR waitress”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

A word of caution !!! As a long time resident of Dayton, The Pine Club has always been known as a place for a great steak. Food is above average and pretty consistent. You will probably have a wait for a table. A MUST - DONT sit if you server is CANDY.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wapakoneta, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Pine Club a Presidential Choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Best steaks and overall food. I have been going there over 45 yrs and have never been disappointed in quality, quantity,value and service. There's no reservations and no credit cards My gold standard for steak restaurants

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio, USA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“The Best Steak, But You'll Wait!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The Pine Club is a renowned steakhouse in Dayton, Ohio and for that matter in the state! They take no reservations, ever! Even George Bush's Secret Service men had to make the wait before he came in to have a steak. It really is all about the meat they serve because the side salad is little more than iceberg lettuce with a bit of carrot shredded on the top. The salt sticks (bread) and onion rings are other things you won't find anywhere else. They are also known for their stewed tomatoes so if you are a fan, you must try them! As other reviewers said, bring cash as they don't take credit cards. The decor is the same as it has been since it opened and we believe why it is so successful. The wait in the bar is always expected and we are miffed if we get seated too soon because 'that' is part of the Pine Club experience. The hostesses are the same two women for the last 40+ years, they don't take names or give out pagers, they just come and get you when it is time to be seated. Don't ask me how they know who you are? If waiting to eat is a pet peeve, don't even bother to go unless you get there when they open. If it is after a University of Dayton basketball game or a holiday, you can expect to wait ..... A long time even!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“You can find better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Everyone raved about the place and it was its exclusiveness that a president running for office had tried to get in(Bush) that led us here but will not go back.
Overly priced meal definately and the steak was good but the price on it was way overinflated.
Live in wisconsin and I could name a number of places there that have better quality of a meal for half the price.I'm sure you are paying for the history of the place as well.You could also tell that it was a smoking place at one time that had to change over with the times but it could use a little cleaning...Also cramped in the booths where we ate and we are not overly big people.
Bottom line is I think a person could do better for the money.
PS. ,i would say the waitress was very attentive but had to run many times for us because the water glasses were too small to quench our thirsts.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pine Club also viewed

 

Been to Pine Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pine Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.