We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't waste your time on ribs!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hickory Bar-b-que

Hickory Bar-b-que
1082 Brown St, Dayton, OH 45409
(937) 228-5252
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #197 of 693 Restaurants in Dayton
Price range: $0 - $8
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Don't waste your time on ribs!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Stopped here for dinner with my fiancee.I got the full slab of ribs and they were a little tough and the sauce was horrible, taste like catsup and vinegar. The house salad was not eye appeasing looked like it was drowning in dressing.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    9
    7
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Carrollton, Ohio, Usa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“GREAT STEAKS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We go whenever we want a great NY strip. Taste before you salt it. I even buy the seasoning for home. We both love the house dressing. You can go in levis or a prom formal. This is one of our favorite places near home.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Very good lunch spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

On brown street--right near the University of Dayton Campus.

Went for lunch. Had the barbecue pork sandwich and coleslaw and chips. I think it was about $7. It was pretty good. The service was fast and friendly. I will definitely return in the future.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Good Dayton option”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

You know how they say "you get what you pay for"? That's the Hickory. It's not fine dining, it's not the best BBQ you've ever had, but the people are super friendly, the service is always great, the prices are reasonable, and the food is pretty darn good. The cabbage rolls are a solid option but if you want something with some sauce on it you can't go wrong with the chicken... crisp skin on the outside, juicy on the inside, and mopped in a not too sweet sauce. My wife orders hers with no sauce and it comes well seasoned and perfectly edible. Give the place a try.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellbrook
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“broasted chicken”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Moderately priced, excellent chicken, fabulous house dressing -potatoes always baked just right. I like that I can order all dark meat.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hickory Bar-b-que also viewed

 

Been to Hickory Bar-b-que? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hickory Bar-b-que, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.