We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious with Side of Good Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jay's Seafood Restaurant

Jay's Seafood Restaurant
225 E 6th St, Dayton, OH 45402-2836
937-222-2892
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 693 Restaurants in Dayton
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Clayton, Ohio
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Delicious with Side of Good Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We chose Jay's to celebrate a birthday and they didn't disappoint. I ate a steamed Maine lobster that was cooked to perfection! None of the chewy, tough stuff of mid-western microwaved lobster.
We also got a yummy cake (chocolate!) for the birthday boy.

My last experience with Jay's had kept me away for a while. There are better, cheaper places to eat with consistent quality food. It was good to return and find the quality is back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    45
    21
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Good Fish!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

4 guys traveling and we all had fish, including the snapper and the swordfish, greek style and the special. All was good, salads were excellent, we found it out of the blue, hope you try it!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oro Valley, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A great disappointment”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Only one half bottle of white wine on a 20+ page list. A seafood restaurant serving fresh oysters that isn't familiar with mignonette sauce? Metallic-tasting (canned?) lobster roll. Mussels in a flavorless broth that resulted in extreme instestinal distress. Avoid this place!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Top Contributor
234 reviews 234 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Good seafood- great wine list”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Thsi seafood restaurant has been around many years and has consistently good food. I usually enjoy the fresh fish. Most recently I have ordered the bourbon salmon and it has been wonderful. Good salads and desserts. The wine list is entensive and fun to pick from. Can't go wrong if you like seafood.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookville, Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“DIdn't live up to the hype”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Jays has been "THE" seafood restaurant in Dayton for many years. For my 50th birthday, my husband took me. The place itself was historic and somewhat elegant, but it was noisy, the food quite mediocre and quite over priced. A big disappointment.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jay's Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Jay's Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jay's Seafood Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.