We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent sites” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dayton Aviation Heritage National Historical Park

Dayton Aviation Heritage National Historical Park
22 S Williams St, Dayton, OH 45402
937 225 7705
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 24 Attractions in Dayton
Type: Historic Sites, National Parks, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This is the location of the Wright brothers Wright Cycle Company building plus other related historical aviation sites.
houston
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“excellent sites”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We enjoyed learning about the Wright Brothers in more detail. Having been to Kitty Hawk/Kill Devil Hills, we now feel like the circle is complete. Our favorite site was the Huffman Prairie Flying Field. We were the only ones there on a cloudy Thursday morning, and it was wonderful. We could picture the Wrights out there experimenting in the relative quiet and solitude, and the site has probably not changed particularly from what it looked like in 1904-5. Flags are posted to give you the idea of the circular path the flights took and there is a reproduction of a hangar and catapult used in those early experiments. Go and immerse yourself in aviation history!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    24
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Claremont, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
359 reviews 359 reviews
179 attraction reviews
Reviews in 181 cities Reviews in 181 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Good place to learn about the history of aviation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Even though this was my second visit, I thoroughly enjoyed the important historical site. The rangers were very friendly and were very engaging with my children. Nice displays.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonestown, PA
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“A must for aviation and history buffs!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

After visiting the National Air Force Museum at Wright-Patterson AFB, it's a hop skip and jump over to the Huffman Prairie Flying Field Interpretive Center & Wright Memorial. This National Park site will give you all the information you need about the history of the Wright brothers. The museum is small, but VERY well done. It's free, too! There is a superb, 30-minute movie that will give you a great historical perspective on the Wright brothers, and how the whole experiment developed. It's truly worth a stop. It's conventient, too. There are other sites in this series, but they're a bit more difficult to get to. Very close to this center is the world's first airport! Well worth a drive over to see where it all began!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Dayton's history well put together”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Not actually one big park, but multiple locations. We went to the Complex which has a museum and the bicycle shop. There is a replica Wright flyer and a few hands on displays showing how their plane worked. They also had several exhibits about Paul Laurence Dunbar and other writers. They offer a short movie about him and another movie about the Wright Brothers. 2nd floor has an interesting exhibit about para shoots along with more Wright Brothers items like their printing press and other machines. There was an unexpected exhibit and we were interested to learn about the original Kroger and how they got their start, so a little of everything here. Next door is a small shop filled with bikes and a repair shop. Could spend a couple of hours here. Great for families and adults. Has a gift shop. Best of all FREE ADMISSION! We thought it was as good or better than Carillon Park which has a costlier admission.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Wright Brothers in Dayton”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The Wright brothers owned a print shop, then a bicycle shop, in Dayton. Explore both and learn how the history of aviation and the history of Dayton intertwine. Great movie, fascinating exhibits and wonderful park rangers.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dayton Aviation Heritage National Historical Park also viewed

 

Been to Dayton Aviation Heritage National Historical Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dayton Aviation Heritage National Historical Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.