We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to airport modern decor” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Dayton North

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Dayton North to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Dayton North
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7087 Miller Lane, Dayton, OH 45414   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
3-Night Stays: Save 15%
Ranked #15 of 46 hotels in Dayton
Parker, Colorado
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
144 hotel reviews
Reviews in 133 cities Reviews in 133 cities
208 helpful votes 208 helpful votes
“Close to airport modern decor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here one night before An early flight. Room looked brand new. Very large with lots of light and plugs. Beds were too soft towels were scrawny. In room coffee really good. Shower was ok. Had a couch desk and chair with our king bed

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather M, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Dayton North, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you for our favorable review. We appreciate your business and hope that you will think of our property while visiting the area the next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    23
    16
    4
    1
See reviews for
19
7
8
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Very rude service from the front desk. Be prepared to shell out money for everthing including a cup of coffee. Not a good stay and unfriendly front desk staff. Did not even speak to customers coming in or out of hotel. With stays in over forty states and over one hundred sixty nights a years, this hotel is one of the worst with service.

Room Tip: Service was rude from the front desk. Everything was a pay to get. Even a cup of coffee. Will not st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather M, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Dayton North, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
I apologize for the terrible service you received from our front desk. We pride ourselves on exceeding customer expectation and certainly take this very seriously. If you would like to call the hotel at 937-890-6112 and either speak with our General Manager, David Smith, or myself, we would like to discuss the issue. Once again, our apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

My first stay at this place on a 18 day business trip. My first trip to Ohio. Based on reading the reviews here, it was not my first choice to stay, but the higher rated hotels in this area were not available for the entire length of my trip. This place felt more like a motel than a hotel. I can only conclude they do not get a lot of extended stay guests. I think a lot of the folks here doing reviews were on very short trips. This was my experience:
My "Do Not Disturb" sign was missing when I checked in. I had to go ask for one.
The day following my first night, I had to alert the Front Desk that Housekeeping did not replace my coffee and did not wash my coffee cup. Call me paranoid but I went bought me my own a cup.
No free continental breakfast like at the higher rated Hampton Inn (next door) and Drury Inn (down the street).
No fridge in the room. I asked about this at Front Desk and they told me they could "bring one up" (which they did). Why not offer it to me at check-in, bearing in mind that I booked an extended stay?
I hated the bed. Too soft for my liking and made for uncomfortable sleeping.

I could overlook all of the above but what prompted me to write this review was their billing practice.

Apparently, once your charges hit $500, your credit card account is billed. I was not told about this at check in (nor is it disclosed on their website). I found out after seeing a hold on my credit card for an amount significantly higher than $500. I asked about it and was told that it "automatically happens" once charges hit $500. I asked why wasn't I told and received an answer that did not make sense. I have never experienced this practice in all my years of business travel at any hotel locally or abroad. End result was my credit card was hit up for several $500 charges, while simultaneously showing significantly higher credit holds per charge against my credit limit during my stay. At one point, the authorizations/holds plus actual charges combined, ate into my credit limit for an amount that significantly exceeded Marriott's quote for the entire trip.

No one could explain why each authorizations/hold against my account were significantly higher than the actual $500 charges. The Manager was no help. Though I found this practice it strange, it would not have bothered me so much had I been told about it at check in.

In the last couple days of my stay I saw food droppings on the stairs. This tells me that they do not clean these public areas frequently. I will certainly not be staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather M, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Dayton North, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
I am sorry for all of your issues while staying with us. We are primarily a transient hotel and as such, have microwaves and refrigerators available to be put in the room upon request. We have retrained our front desk staff to offer this amenity upon check-in for those staying 5+ nights. We have also spoken with our housekeeping staff and assure you that what you experienced is a rare occurence.

We do apologize that you were not told about the billing procedure upon check-in. It is true that we are required to bill every $500. The overage that you experienced was the authorization hold prior to the amount being charged. You were not actually charged the overage and it came back off of the card in each instance.

Once again, we apologize for any inconvenience you may have had. We take pride in our service and when we under deliver it is taken very seriously. Thank you for your feedback and we hope that you would consider giving us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We were visiting relatives in Dayton over the Labor Day weekend. We chose this hotel because of it's outdoor courtyard and location. Very clean, up to date place. The staff was so friendly and helpful, the lobby was so nice and spacious, it had places to relax and sit with a tv and comfortable chairs and sofas, also had computer desk with computers and a printer.

They offered free coffee from I think 6am to 10am my mother really liked the favored creams they offered for the coffee, they also provided coffee in the room.

They have a resturant in the lobby (it was a little pricey, so we ate at The Cracker Barrell which is located right next door, there are a lot of resturants and stores around this hotel) close to the airport and the airforce museum.

Beds were so comfortable, nice desk with all writing supplies, bathroom really nice and well stocked.

We will return to this hotel. The rates were reasonable and fair. Thanks to all the staff and employees for making a stay a very pleasant one.

Room Tip: Just tell the reservation desk what you need and they will accomadate you, very nice people, they go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather M, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Dayton North, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you for staying with us! We appreciate all of your kind words and helpful feedback. Looking forward to having you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perrysburg, OH
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
140 hotel reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
288 helpful votes 288 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

We got this room for $60 (including tax) on Priceline and it was a fantastic value. A lovely a spacious room with SUCH comfortable beds! Strong wifi, nice bathroom products, coffee maker in the room. I particularly appreciated the public spaces in the hotel, as I was staying with my mom and needed some extra space to work while she slept. The lobby area is huge and inviting with comfortable couches, great place to work in the late night hours. I did my laundry in the guest laundry room (cheap and well functioning washer and dryer). The pool and jacuzzi looked terrific and the exercise room is attractive and well equipped. While there is no free breakfast here, other than that it's a great deal. The front desk staff was friendly, helpful and charming. Check in and check out were both fast and easy. The hotel location is ideal, all the dining and shopping you could want is within walking distance and the airport is 5 minutes away.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hmeta, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Dayton North, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
Thank you for staying at our property! We truly appreciate the great review and hope you will stay with us again soon.

Regards,

Heather Meta
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

Pretty standard room, nothing special. Very comfortable bed, slightly touchy temperature controls, clean, and spacious. No continental breakfast - there is a place to buy snacks and breakfast in the lobby though. There is also a pool and small exercise room. Very attractive lobby.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hmeta, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Dayton North, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your business! We expect to have beautiful new rooms to go along with our sparkling new lobby in the beginning of next year. We offer breakfast and dinner in our Bistro-Eat.Drink.Connect and feature a nightly Happy Hour in addition to our food choices in our 24/7 Market. We hope that you will stay with us again very soon!

Regards,

Heather Meta
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hill, SC
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

This hotel was convenient to the airport (5 minutes) and near many restaurant choices. Wi-Fi was fast and readily available in the guest rooms. The Bistro Concept (replaced the buffet) food is quite pricey, but of good quality. All staff I interacted with were very friendly. Especially the young lady that handed me a damp towel and pointed me to the complimentary coffee, after mine slid off the roof of my car and exploded at my feet, showering my shoes and coat in coffee. The exercise room was passable if a little small with two treadmills, an elliptical machine and a rack of dumbells...plus a TV and towels. The rooms were clean and well stocked. TV was a flat screen, but no HBO, even though the guide was in the room. I would recommend and return.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Dayton North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Dayton North

Address: 7087 Miller Lane, Dayton, OH 45414
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Dayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 46 hotels in Dayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Dayton North 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Dayton North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Dayton North Hotel Dayton
Dayton Courtyard
Dayton Marriott
Courtyard By Marriott Dayton North Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Dayton North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.