We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel when in the area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dayton South

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dayton South to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dayton South
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7701 Washington Village Drive, Dayton, OH 45459   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 46 hotels in Dayton
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great hotel when in the area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

The staff completed a quick check-in and was very friendly. Offered me a snack or drink out of the pantry for being a Platinum member. Got a great room. It had a separate bedroom from the living room, 2 flat screen (actual HD!) TVs, was quiet even though I was right by the elevator. Quietest elevators I've seen in a hotel.
Location is great too...right off the freeway and there are a ton of restaurants right around the property and on 725 in front of the hotel. You could even walk to 3-4 decent places like JA Alexanders, Chop House, Carvers and Champps.
Satisfactory amenities per usual for HIE. Property is very new and is kept very clean. No problems at all and I am looking forward to being here quite a bit (again tonight!) as I am in the area working with a client over the next month or so. Thanks guys.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonya L, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dayton South, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
theadocj,
Thank you so much for your recent stay with us and for choosing to stay with us again! Thanks also for your great comments. I will share your comments with our staff. We hope to see you again on your next visit through Dayton!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    115
    18
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
53
26
5
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

My husband and I has been staying at this wonderful hotel several times a year since hotel opened....it is still as perfect as the first time we stayed there......all employees are professional and well trained.......breakfast is perfect and housekeeping is perfect.....everything is perfect......the very best hotel in Dayton........thanks to all.....management is doing a fantastic job!
Location is ideal and within walking distance of wonderful restaurants.....quiet hotel.....

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet......and spotless......
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dayton South, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Agnes88-88,

Thank you thank you thank you for the very kind words that you said about our hotel. We take a lot of pride in delivering a superior product and the best guest service possible to all of our valued guests. It is because of the loyalty in guest like yourself that make it a wonderful place to both work and stay. We definitely look forward to your next visit with us. Make sure you like us on Facebook at facebook.com/hiedaytonsouthi675 to keep up on everything that is going on at the hotel. See you soon!

All the best,

Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

We stopped in Dayton on the first leg of our trip to Florida. Referring back to Trip Advisor, we took their rating and stayed at the number one rated hotel, Holiday Inn Express South Dayton. It was NOT a mistake. This place was fabulous. New, clean and the staff were very courteous and helpful. If you arrive hungry don't fret. There are a number of good eating establishments within walking distance and even more a short drive away. Speaking of eating, leave room for breakfast! A great hot or cold breakfast is offered as part of the price. Check out the pancake machine! I just love that thing. Need WiFi, also included in the price. Very reasonably priced and just a short jaunt from I-75. We loved it so much that we stopped here again on the way back north and the night manager remembered us from the previous week and remembered and asked about our trip to Florida.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We live just north of Indianapolis, Indiana and decided last minute that we would like to take a overnight trip to the Dayton, Ohio area to go the Air Force Museum. Our daughter insists on having a pool to use when we choose a hotel, and my wife insists on having a hotel that offers breakfast with our stay. These were the only deciding factors for choosing a hotel!! Much to my surprise we were given much more than that. I have to admit that I searched for the best hotel in the Dayton area on Tripadvisor and this hotel was consistantly choosen number 1.

We left our house at 0500pm and drove two hours to the hotel to check in. When we arrived we were greated by Ashlee at the front desk. We paid the standard rate of 119.00 dollars for two queen beds and a non-smoking room. The price was a bit more than I wanted to pay, but it was well worth it. The hotel was extreamly clean and well maintained. I dont think this hotel is very old at all. I asked Ashlee at the front desk how far the Air Force Museum was and she told me about twenty minutes away. We went to our car to gather our luggage and when we came back in the hotel, I was greeted by Ashlee with directions to the Museum. "AWESOME customer service"!!!

Our room was on the third floor and as we entered I was absolutely blown away by the cleanliness. The room was very neat and modern. Great beds! The television was a great size flat screen mounted at the right height to lay in bed and view without any issues. In room fridge. for storage. The bathroom was very clean and looked brand new.
The pool and hot tub both worked well and were very clean with fresh towels to use. The breakfast was great.
Overall, this was a great experience and I am planning on returning in the next couple of months to visit the museum again. I will be staying at this hotel without a second thought. After heavy consideration. The 119.00 per night was well worth it.

Thank You for a great experience!! This is how a hotel is supposed to run!

Room Tip: Room 322 was NICE!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Make sure you have your GPS or you might miss the turn - it's not at a stoplight. Overall, great experience. Visiting univ of dayton, and obviously not right near campus, but a short 20 minute drive, no issue. Lobby & checkin is more of the european style. Large breakfast area. Breakfast is ok, but would prefer real eggs of some kind over the powered variety. Cinnamon rolls were tops. Room excellent - best i've seen anywhere. Beds even have personal LED reading lights, adjustable to your position. Plenty of outlets for charging anything. TV has *real* digital cable with lots of channels, not the crappy stuff that TWC usually tries to pass off. No DVD player. Everything was super-new, great condition, really clean. Chop House next door (didn't go there), 2 others within very short walk. Easy access to interstate. I have no issues recommending this property.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here after leaving the Fairfield Marriott across the road. What a difference. New, clean, quiet, and everything we were looking for. Great breakfast and the staff were very accommodating. Love the decor!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dayton South, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
mtlcs1,

Thank you so much for the great review on our property, it is definitely our goal to provide a very comfortable, and clean stay to all of our guest. We are glad that you gave us a chance, and hope to see you in the near future.

All the best,

Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal Lake, Illinois
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

This Holiday Inn Express is the best out there. I think this hotel was not even a year old when we stayed there in May. The service is fantastic, the breakfast amazing. Micro and fridge in the room. Bed were unbelieveable. We stayed here two nights and wished it was a week. A little pricey at $114+tax per night. Great location, near lots of good things to do in Dayton, Oh. We'll be back!

Room Tip: All rooms good!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonya L, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dayton South, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
pwwtoy1
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments after your visit to the Holiday Inn Express Dayton South. We are grateful you selected our Hotel for your visit to the Dayton area.
Thank you for your generous remarks about your visit. We love when someone shares our enthusiasm about all the great amenities and services we offer.
Thank you again and we would love to host you for your future stays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dayton South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dayton South

Address: 7701 Washington Village Drive, Dayton, OH 45459
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Dayton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Dayton
#1 Family Hotel in Dayton
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dayton South 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Eco-Friendly Holiday Inn Express® & Suites hotel in Dayton, Ohio invites you to experience our superb guest service, gracious hospitality and outstanding quality. Whether you are planning a fun-filled family vacation, business trip or a relaxing getaway, our Dayton area hotel is the place to stay. We are very close to many area businesses, including the office parks of Teradata, Lexis Nexis, Metlife, Motoman and GE. This hotel is also located just 15 miles from Wright Patterson Air Force Base. Located off I-675 with easy access to I-70, I-75 and US 35, our Dayton, Ohio hotel's location is convenient for leisure travelers as well. We are only 10 miles from the University of Dayton and less than 5 miles from many popular Dayton area attractions. Enjoy shopping at Dayton Mall, the Greene Towne Center, spend an exciting day exploring the National Museum of the United States Air Force, or really get your adrenaline going by having a fun filled day at Kings Island Amusement Park located less than 25 miles from our hotel. Besides a great location, guests staying at our hotel enjoy great amenities. Relax in the indoor pool and hot tub or keep in touch with friends and family using the free Wi-Fi access. We also have a fitness center, convenience store, complimentary hot breakfast bar and complimentary shuttle service. Hotel also features Solar powered hot water heating, and extensive energy management system, and a building that is made of recycled materials. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dayton South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dayton South Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dayton South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.