We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel for a good $.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dayton South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dayton South to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dayton South
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7701 Washington Village Drive, Dayton, OH 45459   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 45 Hotels in Dayton
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Good hotel for a good $.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Stayed here on a trip to visit relatives. Can be a little difficult to find as not clearly visible from main road, but call front desk prior to arrival for helpful, accurate instructions. Extremely friendly staff. Easy, efficient check-in. Clean, quiet room with comfortable bed, writing desk, sofa, tv decent closet with hangers, good wifi. Coffee maker, refrig. Pool appeared to be well kept-didn't use it. Clean bath with plenty of hot water & water pressure. Comp breakfast buffet was a little above 'typical'-well supplied-fruit, yogurt, cereal, muffins/toast/bagels, 'machine pancakes' were OK, egg style varied by day but were good, sausage. Restaurants, shopping areas nearby for incidentals. Would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonya L, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dayton South, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
tfp2
Thank you for your generous comments following your recent visit to the Holiday Inn Express and Suites Dayton South I-675. Thank you also for your kind remarks about our guest rooms, our staff members, and our breakfast buffet.
We hope we can welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    20
    2
    2
    3
See reviews for
63
28
5
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I stay here about once every 6 weeks. The hotel is very new, clean, and well kept. The staff is always very friendly, and they always give me a free tret from the pantry store. The location is near many good places to eat. The rates are always very competative. I definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonya L, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dayton South, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Blake194,
Thank you for your review of the Holiday Inn Express and Suites Dayton South I-675. It is loyal customers like yourself that proves that we are succeeding in our quest for the best customer service possible. We are looking forward to your next visit during the next six weeks! Thank you again for your kind words and we will see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express for one night and it was really great. The room (king bed room) was huge, well-laid-out, and nicely appointed. Plenty of room to be comfortable for a long stay, I'm sure. Big bathroom, too. The room had a nice flat screen tv, although the selection of channels was disappointing. There is also a restaurant right across the parking lot, which we ate at and was very nice. The breakfast was ok - better than just bread and cereal, not quite as nice as I've had elsewhere. But the staff was SUPERB! Everyone, from front desk to room maids to the woman putting out the courtesy coffee in the lobby, all were lovely. Some of the nicest people I've ever seen working at a hotel off an interstate.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonya L, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dayton South, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Jennifer D,
Thanks so much for choosing our hotel and the compliments about our service. Your feedback on the television selection is well-received and we will be looking into improving in this area. If we can assist you in any future stays please do not hesitate to contact us! Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

This Hotel tries to score 10 out of 10, it does not, it scores 12.
Friendly and efficient staff make this the hotel of choice if staying in the Dayton area, close to Dayton Mall and good restaurants. The Chop House next door is a good choice for steaks.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonya L, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dayton South, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Lazerblazer1984,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. At the Holiday Inn Express and Suites Dayton South, we take a lot of pride in what we do. When we receive a review like yours it really makes our day! We'll continue to strive to be the best and we look forward to your next visit through Dayton. We hope you are having a happy holiday season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for a weeding .

Hotel was immaculate. Staff was friendly and efficient.

Breakfeast was great. Neat, clean presentation.

Check out was smooth with no problems.

Overall a great place to stay in Dayton. Not far from WPAFB and the suburbs.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonya L, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dayton South, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
FandangoGa,

Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express and Suites Dayton South! I loved the title of your review and we work to attain that goal every day! We are very proud of our friendly staff and clean hotel. Thanks again, and see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

My family traveled from Erie to Dayton for a family wedding last week. One of the recommended hotels was the Holiday Inn Express on Washington Village Drive. The hotel was first rate in every way. Check in was easy with Brittany, who was helpful our entire stay. The entire staff from the housekeeping to front desk to the very charming lady who took care of the breakfast buffet was first rate. It was busy with our wedding, a swim team, a tennis team and the normal traffic but everything was smooth. We were able to use the shuttle for the reception and it was a smooth ride. Location was convenient to everything we needed to be at and shopping/dining was close by.. Great time.

Congratulations on a first rate property.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonya L, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dayton South, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
PWERie,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review about your time at the Holiday Inn Express Dayton South! It sounds like you had just the experience we strive to offer to our guests. We will make sure that the employees you mentioned definitely get recognized for their efforts. Thank you again and we'll see you the next time you come through Dayton!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Colorado
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
151 hotel reviews
Reviews in 121 cities Reviews in 121 cities
246 helpful votes 246 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Just returned from spending 2 nights here and let me tell you this is truly one of the nicest - and best - HI Express hotels in the country! All these great reviews are positively spot on. There are actually many HI Express properties in the greater Cincinnati-Dayton corridor so not being familiar with the area it was a bit hard to choose, and thankfully I made the right choice to stay here.

One thing that was very apparent to me, someone who travels frequently and stays at a lot of HI Express hotels around the country, was both how nice and friendly the entire staff was and also that each person seemed to really enjoy their job and was very happy to be there. Can't say that about very many hotels at all, but everyone from the front desk to the lovely manager of the breakfast buffet to the housekeeping manager, went out of there way to say hello, ask how our stay was, anything they could for us. This is superior customer service which I wished many more hotels would follow.

Very modern property, clean, relaxing, quiet, great room decor - everything I would want in a hotel stay. Upgraded to a suite and wow it was great, separate living and sleeping areas, very comfortable and as close to home as you can get. Enjoyed the great pool, jacuzzi & fitness center as well.

If you are choosing about where in this area to stay - look no further. The hotel, while in view of I-675, is set well back across and I heard no noise at all in the room. The Chophouse restaurant next door makes for a nice dinner that you can just walk over to as well.

Overall, 10 stars out of 10 and they deserve even more than that!

Room Tip: Anywhere would seem to be great. Hotel is off a very quiet road near a residential and medical offic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonya L, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dayton South, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
WOW! Thank you for the detailed feedback and we appreciate you taking the time to fill out a review for us. We are fortunate to have such an amazing team and I will definitely make sure that they are recognized for their efforts. Thank you for choosing us and we hope to welcome you back in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dayton South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dayton South

Address: 7701 Washington Village Drive, Dayton, OH 45459
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Dayton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Dayton
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dayton
#3 Family Hotel in Dayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dayton South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Eco-Friendly Holiday Inn Express® & Suites hotel in Dayton, Ohio invites you to experience our superb guest service, gracious hospitality and outstanding quality. Whether you are planning a fun-filled family vacation, business trip or a relaxing getaway, our Dayton area hotel is the place to stay. We are very close to many area businesses, including the office parks of Teradata, Lexis Nexis, Metlife, Motoman and GE. This hotel is also located just 15 miles from Wright Patterson Air Force Base. Located off I-675 with easy access to I-70, I-75 and US 35, our Dayton, Ohio hotel's location is convenient for leisure travelers as well. We are only 10 miles from the University of Dayton and less than 5 miles from many popular Dayton area attractions. Enjoy shopping at Dayton Mall, the Greene Towne Center, spend an exciting day exploring the National Museum of the United States Air Force, or really get your adrenaline going by having a fun filled day at Kings Island Amusement Park located less than 25 miles from our hotel. Besides a great location, guests staying at our hotel enjoy great amenities. Relax in the indoor pool and hot tub or keep in touch with friends and family using the free Wi-Fi access. We also have a fitness center, convenience store, complimentary hot breakfast bar and complimentary shuttle service. Hotel also features Solar powered hot water heating, and extensive energy management system, and a building that is made of recycled materials. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dayton South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dayton South Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dayton South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.