We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can't go wrong staying in a new hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dayton South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dayton South to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dayton South
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7701 Washington Village Drive, Dayton, OH 45459   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #1 of 46 Hotels in Dayton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“You can't go wrong staying in a new hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

At the time of my stay the hotel was barely 8 months old. It's design is part of the chain's new look initiative and it evokes simplicity and modern European furnishings in the rooms.

The bed is very comfortable with ample reading light in-built nightstands. Opposite the bed you have a big wall unit complete with TV and desk area. While there is no plug panel you can easily find the HDMI port on the TV to watch content from your iOS device.

Cleanliness of the room was great and the only complaint I had is that the towels are already showing some wear. It's a shame that with everything else of great quality it seems some corners were cut in the linen department.

Breakfast in the morning is typical HIE fare complete with their famous cinnamon rolls. They also have a pancake machine that will keep the kids entertained.

Overall I love this property and plan to stay here again on my next trip. It's a bit out of the way if you're visiting Downtown Dayton but the low-key, quiet office park that surrounds this HIE makes it a nice retreat.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dayton South, responded to this review, June 10, 2012
griff72,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your travel to the Dayton area. I really appreciate your kind words as well as valuable input. We always like to hear any and all areas that we can improve for our guest and assure you that we are looking into the towels. Thank you again for your very kind words and we look forward to seeing you really soon.

Best,

Mike Hyslope
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    23
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
70
30
7
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, OH
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

From the moment we checked in to the moment we left, we were treated like family by the staff. The hotel is absolutely gorgeous, and brand new and modern. Rooms are awesome for the price you pay, and still affordable. Breakfast was great and had many options. The entire hotel was immaculately clean also!!! Only thing i would recommend to the management is to not let employees smoke outside. They were smoking right at the front door and by the car pull in, which can be an eye sore. Also, i would say the same for guests. Overall, great stay though!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dayton South, responded to this review, June 10, 2012
bandit97,

I am so glad that you had an enjoyable stay with our property. While we appreciate hearing all of the great and wonderful things about our hotel, we also do appreciate very much to hear about what we could do better. You can rest assured I have addressed the smoking issue and assure you that is not happening anymore with the staff members. I am very happy that everything else with your stay was wonderful and we look forward to seeing you once again on your next trip to Dayton.

All the best,

Mike Hyslope
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi, Michigan
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

My husband and I just returned from an overnight road trip to the National Air Force air and space museum in Dayton. Which I highly recommend. We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express even though it is about 15 miles from the museum since it was rated number one on Tripadvisor. We were not disappointed. They hotel looks pretty new, (the whole area did) and has a modern decor. The room was spotless and very comfortable. The girls at the front desk were very helpful in recommending a place for dinner, The Chophouse, which was right next door, in fact we just walked over. The food was delicious and the service was great. One tip, get there before 6:00 otherwise there looks like there was a wait. We had a great visit and would not hesitate to stay at this Holiday Inn Express again if we are in the area.

Room Tip: We requested the 4th floor away from the elevators, since other travelers on Tripadvisor had posted...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dayton South, responded to this review, June 10, 2012
LLP57,

It is great to hear that you both enjoyed the Air Force Museum as well as our property, and we are glad that we held up our number one ranking on Trip Advisor. A lot of our guest do utilize the Chop House since it is so close to us. It is great to hear that the staff was so helpful in getting directions for you. Thank you again for staying with us and if you do come back to Dayton, we look forward to hosting you once again.

Thank you,

Mike Hyslope
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Alabama
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

Stayed one night while on road. Hotel was clean and overall a great stay with no issues. Used fitness center which was clean and nice. Ate at Chop House right next door and meal was good.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dayton South, responded to this review, June 10, 2012
AU_beachbum,

Love the screen name as I would love to be one myself! Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to leave a positive comment about out hotel, and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip through.

All the best,

Mike Hyslope
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal River, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

This hotel was one of the best we've stayed at - rooms were great size (we had four people) and never once stumbled over one another! Breakfast was always hot and very good! Lobby area is decorated in new chic colors - beds were comfortable - nothing but good things and the value for your money can't be beat!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dayton South, responded to this review, June 10, 2012
brickettes,

Thank you for stopping by to leave your feedback on our hotel. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed our spacious rooms, and wonderful hot breakfast. We look forward to you staying with us again if you are in the area in the future.

Thank you,

Mike Hyslope
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

All I can say is WOW! This place looks more like a W Hotel than a HIE. Great check in, friendly staff, stylish and functional rooms and good comp breakfast. What more can you ask for? Will definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dayton South, responded to this review, June 10, 2012
in2xtc,

Thank you for your gracious comments about our hotel, our goal is to give the superb service that you would expect from a bigger hotel like a W, all while giving you a more personable and comfortable stay. Thank you so much for your kind words again.

All the best,

Mike Hyslope
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012 via mobile

This is my second visit inside a month and as every business traveller knows, being away from home for more than a few days is never easy, but staying here gives you total peace of mind - everything here just works.

In the past seven years I've stayed at almost every hotel in and around Miamisburg and this one now ranks above my previous favourites : Springill Suites and the now refurbished Doubletree.

The hotel is easy to find, just a few moments from the highway but not close enough for you to hear any traffic noise. Within two minutes walk is a good bar and restaurant and two good restaurants including one voted Best Steak in Dayton.

Reception staff are younger than many other properties and I believe they truly get how important their welcome is, arriving at 02h or 09h30 mid mass checkout, checking in has always been fast and friendly.

Rooms are well thought out. Power outlets at bedside table height save fumbling behind a hotel bed (never a pleasant experience) is something so simple but so useful. A choice of firm and soft pillows on the bed mean it's easy to get comfortable quickly. Drawers and storage are plentiful and a powerful steam iron made unpacking and heading into the office really easy.

The Executive Suite is worth the extra money, or status in the Priority Club Rewards programme. A separate living room makes it easier to relax and microwave, refrigerator and freezer worked well for my longer stay. The addition of some crockery and cutlery would be welcome here to avoid unnecessary disposable plates but also to make use of the sink and dishwasher. In-room washer and dryer were handy too.

Stayed March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dayton South, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
Mr. Gill,

It was so nice of you to write such a raving response for our hotel. We definitely appreciate guest like yourself that decide to make our hotel your home away from home when you travel. You pointed out our Executive Suites and yes we feel that they are a great value, especially for someone who is going to be spending a longer amount of time with us. We have recently put an order in to have plates, utensils and glasses put in all of the suites to ensure that you will not have to use disposable wear again. Thank you again for choosing us and we look forward to seeing you real soon.

All the best,

Mike Hyslope
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dayton South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dayton South

Address: 7701 Washington Village Drive, Dayton, OH 45459
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Dayton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Dayton
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dayton
#4 Family Hotel in Dayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dayton South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dayton South I-675 hotel. Outstanding service and amenities have earned us the IHG's most prestigious 2013 and 2014 Torchbearer Award. Few hotels in Dayton, Ohio, if any, can match our outstanding reputation. With 1,200 sq ft of event space for up to 120 people, audio/visual equipment and a professional staff, we're a great choice for those seeking hotels in the Dayton, Ohio area with ample meeting space. Our hotel has many restaurant choices within walking distance, including the Chop House that provides superb room service for each of our guests. With a short drive to area businesses such as LexisNexis, Motoman, PNC, and GE, our hotel is the first choice for business travelers. Our hotel's location south of Dayton offers Ohio visitors the ability to easily explore all the area has to offer, from shopping at the Greene to visiting the National Museum of the United States Air Force. Guests may also catch a ball game at the Dayton Dragons 5/3 baseball field, or visit the Esther Price Chocolate factory. This Dayton, Ohio hotel's goal is 100% guest satisfaction, and we work hard to earn it! Guests enjoy top-notch service and amenities, including an indoor pool, hot tub, and a Fitness Center. Free perks like Wi-Fi access, shuttle service (limited range) and a hot breakfast are icing on the cake. We look forward to your visit! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dayton South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dayton South Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dayton South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.