We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Dayton North

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Dayton North to your Saves list
Residence Inn Dayton North
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7227 York Center Drive, Dayton, OH 45414   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #7 of 45 Hotels in Dayton
Washington, D.C.
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Nice Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I walked in and felt 'like home'!

I stayed for two night, and was relaxed, and felt safe the entire stay. There are many eating establishments around the hotel, Sam's Club is right next door, Walmart is less than a mile away (you could actually walk if it was a nice day and you didn't need a lot of items). A resonsonable priced gas station right on the corner (as cheap as you can get with the prices these days). It is close to the airport (about a 10 min drive), so I gassed the car up at the corner station, and was good when I dropped it off at the airport. Breakfast was what I expected...Belgian waffle maker, muffins, cereal, oatmeal (with various toppings), sausage patties, etc..you get the picture...point is, I would stay here again!!

Room Tip: I stayed on the first floor (I normally don't, however, for one night, I could deal). Even thou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis W, General Manager at Residence Inn Dayton North, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for letting us know how your stay was. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and our location. We have everything around us so there is no shortage of options for dining and shopping. Thanks again, and we look forward to seeing you the next time you are in the Dayton area!

Sincerely
Travis Weller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    26
    11
    5
    5
See reviews for
36
16
5
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbus
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

First, great hotel. Clean, clean, clean. We stayed in a 2br suite Feb 2013 at the end of a long hall, and it was as quiet as the grave back there. Lobby looks good; check in was easy. Our requested extra towels were there as were feather-free pillows, too. Thanks for that, Residence Inn! No matter how many times I request it in the reservation, this was perhaps the first time it happened without asking once we'd arrived. Breakfast was good, the usual Residence Inn fare. There's a fair amount of seating, which is sometimes a problem at the RI's. Location is pretty convenient for freeway and anything you might want to do in Dayton. Overall, very nice stay.

Couple of cons, though, and they aren't entirely the RI's fault. We went to the pool for a quick dip. It's a really nice area and the pool is decent. But.....There were 16 very loud kids there with one adult. Now, my kids aren't quiet at pools. I mean, it's a POOL. I'm okay with noise. And really, the 16 weren't that horrible all in all, but one adult--who looked exhausted--just can't supervise that many kids and they were jumping, screaming, and generally doing what kids do in pools and often they were doing it right on top off my kids. Again, they weren't terrible, they just needed a bit more supervision than 1/16th of a nearly asleep adult. Had a wee bit of a wait getting an extra blanket last night too; the night desk person seemed stretched a bit thin.

I was a little bit appalled at the behavior of the guests at breakfast. Loading up two enormous platefuls of food, eating them, then loading up two more enormous plates to go? Gross. Letting your kids stand at the juice fountain to drink cup after cup? Gross. Making 10 waffles in a row, half to go? Rude. Despite the nice seating and comfortable lobby, we were outta there pretty quickly. Again, I can't hold RI accountable for the tasteless behavior of their guests, but we didn't see any breakfast staff around at all, which is pretty unusual. Maybe if they'd been around the tacky behaviors might have ebbed a bit; maybe not. Would I stay there again? Sure. It's clean, convenient, and overall our stay was fine. Can't hold hotel staff responsible for seriously bad guest behavior.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from elevator towards end of halls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis W, General Manager at Residence Inn Dayton North, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for writing a review. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our hotel and that all your requests were met upon arrival. I am sorry to hear about the crowed pool and the guests and breakfast. I will address this with my team and see what we can do to prevent these issues going forward. We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in the Dayton area!

Sincerely,
Travis Weller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

The only staff member I can give any kudos to is the lady that runs the breakfast. She is a joy. She did a fantastic job of keeping everything clean and fresh while greeting everyone and making them feel at home. That isn't enough encourage me to ever stay there again. I am a government employee and travel to Dayton frequently. This will be my first and last stay at this Residence Inn.

I always turn my hotel room lights off when I leave and most days when I returned there were several lights left on by the cleaning staff. The cleaning left a lot to be desired. One day I even returned to a pile of trash in the toilet and realized that they had dumped the bathroom trash into the toilet and had forgotten to flush. The cleanliness of the room varied by day and had me worried about the last time an actual vacuum had seen the room.

When I examined the bill slipped under the door I realized that they had charged me the wrong rate. When I approached the staff at the desk I was told that it was because my room had a fireplace. When I booked my rooms online I selected a special rate. I assumed that since I had selected government rate then I would only be shown rooms available at that rate which has always been the case with searches on the Marriott web site. When I complained about the rate to the front desk staff they just said that they could search the web site and show the same rate. The tone of the staff was accusing and not at all conciliatory. I used to run a business and have an MBA and can tell you that the front desk staff needs a considerable amount of training in customer service.

The walls and floors are way too thin. I was reminded of cheap motels my dad would use when I was a kid (can't blame him - there were 8 of us). I could hear every alarm clock going off in rooms beside, above and below. I could even tell when people were brushing their teeth by the sounds.

Overall this was the worst experience I have ever had in a Residence Inn. I’ve stayed in at least six different Residence Inns in the last three or four years. The Residence Inn brand image is permanently stained in my mind. I haven’t given up yet (except for this location) but will be much more cautious in the future.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis W, General Manager at Residence Inn Dayton North, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you so much for writing a review. I am so sorry to hear about the housekeeping issues that you experienced. Please know that this is not typical of our hotel and I am addressing it with the housekeeping supervisor.

I researched your reservation and see that you had booked a One Bedroom Fireplace Suite at a discounted government rate of $92.00. The normal rate of that room type is $139.99, so you had a savings of $47.99 per night. I apologize if there was any confusion on the rate.

Again, thank you for staying with us and I do hope that you will give us another chance the next time you are in the Dayton area.

Sincerely,
Travis Weller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, CT
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Read the reviews on Trip Advisor before booking this hotel. The reviews were right, this is one of those updated Residence Inns and the room was clean. The bathroom was spotless. Wireless was great - had my iPhone on their wireless the whole stay with no issue. The breakfast eggs were a little better than average for a Residence Inn. I also liked their potatoes hash.

The staff had that midwestern hospitality flowing - I got friendly & loud good mornings from the staff. Checkin took like a minute and I was off to my 2nd floor room. Several of my business associates stayed here at the same time and everyone was pleased with the rooms.

I may have to travel here again. If I do, I will stay here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis W, General Manager at Residence Inn Dayton North, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for staying with us and writing a review. I am so glad to hear that you and your associates enjoyed your stay. I am glad that we were able to provide you with our midwestern hospitality. We look forward to being your "Home Away from Home" the next time you are in the Dayton area.

Sincerely,
Travis Weller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We flew in late into Dayton and need a place for the night. The hotel was very close and convenient to the Dayton Airport. The hotel was clean, new and bright. It is conveniently located off 75 with food and shopping in walking distance. We would stay there again when in Dayton.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis W, General Manager at Residence Inn Dayton North, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for staying with us and providing feedback. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I looking forward to providing you a "Home Away from Home" the next time you are in the Dayton area.

Sincerely,
Travis Weller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We have stayed here 3 other times. Always a good experience. Very clean, great furnishings, excellent breakfast buffet. Our only issues are that there are no adult only hours for the pool and it is constantly full of screaming children, and no weekend newspapers. Otherwise, a great place to stay with very friendly staff (other than the front desk person on Saturday!).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis W, General Manager at Residence Inn Dayton North, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for staying with us and providing feedback. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you are a repeat guest. I certainly do appreciate your business. I understand your concerns about the pool hours. Next time you are here, just ask the Guest Service Agent to allow extra time in the pool and we will be glad to accomodate.

Sincerely,
Travis Weller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Reception was nice and easy. Offered a great place for dinner, lived up to her recommendation. My only wish is for an adults only hotel. Using the pool area, was filled with screaming children, hot tub also filled with kids. Come on Marriott, why not adults only lodging especially for the bigger cities? I bet it would be filled constantly.

Room Tip: Can recommend the King corner suite with fireplace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis W, General Manager at Residence Inn Dayton North, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for staying with us and providing feedback. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I am sorry to hear about your experience at the pool. I understand how frustrating it can be when the pool is filled with a lot of children. We will be looking into adding an extra hour the pool hours just for adults.

Sincerely,
Travis Weller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Dayton North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Dayton North

Address: 7227 York Center Drive, Dayton, OH 45414
Location: United States > Ohio > Dayton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Dayton
#7 Family Hotel in Dayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Dayton North 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the NEW Residence Inn Dayton North! Conveniently located at the Crossroads of America near I-70/I-75, you’ll discover Dayton and so much more. Our extended stay accommodations feature fully equipped kitchens, large work area, & separate living/sleeping areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Dayton North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Dayton North Hotel Dayton
Residence Inn Dayton North Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Dayton North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.