We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Dayton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Dayton to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Dayton
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   33 E. 5th Street, Dayton, OH 45402   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #8 of 45 Hotels in Dayton
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

The hotel is well maintained and clean, the rooms are spacious and renovated. The beds are comfortable.They have a nice restaurant in the top floor with the best views from Dayton. The dining staff was very friendly and enthusiastic. I am a regular in the intercontinental hotels and their executive lounge is very good and includes breakfast and snack time in the evening.
Their opportunities are that their gym has old machines and they lack an indoors pool.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Dayton, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear ELMOSH,
Thank you for being a faithful IHG Rewards member and I am glad you enjoyed your upgrade to our Club Level with lounge. We appreciate your review and the mention of our wonderful staff. We hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to our area!

Sincerely,
Michael Larson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    65
    30
    15
    8
See reviews for
28
20
11
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
san diego
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

This place is pretty much smack dab in the middle of downtown dayton. The top has a restaurant where you can enjoy panoramic views of the city. I was here every morning for the free breakfast buffet. This hotel is within walking distance of the nightlife going down on 5th.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Dayton, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Jonathan C
Thank you for your great review. I'm glad that you were able to enjoy many aspects of the hotel. I see that you are quite the traveler and I appreciate your comments. I hope we will see you again when your business or leisure travel brings you this way.

Sincerely,
Michael Larson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

It's a little little run down for a down town hotel. The air condition system has been updated with a wall control but the actual unit is still old and does not work good. That was the case in my room. The staff at the restaurant is great the food is good too.
The best thing about it was the bed. Ted is very relaxing.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Dayton, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear DallasBandido,
Thank you for your review, I regret that you had a problem with your heating unit. We would have gladly sent a maintenance man to repair it or switched you to a different room. We appreciate you mentioning how relaxing our beds are! I hope you will give us another opportunity should you visit our area again.

Sincerely,
Michael Larson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chagrin Falls, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We were there for a volleyball tournament at the convention center. The desk staff was rude. We arrived late so went to restaurant at top and waited 2 hours for our food. The breakfast they served us was cardboard eggs and bacon and coffee that tasted 3 days old and burnt. The overall hotel is incredibly run down and tired. The rooms verged on dirty - my room door would not stay closed and locked. The only good this was the location and the men who were valets.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Dayton, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Shelley M,
I would like to apologize for the disappointment you experienced with your room and our restaurant View 162 during your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Dayton. I am not aware of any issues regarding guest room doors, if you had contacted the front desk we would have sent maintenance up immediately. Unfortunately, you were negatively impacted by this; for that I am truly sorry. Your experience is not the typical experience, our guests are very important to us and I regret that you did not enjoy your stay.

Sincerely,
Michael Larson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Statesville, NC
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

If you've ever the need to be in Downtown Dayton, this place is right across the street from the Convention Center (and has a tunnel between). While I'd put it on par with most Crowne Plaza's, this one is great for location. Service was very good and the staff very helpful - van drivers picked me up at the Airport and ran me around town (good since I just don't have the winter clothes and we got about 4 inches while I was there). Rooms have been redone recently to match the new updates - though baths are on the small side (a little cozier than I like). The restaurant and bar were great - located on the top floor it offers a nice view around the city and a nice atmosphere. Well planned out, even when there was a fairly large gathering, the 'other' side of the bar was still pretty quiet and relaxing. This one also features a club floor (9th) - a VERY welcome amenity for us that travel a lot. Wine/beer/snacks 5:30 to 7:30pm, great breakfast in the morning.

Room Tip: Higher floors if you want a view; stay on the club floor if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Dayton, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear DMSterling,
We deeply appreciate your review of the Crowne Plaza Dayton. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay and that our drivers were able to accommodate and take good care of you. This winter has really been something else, and the places our guests may normally have walked to have been quite a challenge. Your trip was a success from our rooftop to our lobby! We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,
Michael Larson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

This is the only place I stay at when I visit Dayton. Everyone from the van drivers to hotel staff are always warm and welcoming. They always ask you how you are and how your day is going so far. Great people.

The rooms are always clean and well supplied. Rooms have modern decor and bedding. Beds are soft and always clean. Plus the lamp beside the bed has outlets on it so you will not have to go looking around and pulling things away from the wall to plug our phone in. There is a small work station/desk that is nice also with plenty of outlets.

The gym could use a little work. Small selections of weights (up to 30lbs), a multi use machine, and a handful of cardio machines. One has been broke ever since I've been staying here.

The hotel is beside the convention center and also a short walk to the Oregon District for food and entertainment.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Dayton, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear Coby H,
Thank you for your detailed review which included all the standard perks of our guest rooms. I will be sure to share your comments with our staff, they will be pleased to hear they helped to make your stay enjoyable. We look forward to your return!
Sincerely,
Michael Larson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

I got the room kinda as a getaway for a friend and i told the staff and they took over in a good way and MADE SURE HER STAY WAS PERFECT,, EVEN BREAKFAST IN BED. the rooftop resturant is very nice, the best view is at night, if i just had to say something that was not good i had to sit here and really pick but i dont care for the parking but it not bad,, but like i had to say i would be picking plus parking is free and valent is avail so there you go

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Dayton, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear diamone c,
Thank you for taking the time to let us know that the stay was wonderful and that our staff made a great difference. I'm glad that you were able to enjoy yourself and take in the city views.

Sincerely,
Michael Larson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Dayton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Dayton

Address: 33 E. 5th Street, Dayton, OH 45402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Dayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Dayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Dayton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the vibrant energy of downtown Dayton when you stay at the luxurious Crowne Plaza. Located adjacent to the Dayton Convention Center and just minutes from the Dayton International Airport and Wright-Patterson AFB, our newly remodeled, full-service hotel offers the perfect combination of chic styling, total comfort and convenience right here in the "Birthplace of Aviation." Whether you're visiting for business or pleasure, you'll enjoy our stylish guestrooms, spacious suites and fabulous service from our welcoming staff. Stay with us and discover your perfect home away from home right here in downtown Dayton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Dayton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Dayton Hotel Dayton
Dayton Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Dayton Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Dayton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.