We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Dayton

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Dayton to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Dayton
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   33 E. 5th Street, Dayton, OH 45402   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #9 of 46 hotels in Dayton
Greenville, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Convenient Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We stayed at the Crowne, parked vehicle in the adjoining parking garage and attended meetings in the adjoining Convention Center. The Crowne is the perfect place to stay when the destination is the Convention Center. Our checkin (with reservations) at The Crowne was handled quickly and professionally. The Crowne features butler and valet services for your convenience. Our room was on the Sixth floor and all of the rooms are within an H pattern with the elevators being in the middle. Our room was small but contained everything we needed for our 2 night stay. Problem: the elevators presented a serious problem up or down. On one occassion, about 20 people tired of waiting for the elevator(s) walked down the steps from the sixth floor. I believe only 1 elevator was operating for 12 floors and restaurant. Later that evening (after walking down the steps) when returning to our room, the hotel had an employee running one of the other elevators. Third day, all 3 elevators were working properly and very little delay. The hotel's restaurant on the top floor is very nice with lots of windows and a nice view of the city.

Room Tip: The rooms are nicely appointed and have a windowed view of the city. Staying on the lowest floor av...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Dayton, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Dayton and the good review. We appreciate your response. Two of our elevators went completely out of service and we had to call an outside company for the repair. I would like to apologize for the inconvenience you encountered during your stay. Thank you for mentioning our wonderful staff and our well appointed rooms. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again!

Sincerely,

Michael Larson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    56
    59
    28
    13
    8
See reviews for
24
17
10
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warren, MI
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

In January, 2013, I was the featured poet at Delish Lounge which is but a stones throw from the Crown Plaza. The rooms were comfortable, location is great if you're traveling to downtown Dayton (the Convention Center is right across the street) and breakfast which was included with our room was very good. The only snaffu on this trip was that we were stuck in the elevator for about 5 minutes. I'd highly recommend this property.

Room Tip: Great location in downtown Dayton
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Dayton, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Crowne Plaza Dayton. Our goal is to inspire and take care of each and every one of our guests.I believe you are the first Poet to leave us a review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we apologize for the inconvenience you encountered with our elevator. We hope to see you again the next time you travel to the Dayton area.

Sincerely,

Michael Larson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a Sexy Christians marriage retreat thru our church. The rooms were very nicely designed, and very comfortable to relax in. The staff was very friendly as well. We didn't hear anyone from our group of people staying say one negative thing about their hotel experience. I'd highly recommend!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Dayton, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear tdersh22,

We are so glad that you and your group enjoyed your stay and the retreat. We always appreciate it when someone takes the time to give us a review. I will be sure to mention to the employees here at the Crowne Plaza Dayton that you complimented them on their friendly service. We hope to see you again in the future!

Sincerely,

Michael Larson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

This Crowne Plaza reminded me of the hotel I first stayed at when landing in Qaddafi's Libya in 2006 - boxy architecture with sterile decor but some of the friendliest service you could imagine.

Pluses:
- Great view from the restaurant at the top of the hotel, professional service and a solid (if slightly casual) menu
- Friendly, efficient and helpful front desk staff
- Probably the best option in Dayton
- Fast internet

Development opportunities:
- The elevators feel coffin-like - not because they are small, but because they are lined with a strange fabric that makes them feel suffocatingly closed
- Rooms need room service menus in them - all I could find was a list of local restaurants even though I know room service was available
- Hotel should supply at least one bottle of water in the room - I know this is environmentally unfriendly but they could also add a recycling bin in the room to compensate.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Dayton, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to give a thorough 4 star review of your stay. We always appreciate it when a guest makes the time and effort to share their experience. I hope we are able to serve you again in the future.
Sincerely,
Michael Larson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altamonte Springs, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. From the front desk staff to the airport shuttle driver - my experience was excellent. The room was nice and the view from the Rooftop restaurant was fabulous.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign-Urbana, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Richard Dalton gets high marks for his outstanding service to two very tired travelers. We received an excellent welcome, and service throughout the stay. Because of the late night check-in, we were appreciative of the valet parking, and car was right ready in the morning when we needed an early start. It was fun also to see the staff get ready for the basketball players and fans in town for NCAA games. They had great spirit in welcoming guests. Thank you, Crowne Plaza, Dayton for a very good experience.

Room Tip: Check lights before you unpack...did have some lights which did not work.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

My wife & I stayed at the Crowne Plaza Mar 22-24.The Overall experience was good & the Staff in the Bar & Restaurant were very Friendly. When I made my Reservation we asked for an upgrade if available,and the desk clerk said she would upgrade to a club level. I didn't see any difference in the king bed room that I usually get & the club level.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza Dayton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Dayton

Address: 33 E. 5th Street, Dayton, OH 45402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Dayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Dayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Dayton 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the vibrant energy of downtown Dayton when you stay at the luxurious Crowne Plaza. Located adjacent to the Dayton Convention Center and just minutes from the Dayton International Airport and Wright-Patterson AFB, our newly remodeled, full-service hotel offers the perfect combination of chic styling, total comfort and convenience right here in the "Birthplace of Aviation." Whether you're visiting for business or pleasure, you'll enjoy our stylish guestrooms, spacious suites and fabulous service from our welcoming staff. Stay with us and discover your perfect home away from home right here in downtown Dayton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere and Otel so you can book your Crowne Plaza Dayton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Dayton Hotel Dayton
Dayton Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Dayton Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Dayton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.